Sydney February-April 2013 (3 photos)

Vignette

“Vignette of daily life”

Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Which is why when I’m out on the streets, my camera is always on, the lens cap is always off, and the manual focus of my 50mm fixed focal length lens is set at about 3 metres; I usually shoot in the range of 2 – 5 metres. One never knows what scene one will encounter, and the scene can change substantially between spotting it and getting the shot in. And one doesn’t want to miss that shot for not being ready or not close enough…

Waiting

“Waiting for …”

Sometimes my photos just sit on my hard drive until I can figure out a decent title or until I decide if I like it or not. Or sometimes I forget they’re there.

Still Clueless

“Clueless”

If you’ve been following my last week on WordPress before my short break, there’s only one more post to come. Thanks for sticking around…

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Candid photography is like a box of chocolates

Image

32 thoughts on “Candid photography is like a box of chocolates

  1. 😀 You always catch them absorbed in whatever they are doing. Fabulous candid portraits. The header one with a spaghetti-eating girl is priceless!

  2. Pingback: Candid photography is like a box of chocolates #2 | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  3. these shots are brilliant… the first one is so much fun too and great timing… and I loooove the second one, if I didn’t know it’s candid, I’d think it’s posed, so smooth and perfect compo…

    I hope this chocolate series continues… though in this post I can see you tend to take a break after every chocolate post 🙂 🙂 have a great weekend, Draco…

    • Thank you. The guy on the beach does look smooth and contented. Just a coincidence about the timing of the chocolate posts – as I try to think of a nice title. Have a wonderful weekend too Alex. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Superman where are you now? | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  5. I’m really enjoying your ‘take’ on urban or street photography. How do you approach capturing your images of people? Asking tends to change the whole situation and often they refuse, or worse, pose. Would you consider yourself ‘brazen’ to get these shots? I need a little more b&lls and often shoot from the side or behind because I feel nervous. It does help I find though having a SLR – it seems to be almost a press pass in most instances rather than some ‘random’ taking a picture with their phone. Anyway I’m enjoying your site greatly. I’d love it you checked out some of my street photos some time for your opinions. Cheers

The Wood Dragon is listening...

