In the news

 

Sydney April 2013

“Witness Mr. Henry Bemis, a charter member in the fraternity of dreamers. A bookish little man whose passion is the printed page, but who is conspired against by a bank president and a wife and a world full of tongue-cluckers and the unrelenting hands of a clock. But in just a moment, Mr. Bemis will enter a world without bank presidents or wives or clocks or anything else. He’ll have a world all to himself…without anyone”.

This photo kind of reminds me of “Time Enough at Last”, an episode of the American television anthology series The Twilight Zone, and this episode starred Burgess Meredith. It was adapted from a short story by Lyn Venable (Marilyn Venable), which had been published in the January 1953 edition of the science fiction magazine If: Worlds of Science Fiction. “Time Enough at Last” became one of the most famous episodes of the original Twilight Zone, which (may I say) was one of the best television series ever. 🙂

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Time enough at last

Image

31 thoughts on “Time enough at last

  1. After reading just the first couple of words, I thought “Twilight Zone!”
    Used to love that show, and remember this episode well.
    Who could forget his less than wonderful wife????

    • Thank you. A story about the end of the world and not a zombie in sight. 🙂

      They used to air repeats of this at 1am and I’d stay up to watch it. Some of the episodes I couldn’t watch without the lights on. 🙂

    • I know what you mean. There was an episode about a woman receiving strange phone calls in the middle of the night. When the phone company checked her phone line, they found the lines had collapsed during a storm and were embedded in her husband’s grave. Yikes!!!!

    • Thanks for the visit and comment. I think there are a lot of (original) Twilight Zone fans out there. I don’t think Rod Serling’s dialogues with cigarette in hand could be done on television these days.

  2. Twilight Zone…….?? must have had a sheltered life 🙂 (somewhere in the distant past a memory cell has sparked into life – will go and look) anyway, a great post.

    David.

  3. Ligum – I was going into withdrawals. Throwing my hand to my brow, I said to myself, “Self, why haven’t you seen any of Ligum’s marvelous black and white photo’s lately?”
    With burdened shoulders and looking at the floor, self replied, “I’m certain it’s my fault as I’ve allowed my notification basket to over-flow. Allow me to find the equisite photos and serve them up immediately.”
    I’ve been saved for yet another day. I’m sure ‘self’ didn’t have enough time but, she’s just going to have to make time for I so enjoy your work. Sheri

    • Oh Sheri, on a post entitled “time enough at last”, you lament your lack of time to stop your notification basket overflowing. 🙂

      No problems. Feel free to visit whenever you have the time. I know you’re somewhere out there, or should that be you know I’m somewhere out there.

      PS I’m digitising a few negatives from my time in your part of the world. I should have something soon.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

