along the watchtower 1

Sydney August 2013 (3 images)

“There must be some kind of way out of here,”
Said the joker to the thief,
“There’s too much confusion, I can’t get no relief”.

“All Along the Watchtower” is a song written and recorded by Bob Dylan. The song initially appeared on his 1967 album John Wesley Harding. The song is strongly identified with the interpretation Jimi Hendrix recorded for Electric Ladyland with the Jimi Hendrix Experience.

along the watchtower 2

This is a follow up to my earlier post, The Bridge (see link below). Soon after that photo was taken, I made the long trek up the numerous stairs to the top of the South Pylon. I got to the reception area and asked how much it would cost to go to the top. $11, I was told. I asked if there was an elevator to the top. The girl laughed and said no. I joked that that was thievery, charging me money to walk up a long flight of stairs.

Anyway, once I got to the top of the South Pylon, it really felt like being at the top of a watch tower. Unfortunately I only had a 50mm lens, so no sweeping panoramic shots. Maybe next time.

On the way down I walked past the receptionist and wanted to find the bathroom so I started to head down the stairs that I came up from. She called out to me, “You can’t go that way, that’s the way up only!”. I turned, looked at her and said, “Well, there must be some way out of here. I’m confused and can’t get no relief!” ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

along the watchtower 3

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

All along the Watch Tower

Image

63 thoughts on “All along the Watch Tower

  1. The view from this place is spectacular and it is well worth all your physical suffering (effort).
    A โ€œgirlโ€ about my age (60) would have answered you: โ€œCome and take my herb.โ€
    m

  2. Outsatanding view! I’m actually mesmerised by the second picture. The bridge design. What’s that “hut” on the bottom left? It’s such a relief that I don’t have to walk those steps… And you saved me entrance money too, Nnw, that’s not thievery ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. JL Kenney says:

    What a great hunk of bridge! I tried going up in a (similar looking) fire tower once – and was unable to because I got dizzy. I am a land based creature ๐Ÿ™‚
    (me on the bridge was a huge accomplishment for me!)

    • “I’m learning to fly, but I ain’t got wings
      Coming down is the hardest thing” … Tom Petty.

      Some people looked straight down over the edge. I wasn’t one of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Did you hear the really loud GROAN from half way around the world? That was a lonnnnng way to go for a punch line, Dragon. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Like the shots and really like #1. The young woman makes it work–she is our entry into the scene.

    • Having just recently woken up, I was wondering why I had difficulty sleeping last night. Indeed I thought I heard a groan and maybe a curse or two a few hours ago. Hmmmm…. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Many thanks for the comments. Cheers.

    • Thanks, but as only I had the song in my head (song titles often do that when I take a particular photo) she seemed clueless. ***

      *** The author of this blog reserves the right to embellish the truth occasionally for the purposes of creating a good story. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Bridgeclimb (which I haven’t done) gets all the glory but as I understand it you can’t take a camera or anything loose up there in case it falls and turns into a missile. The South Pylon offers a great vista which you can photograph but doesn’t get as much advertising which is a shame. I’m glad you got to enjoy it when you were here. Have a great weekend.

  5. Sidney must be one of the most beautiful places in the world. The last photo leaves me breathless and wanting to see Sidney in person. Thank you, Lignum, for sharing the beauty of Australia to the rest of the world!

  6. Hi! Stunning beautiful opera house shot. It’s very beautiful in Circular Quay area .
    I have been wondering your Chinese letter. Dragon is ้พใ€€in our country.Please explain your logo for me. Thanks for sharing.

  7. LB says:

    I too was wondering if the girl at the desk got the song reference!
    I like to think I would have climbed up there with you … I believe myself to be such a daredevil but every now and then the height gets to me.
    But I’dve tried, yes I would because it looks amazing!!!!
    Awesome shots (and song reference)

  8. I keep hearing Jimi Hendix’s fabulous intro to his version of this great song, the heaviness of which would somehow help me keep my feet on the ground in the presence of such awesome views! Well done on climbing those stairs and what beautiful shots!

  9. Pingback: I am the eye in the sky | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  10. Fabulous pictures! I climbed up the South Pylon in 1998 with a very basic, film camera so my results are nothing as good as these, but I did have a close-up shot of the bridge (similar to your 2nd image, which I had photocopied onto A3 paper and still have it framed on my wall!) Sad, I know… oh and you have gained another follower, I’m not really stalking you ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Jude xx

    • Thank you very much. It’s a spectacular view up there. I went up once before in the 90’s and the only camera I had was a disposable camera from Kodak which I bought in the gift store. Not the best and I always meant to come back with a proper camera. It took a while but I did it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope you had a good time in Sydney, and the photo on the wall brings back happy memories.

      Glad to have you on board. ๐Ÿ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

