i like to watch

Sydney July 2013

But of course, all photographers like to watch. Don’t you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Most of my candid photos are taken close using a 50mm prime lens, but on this occasion, I was using a 35mm manual focus prime lens, which explains the wider perspective than my usual candid photos.

I find that if your subject is concentrating or pre-occupied with a task, you can get rather close and still go unnoticed. I simply walked right up to these people who were standing next to the entrance to a walking path, and turned to look at what they were looking at. I turned back around and shot. And then I walked away.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

I like to “watch”

Image

50 thoughts on “I like to “watch”

  1. Interesting post! My kids call those creeper shots, but sometimes a shot is just too good to miss. Sometimes I’ll have one of my kids pose in front of that which I wish to photograph. They smile, and I snap the shot, but I shoot over their shoulder with the zoom.

  2. What were they watching, seagulls? Was it an ocean view? Questions questions, lol… You got me intrigued ๐Ÿ˜‰ One more question, has anyone approach or confronted you before as to why you take their photos? I want to take some street portraits but am afraid.

    • They were looking at ships out at sea.

      I think that maybe less than 5 people so far have seen me taking their photos and a few others may have wondered, but mostly I am “the ghost who walks”. ๐Ÿ™‚ But if someone was upset about it I’d delete the image from my camera if they asked me to.

  3. “I turned back around and shot. And then I walked away.” Hit and run photography, eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Those two will certainly have a lot to look at when the navy ships and tall ships arrive next week. I’m not sure my own camera will stand the strain!

    • Oh it’s going to a hectic week for anyone working or visiting that area. And Prince Harry will be in town too to add to it all. Hope you have spare camera batteries! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I was at the opera House on Australia Day 1988 for the Bicentennial Tall Ships Parade of Sail. That was hectic enough for me.

      • Elizabeth Krall says:

        I’ve done a lot of tall ship sailing, and one of my ships (Lord Nelson) will be here. ๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps foolishly, I have volunteered to help out. ‘Hectic’ indeed! I think a return to work will be a relief! But I can’t resist being at South Head when they arrive; I’ve even bought a tripod.

    • I haven’t tried with a dslr but it may be difficult. I always hold the camera the same way, no matter if I’m walking along or photographing – so there no sudden movements to alert people. I couldn’t imagine doing that for a couple of hours with a dslr. Smaller cameras are less intimidating too.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

