reader image

Whilst I was absent, they changed the WordPress Reader. Now if you click on the title or image of a notification in the Reader, you open a pop-up window, which I personally am not a fan of.

So here’s a tip. To go directly to the blog page from the Reader, click the time stamp on the bottom left of the Reader notice, or click on the word count for the same effect. I hope this helps others who may dislike pop-up windows and prefer to read the actual post.

My thanks to WordPress volunteer “timethief” for this tip. Click here for her blog

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

Tip: Skip the pop-up window in the WordPress Reader

Image

57 thoughts on “Tip: Skip the pop-up window in the WordPress Reader

  1. The new reader is very unpopular with those bloggers that are offering quality content, especially the visual arts crowd which includes photographers like me. In the Reading settings I no longer have “show full posts” checked.

  2. I’m not sure I like that pop up window either – and what is it for anyway??? 😐
    Funny you should mention clicking the time stamp – I just discovered that earlier today! But thanks for the info, because if I hadn’t that would have bee useful. I’m sure it will help others and many will agree with you. They will probably change it again – for Christmas – you know what WordPress are like for meddling! They remind me of people who can never stop decorating their house! πŸ˜‰

    • I don’t even know where to start with getting notifications on the Reader going back to say about 3 hours and then the next one may be time stamped 2 days ago. Numerous lost notifications. It happens sporadically but very annoying.

  3. I felt like Goldielocks for about 2 weeks week. At first, they left out the word count and then it took me another week to figure this out. Guess you are back as well.

  4. Great tip – thanks: do they sit with a coffee and think up ways to annoy their users ? at least an undo or ask the question ‘would you like?’ software people are becoming divorced from reality !

    David.

      • M. R. says:

        Like all marketing people, I reckon: you gotta keep providing a rationale for your existence. Tell me: why is it that I simply don’t understand the Reader? I can’t work out how it functions. I believe senility has something to do with this. Sighh …

        • In an effort to change things and make it look like they are making improvements, simplicity and intuitiveness get lost along the way. A lot of people are befuddled by this. Senility has nothing to do with it. πŸ™‚

  5. kuujinbo says:

    Good to have you back and thanks for the tip – the pop up window is quite annoying. 😦

    Can’t wait to see photos when your get your A7. πŸ™‚

  6. That pop up window is very annoying. Thanks so much for this tip. I wonder why they keep on changing things….I love my comfort zone. Have a lovely week!

      • I hate the new reader and I thought I was the only one. πŸ™‚ I hate when people just click likes there and never enter the blog even when it gives only a summary, but it is the people to blame for their type of interaction too, not just the reader features. I would also like to thank you for dropping by my blog to comment which you do more and more often. That kind of interaction with bloggers matters to me. See you LD πŸ™‚

        • I hated the new reader and was about to change to email notification until I discovered this feature. It actively discourages you from visiting a blog.

          I understand your point about likes and comments but sometimes after a long day at work, it can be a bit tiring going through the reader and making comments. But I’m happy to have met you and I truly enjoy your photography from places across the world. Photography is a wonderful common language.

  7. Yes! Thank you! If I click on a post it’s because I want to view it in it’s full glory, which I assume is the same for most people, so a pop-up window is a total waste of time… thanks so much for sharing this πŸ™‚

  8. Thanks for the tip! I was ending up in the pop-up reader (which I dislike enormously) and then clicking on “View Original”. It seemed like such an incredible waste of time and an unnecessary step. I think posts should be read in their original context.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

