simple pleasure

Sydney August 2013

Why do bubbles make us happy? ๐Ÿ™‚

And why, oh why, do I think of “The Moops” *** whenever I think of bubbles? ๐Ÿ™‚

Such are the mysteries of life and happiness.

*** Seinfeld episode 47: The Bubble Boy.

DONALD: OK, history … This is for the game. … How ya doing over there? … Not too good!

GEORGE: All right Bubble Boy. Let’s just play… Who invaded Spain in the 8th century?

DONALD: That’s a joke. The Moors.

GEORGE: Oh, Noooo, I’m so sorry. It’s the Moops. The correct answer is, The Moops.

DONALD: Moops? Let me see that. That’s not Moops you jerk, It’s Moors. It’s a misprint!

GEORGE: I’m sorry the card says Moops.

DONALD: It doesn’t matter. It’s Moors. There’s no Moops!

GEORGE: It’s MOOPS!

DONALD: MOORS!

GEORGE: MOOPS!

DONALD: MOORS!

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Happiness is …

Image

48 thoughts on “Happiness is …

  1. Good capture – These are especially difficult to catch as there is a lot of motion going on and yes, Othello was a big time into bubbles – the alternative title was almost: The Bubble of Venice ‘:-)

    • Thanks, I was definitely lucky they threw their arms up when they did.

      As was Tolkien and his original tale of the Lord of the Bubbles. Somehow Sauron didn’t sound macho enough so he was forced to change his title and the rest is history. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great shot and fine placement of your logo–thought he was wearing a Dragon tee.
    I riffed on the Moops being driven out of Spain once in class and they all just stared blankly…but for one kid who nearly fell on the floor laughing.

    He shot directly to the top of my “Favorite Student” list.

  3. kuujinbo says:

    I *love* your black and white photos, but this may be my favorite of all the photos you’ve posted here. You captured a lot of energy with this one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you for the compliment. I originally processed this in B&W but it lacked interest on the bubble. I toyed with selective colorisation but wasn’t happy. This definitely worked out better.

  4. Bubbles make us happy because they are colourful, they float around, we chase them and then they pop and make us laugh. The giant ones are even better. I love your sense of humour. Thanks for sharing!

  5. That magnificent bubble bringing so much joy, yet with George and the Moops, not to mention a deranged bird of prey, lurking in the background tears and chaos can’t be far behind! A beautiful shot!

  6. Oh I LOVE the Bubble boy on Seinfeld. Seems like I just saw it. But you’re right, bubbles make me happy. I think it’s the colors and the frailty that attract me. My little grand-daughter has always found them to be amazing too. One of the best photo series I have is of my grand-daughter running in her Easter dress and chasing bubbles…. until she fell and scraped her knee. then dad stepped in, scooped her up and became her hero. ๐Ÿ˜€

I'm away on holidays. Please leave your comment and I'll get back to you when I can...

