NT-3

Uluru (Ayer’s Rock) in the late afternoon

Northern Territory February 2001 (6 images)

There used to be a travel slogan “You’ll never never know, if you never never go” to promote travel to outback Northern Territory, a region often colloquially referred to as “the never never”. And so with a few days off work coming up, back on Valentine’s Day 2001 I checked the internet for somewhere in Australia that I’d never been to before, with nice weather for that time of the year. Cairns was my preferred destination but it was raining there. So I called up my travel agent at 2pm:

Me: Hope you’re having a nice day. Special plans tonight?

Her: Yes, having a nice dinner out with my husband.

Me: Good. I want to go to central Northern Territory for 4 days as there will be some nice weather there.

Her: Sure, when would you like to go?

Me: First thing tomorrow morning …please. I need the following…

Her: *Gulp*. Tomorrow? Seriously… Ohhhhhhh Kayyyyy…..

To her credit, she got back to me in 2 hours with an itinerary and bookings, and I made it there (It didn’t go entirely smoothly, but that was to be expected). It’s a fascinating place, and travelling on my own and being in the off season, I could take my time and explore without the crowds or hurried timetable of group tours. I could drive and explore for hours and not see another person.

NT

Kata tjuta (The Olgas) in the evening

Over at the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge, the topic is Infinite . The outback is a vast infinite place, of infinite beauty and where I truly experienced infinity. It really is a never ending story in the Northern Territory and I guess, that’s why I’ve been back 3 times now, to different areas of it, although these days I do my own planning and bookings via the internet. ๐Ÿ™‚

NT-4

George Gill Range

NT-5

From atop the Kings Canyon

NT-2

Looking towards Mount Conner

In case you’re wondering, back in 2001 I was using my very first digital camera, a Canon IXUS 2MP camera and shooting happily in jpeg (I had no idea what raw files were back then). All these images are approximately 600KB in original size. I’ve used lightroom, nik and topaz to try and bring them up to date. My apologies that these are not as sharp and detailed as they would be with a modern digital camera.

NT-6

Uluru in the morning.

This was one of my primitive photo stitches, one of the functions of the Canon software which infinitely fascinated me. I’d stand in one spot (yes, no tripod) and swivel around ensuring there was enough overlap of the images to work with. I was easily amused in those days. ๐Ÿ™‚

Canon Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The Never Ending Story

Image

107 thoughts on “The Never Ending Story

  1. Just incredibly stunning pics!! You know, my sister has lived in Australia(Chiltern,Victoria) for the past 40 years. She’s my oldest sister and we are 16 years apart. She has come back to the states quite a few times….it might be time I check out her neck of the woods!!

    • Thank you. Australia is a vast land, the size of continental USA. Except that here about 98% of the population lives within an hour or two of the coast. Central Australia is so remote and there’s lots of places to explore and just be alone. You’d enjoy it out here for a holiday.

  2. I see you like adventure…..
    To me the pics are very good…I have to say I am shooting in .jpg, and I do not travel with tripod…My camera is quite old, but I really enjoy it so much!!!! So I understand you very well….:)

  3. to remain in him says:

    Lonely and beautiful in the middle of wilderness. Brings forth questions and answering them just by it’s being.

  4. What an awe-inspiring place. Your photos turned out great. I also try to enhance photos that I took in the early digital days, and even some from the pre-digital era. I’m so grateful for Topaz and Nik.

  5. hi wood dragon,

    great pics – perfect for australia travel promo, i heard a while back the uhuru changes colour significantly through the day due to the mineral deposits on its surface, true?
    wishing you a good week ahead.

    best regards,
    kap

  6. Pรฉpรฉ le Moko says:

    not that you found it did you ever wonder how it came to be?….that’s what happened when I sat on the shores of Yesnaby in Orkney….took me back 600 million years to find the answer….changed how I look at everything

