The Bridge

Sydney August 2013

This is the pedestrian’s view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, heading north. The barbed wire is there to deter people from potential harm and makes this footpath on this famous structure look rather bleak. I was influenced by this and I processed this image accordingly, so that it is not the typical representation you would find in a tourist’s brochure. Ahead is the South Pylon and if you look carefully you will see people up the top. One of my next posts will be from up there; and in case you’re wondering, no elevator! The things I do for this blog. πŸ™‚

I’d walked this footpath before, but without a camera. When the topic for The Digital Lightroom’s 5th competition about Lead In Lines came up I knew I wanted to photograph this. I just needed the right weather conditions and a decent cloud pattern. I was very pleased to have been chosen for the top 10 shortlist of the competition, even though I didn’t win. My thanks to the judges and Topaz for this competition and my selection. Congratulations to the other finalists and the winner. And thanks to all who took the time to vote. It’s much appreciated.

As it so happens, there is currently a WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge on the topic of From Lines to Patterns to which this photo fits in nicely, so I thought I’d join into that one this week as well with this image.

By the way, for the photographers, until October 31 2013, Sony and DXO are giving away free licences to DXO FilmPack 3 which is software to give your digital images a film grain look. Not the latest version but it’s free. Worth a look if you want this kind of effect.

For a more picturesque view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, click here to a previous post .

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The Bridge

Image

61 thoughts on “The Bridge

  1. Oh!!!! I just saw the other pic…Nothing to do, really..It is incredible to see how you are able to show so differents views of the same bridge…Each one tells a different story! I love the other but I think I prefer this one!

  2. to remain in him says:

    Do you have any bad photos? I like everything you are posting:) And thank you for sharing details. Have a great day! Geda

    • Thank you for your very kind words.

      I have many many bad photos but I’d be too embarrassed to ever show them. So you’ll just have to be content to see the ones I like. πŸ™‚

      Have a great day too!

  3. The black,the white and the grey made me feel cold
    thought it was an ‘obliged ‘ way to somewhere with no hopes
    could writre a poem on it
    grey as iron
    cold as winter
    white as snow
    sky for freedom
    escape your reality
    just fly away from here
    your heart beats faster than wind on the bridge
    xxx
    miky

    • Thank you my friend. I gave this a harsher and more contrasty treatment than I usually do. It really brought out the dust spots on my sensor and I’ve had to send my camera in for service/cleaning as a result.

      The new competition on the digital lightroom is about the colours of autumn. That rules me out, but given your location, you would have a great chance.

      • kuujinbo says:

        Sorry to hear about your camera – and one of the few things that disappoints me about the M line – dust magnets. First camera I’ve owned (know I’m a relative newbie, but still), where a rocket blower doesn’t get most or all of the dust off the sensor. 😦

        You’re much better suited to, and more likely to do well in a competition than I am. πŸ™‚

        Took a huge leap of faith in myself and bought a Monochrom last week, so I won’t be shooting color much. Except of course at 28mm with the GR. Sold off the NEX6, and am in the process of selling the M-E and couple lenses to cover the entire cost of the camera.

        • Apparently the sensor needs to be replaced. So waiting on parts from Germany. Should get it back in Oct/Nov. 😦 Might run out out of photos before then. πŸ˜‰

          Congratulations and fantastic news about the MM. I can’t make that leap of faith yet although I’ve thought about it. I’ll be interested to see your photos.

        • kuujinbo says:

          Wow, that’s too bad, especially having to wait for parts from Germany. ;( Did they say what happened to the sensor? Is it going to be covered by warranty? You still have your OM-D E-M5, right?

          Got the MM last week, so my posts from the 19th mostly with the camera. So far it looks like output at low ISO (don’t pixel peep) isn’t much different from the M9, but high ISO is noticeably better – to me anyway. It’s starting to get dark much earlier now, so I guess by the middle of next month will be shooting a lot at ISO 1600 and up.

        • kuujinbo says:

          Well, that’s good to hear! πŸ™‚ I’ve heard their CLA/rangefinder adjustment charges are quite high, so can’t imagine how much they charge for a sensor replacement…

  4. Hi Draco, congrats for being shortlisted in the top 10 last competition and good luck on the next one πŸ™‚ I like that you contrasted this deeper as it really brought out the feel. I enjoy looking at every one of your photos and the story behind it. Thank you πŸ˜€

    • Unfortunately the next is about Autumn, so I have nothing to shoot, unless I catch a plane and head north well above the equator.

      Many thanks for the kind words Sam. Have a great day. πŸ™‚

  5. Elizabeth Krall says:

    Wow, you’ve turned a tourist attraction into a concentration camp! This is grim indeed. And may I add my voice to the chorus of congratulations? Bravo, and well deserved.

  6. I am glad to hear that you were chosen for the top 10 shortlist of the competition. That means a lot, congratulations. The barbed wire at the top caught my attention. It made me feel, trapped…Thanks for sharing! Best of weekend!

  7. Trish says:

    Wow, I recognised the bridge immediately but then thought again – I wasn’t convinced. It has a certain gulag look here which I never associate with Sydney Harbour. What an amazing photographer you are!

  8. Pingback: I am the eye in the sky | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  9. Pingback: Redux: with commentary from David Penprase | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

