48 seconds later

Sydney June 2013 (2 images)

When I process my pictures, I have learnt to process/correct them to the best that I can in colour first. Then, if I am after a black and white version, I will convert and edit from that best colour version. I think it helps to achieve the best tonal range for the black and white image. A few extra steps but worth the effort.

48 seconds later-2

In this particular example, the black and white version was missing impact as “The Swimmer” was lost in the waves. So in this case, I thought I would try a little selective colorisation which is a technique I don’t often use.

And if you want to know what the scene was like 48 seconds earlier, please take a look at:

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

48 seconds later…

Image

67 thoughts on “48 seconds later…

    • Thank you. If anything, blogging my images has helped me to learn how to process them efficiently and appropriately. Gone are the days of just adjusting contrast and brightness levels. Lightroom has become my friend. 🙂

  1. Great images! Interestingly, I have just been reading the beginning of Michael Freeman’s Photo School Black and White, where he tells you to get the image correct in colour first… Then I’m reading your post along the same lines! It is something I am trying to be more diligent at, because if you don’t have the tonal range, your monochrome image is going to be a bit ‘flat’… Onwards and upwards!

    • Thank you. I can’t remember where I first read about this but a few b&w photographers have mentioned they do this, and I’ve now learnt to do it too. I find it does make a difference. Cheers.

    • Thank you. I think this is the first time I’ve ever submitted a selective colorisation image. Not a front line editing tool as far as I’m concerned, but very useful in the appropriate situation.

  2. Thanks for the tip. I’ve been trying to process a few photos to black and white for my blog and still haven’t managed to do any to my liking yet. So none put have been put up. I’ll take this into account! x

  3. kuujinbo says:

    Remember your post from this past July, and was going to ask if it was from an earlier set. 🙂

    Any word on the M9 replacement sensor? On one of the camera forums I follow a bit saw that there’s a back-order on them – hence M-Es are out of stock everywhere.

  4. Really great and beautiful photos, all of them 🙂 I think my favourite is the still water one… the reflections on the water and the stillness of that scene are simply incredible!

  5. LB says:

    I just loved the series … the color first (and those colors are stunning), the B&W with the selective coloring, and then the swimmer. How cool to go back in time rather than forward 🙂

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

