the surprise announcement

Sydney June 2013

It’s interesting to imagine what the couple dining with this couple might have said to elicit such a reaction:

a. We’re getting divorced.

b. We’re moving to Iceland.

c. We know what you did last summer.

d. You’re paying the bill this time.

Another example of a situation where people are so preoccupied that I could just walk right up to them and snap this from about 2 metres and not be noticed. And a certain level of background noise helps to hide the sound of the camera shutter.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Taken by Surprise

Image

50 thoughts on “Taken by Surprise

  1. Hehehe, this is great! I don’t know if i would dare to snap a photo from so close….i’m not really good at street photography. I really admire your work πŸ™‚

  2. Before I even scrolled down and read your thoughts of what they were thinking, I was asking myself the same thing. What was going on? What had made this couple look so forlorn? It made me look more intensely into the picture to see details about the couple. Where are they? What their status might be. The bloggers that write little stories from picture prompts would probably love this picture.

    Mr. Wood Dragon, do you take a lot a pictures of people unbeknownst to them? I know with all the sophisticated cameras and equipment it is possible. I am not making any judgment. I am just thinking what if I saw my picture on a blog and didn’t know the person who took it. And my hair was a mess and my lipstick was smeared and I was sitting there with a man who was not my husband. Oh dear! Oh dear!

    • Thanks for the comments. The simple observation of life can be so very interesting.

      I do a lot of candid photography and it is always in plain sight of those I photograph. No hiding required – I’d personally feel uncomfortable about that. I have actually seen photos of myself on on flickr and blogs, without me knowing who took them (at dinners, functions, etc). I have no problem with it as long as I’m not being identified or “attacked”. So I act with my photos. I usually post them after a delay and I don’t identify people if I can help it.

      So, how often do sit with smeared lipstick next to men who aren’t your husband? πŸ™‚

  3. JL Kenney says:

    “We secretly replaced the fine coffee normally served, with Folger’s crystals…”
    You get some excellent candid shots.

  4. I love your blog Lignum. I laughed long and hard, after looking at that photo. Why are those two so serious? Were there other people on the table? Somebody telling a very sad tale? If I were a student, I would go for A or B. Paying the bill is a small matter, moving to Iceland (Lord have mercy, the cold…) divorcing (what at that age?)…have a wonderful weekend. I enjoyed the photo!

  5. Alexandra says:

    lol:)))) love your sense of humor.. and your keen observation and skill to capture such peculiar situations…!! in one of your replies above I read you use a manual lens… wow.. respect!! btw, my guess is c)):)))))))

    • Thank you kindly. I use zone focussing and know what range will be in focus dependent on the aperture. I find it faster and often more accurate than automatic focus in candid situations.

  6. Another fantastic capture… and story! Those are some good options there that could have caused such facial expressions. πŸ™‚ You’ve got great sense of humor!

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