  7. Beautiful shots – would not have known they were taken with an antique ๐Ÿ™‚ My husband and I were at Uluru years ago and found it amazingly beautiful. We were there at sunrise and also at sunset-both astounding-and also went to see the Olgas. We chose black fly season however and have some very funny photos of ourselves in head nets ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the lovely reminder – great choice for the challenge

    • Thank you kindly. An antique digital – that’s technology for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The light can be fantastic and Uluru does have some amazing colours. I spent about 5 hours at The Olgas just walking and exploring. Strenuous but peaceful at the same time. Black flies? Welcome to Australia! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you Patti. It really is a place to enjoy in peace. I went to the dawn and sunset viewings at Uluru. There would be about 20-30 tour buses. All there by about 20 minutes before sunrise/sunset and all gone about 20 minutes after. I stayed for a few hours and just quietly enjoyed it.

  8. I knew this rock from a Japanese film called “Crying out in the center of the world” (ไธ–็•Œใฎไธญๅฟƒใงใ€ๆ„›ใ‚’ใ•ใ‘ใถ) I still remember the scene that took place at that area. After seeing it in the movie, I always want to go there someday.

    • You know those comedy sketches where you hand over your camera to a bystander and they runaway with it? No problems here as there’s nowhere to run and hide, so there are a few candids around. But I try to maintain a standard of photographic quality and decency on my blog, and the dragon’s head doesn’t meet those criteria. Thank you for asking. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ha! No…I meant that you stroll casually by some unsuspecting tourists for a bit of your trademark candid capture of THEM.
        (Or a passing iguana or a strolling wallaby if people are in short supply.)
        I agree…the Dragon should remain a mystery. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • I understand now. No, back in those days, I didn’t do that style of photography, and it would have been difficult with the s-l-o-w autofocus of that primitive digital point and shoot. I guess the type of equipment we own dictates what we can do. My camera now excels at the close up candid, but I do miss having a zoom lens every now and then. Cheers.

  9. Wandering is my very first love and now Australia is several levels up in my bucket list – thank you to show these stunning images, irrespective of the camera they are made with. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I really like the Mt Connor shot; an infinity of sky, no doubt. I confess I am still soldiering on with a digital compact (a Canon, too, albeit with many more megapixels than your 2001 model). I am considering the leap to DSLR, but am trying to justify cost (!!!!) against usage. BTW, for another take on infinity, try sailing from one side of an ocean to another — though, I admit, the view doesn’t change much from day to day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Ocean sailing – a good take, for sure.

      DSLR? Don’t forget weight issues. Consider what you are most likely to photograph and choose an appropriate style. There are many cameras between compact and DSLR, such as Ricoh, Panasonic, Olympus and Sony which might be appropriate.

      • Elizabeth Krall says:

        I am indeed considering weight issues, and lugging around multiple lenses. Thanks for the tip about other cameras, I’ll look into them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Pingback: Illusion of infinity | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

  12. Never say never say never again! Even out of nowhere you’ve made it some where. This is something truly awe inspiring. Just looking at it makes me wanna take a flight out to Central Australia. To be away and lose myself and to discover Mother Nature. I like Kata tjuta and Mount Conner!

  13. Suzi says:

    Wow! Incredible pictures of this beautiful spot. We only made it as far north as the Daintree and never to Uluru. These pictures make me regret that even more!

  14. Stunning. Simply mesmerizing!
    i dont think you’re a person with a great talent;
    i think you are talent that has grown human body parts!
    You’re simply amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Beautiful and stunning landscape. Omg, I wish I could travel and see all these beautiful places. I love Uluru in the late afternoon and Kings Canyon, it’s breathtaking. Thanks for sharing these beauties. Maybe one day, I shall get to see them in person.

  16. Pingback: Never smile at a … | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

    • Thanks. I still indulge, but some landscapes are just more photogenic than others. But I don’t have the time or patience to be active in that area of photography on a regular basis.

  17. Beautiful shots – and I love the back story.

    I was so thrilled that it is possible to walk into and through the Olgas that I shot a whole roll of slide film trying to show the “inside” of the Olgas…I was also easily amused back then.

  18. Pingback: The Field of Light | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

