Don't forget to look up

Sydney February 2013

This is a permanent public art installation, Forgotten Songs by Michael Thomas Hill which was completed in 2011. The empty cages and audio recordings of birdsong commemorate the songs of fifty birds once heard in central Sydney before they were gradually forced out of the city by European settlement. The calls, which filter down from the canopy of birdcages, change as day shifts to night; the daytime birds’ songs disappearing with the sun and those of the nocturnal birds which inhabited the area sounding into the evening.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Don’t forget to look up

Image

63 thoughts on “Don’t forget to look up

  1. How outstanding is that?! Me, as a soul of a free bird, are against cages, but that said, i have one at home purely because it looks great. So does these. Absolutely fabulous.

    • Thanks Melinda for the well wishes. I saw your message then went over to The Digital Lightroom (Sunday morning here). I didn’t think I would place against such competition.

      Congratulations yourself on making the top 10 shortlist.

  2. Pingback: The Artsy Affair | Bonding Tool

  3. Oh wow! Thanks for pointing me in this direction, though I doubt I can do it justice – your photo is excellent and I appreciate the additional information about it. Where can I find this then? (I last visited Sydney in 2003 so I have a LOT of catching up to do, and then I only had a cheap film camera 😦 )
    Jude xx

  4. Pingback: Cry of the owls | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  5. Look at this!! I think it looks even better at daytime. Your capture is simply wonderful Draco. I am not surprised it won an award, but I am surprised it was only the third place…

    • Thank you Patti. It amazes me that so many people walk through there and don’t look up – I guess if you work in that area you get a bit blasΓ© about it after a while.

  6. Pingback: Redux: with commentary from David Penprase | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

