lamington

 

Friday February 8, 2013: anytime

Flour and Stone Bakery Cafe
53 Riley St
Woolloomooloo

http://flourandstone.com.au/index.html

I was told about this bakery about a year ago. I’ve been about 10 times now and I always get a hot chocolate to drink and some bakery item. Mostly I go for the “signature” item, lamingtons but I’ve indulged in several other cakes, pies, and tarts as well.

From Wikipedia: A lamington is a dessert of Australian origin. It consists of squares of sponge cake coated first in a layer of traditionally chocolate icing, then in desiccated coconut. Lamingtons are sometimes served as two halves with a layer of cream or strawberry jam between. The chocolate coating is a thin mixture, into which cubes of sponge cake (one cookbook states 4 cm per side) are dipped, and the chocolate is absorbed into the outermost layers of the sponge where it sets. (Similarly, the strawberry jam or chocolate icing is absorbed into the sponge.) The cubes are then covered with coconut and left to set.

Here, they differ from lamingtons everywhere else. They use pannacotta instead of cream. They always sell out of these and sometimes I will phone up first and request they reserve some for me to collect.

PS: Yes, “Woolloomooloo” is a real suburb name in Sydney.

Food Etcetera

On the plate #6

Image

8 thoughts on “On the plate #6

  1. I’m having a cup of masala tea right now. If only that photo would miraculously turn real….now I can only watch, drool and sip my tea…how unfortunate!

The Wood Dragon is listening...

