Love is all around

Sydney July 2013

I was standing in a street plaza just photographing into the distance. I decided to turn around and I saw this couple behind me, doing what couples do. Well, I was still on infinity focus when this happened so I kept turning around (pretending to be a tourist) but adjusted my manual focus to 3 metres at the same time. By the time I had the couple in sight again, they were just gazing but I took the photo anyway. It wasn’t until I got home and reviewed my images from the day, that I realised that a woman with a rather appropriate cardigan design had walked between me and the couple. Chance? Good luck? Or the work of Cupid? I guess it’s true: love is all around.

I feel it in my fingers
I feel it in my toes
Love is all around me
And so the feeling grows

It’s written on the wind
It’s everywhere I go,
So if you really love me
Come on and let it show

You know I love you, I always will
My mind’s made up by the
Way that I feel
There’s no beginning,
There’ll be no end
’cause on my love you can depend

“Love Is All Around” composed by Reg Presley and originally performed by The Troggs, in D-major in 1967. It has been covered by numerous artists, including Wet Wet Wet, for the soundtrack to the 1994 film Four Weddings and a Funeral.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Love is all around

Image

37 thoughts on “Love is all around

  1. Elizabeth Krall says:

    I walk past that very spot (Martin Place and George St) every day on my way to work. I’ll keep an eye out for this couple — and for a fake tourist fiddling with the focus of his camera. 😉

  2. Pingback: She. | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

      • I also like the angles you take your candid shots that capture. Your photos not only capture the special moment but the story, which allow your viewers to imagine. So very few photographers can achieve that.
        I was thinking about my favorite beach shot. Luckily, it popped on the header! 🙂 Thank you, Dragon!

        • Thank you very much, Amy. I like the photos to tell a story, either singly or as a group. It makes for a more interesting post than just shots of people walking around.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

