not impressed

Sydney April 2013

I like street performers. Not necessarily because of what they do, but because of the crowd they attract and the reactions they elicit. I like to walk into the crowd and capture people’s reactions close-up. I have my lens preset at 2-3 metres because that’s a distance I can judge without too much trouble and I open my aperture as wide as possible for the conditions, which allows me to use a relatively fast shutter speed. I use a 35mm or 50mm prime lens – using a telephoto is not for me. Then I just walk to the right spot and shoot. Most of the time nobody notices me. I love how everyone is enjoying the show, except for that one woman who seems to be hard to please. There’s always one in every crowd. πŸ™‚

And in case you’re wondering, “the performer” was a dog. I guess she must be a cat person. πŸ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

If looks could kill …

Image

61 thoughts on “If looks could kill …

  1. And I can see another person that is no paying attention to the dog…The nice man on the right…He is looking at the young lady on the centre of the pic….Could be the beginning of a nice history…..:)

  2. LOL I love the look on her face. She is either a cat person or a no-pet person like me. I love admiring and petting other peoples pets, but I’ve never had one myself. I think it’s just too much work, like having a baby that never grows up. She must be thinking “seriously all these people gathered here to watch a dog…give me a break” Have a lovely evening. Best wishes!

  3. A cat person indeed πŸ™‚ This is an amazing shot! You’ve caught so many great facial expressions… the photo is full of things to discover and notice. Really cool!

  4. So many different faces and expressions, it’s a really interesting capture. That guy with the suit makes it look almost like a scene from a movie…So many possible outcomes…You know that’s what makes a photograph great, when it catches your eye, makes you use your mind and imagination and it either takes you there in that specific moment or you travel with it and make it your own by imagining your own version πŸ™‚

  5. JL Kenney says:

    It’s a wonderful candid shot, LD. You do them well. And it isn’t just the look on that woman’s face – the body language is stern, too!
    (that said, it looks to me like only 2 people are really enjoying the show)

  6. kuujinbo says:

    I hope you get your M9 back soon…love your black and white shots with the camera. Maybe she was just having a bad day. πŸ˜‰

      • kuujinbo says:

        All I can say is that Leica is *very* lucky that they’ve cornered the digital rangefinder market. I can’t think of very many industries where a company’s customers would be so patient waiting months while their cameras or lenses are repaired. Especially for people like you, since photography is such a big part of your life.

        At least you should be getting the Sony soon. πŸ™‚ Which M mount adapter did you order, or did you decide to go with one of the native lenses?

        • Considering the cost of the camera, I have no option but to wait. 😦 If it were a cheaper point’n’shoot I’d have probably just tossed the camera to the back of the cupboard and got a new one. πŸ™‚

          One thing I like about Leica is that people buy Leica rangefinders because of the name and then realise they don’t really like the system. So near brand new cameras/lenses come up for sale at good prices. I just picked up a 6 month old near unused Zeiss distagon 15/2.8. Even thought about the M9-P which came in to store with that and 5 other lenses.

          I understand the A7’s have arrived and will be delivered to stores this week. I bought the 35/2.8 to allow full automatic focussing but I’ll also get adaptors for my Nikon and Leica lenses.

        • kuujinbo says:

          Oh, I agree with you 100% – I would be waiting like you if something went wrong with mine, not only because of the cost, but also (and probably more importantly) there’s no other comparable option if you want a FF digital rangefinder. I just wish some other company would step up…even if it was only a more modern APS-C digital rangefinder. There’s no way Leica would have the luxury to make people wait months for replacement parts if they had even a single competitor. πŸ˜‰

          I love the rangefinder system so much, been thinking about picking up a film one sometime next year. But that would be even a bigger leap for me – the second thing I like most about the MM is that it greatly simplifies and decreases PP time. πŸ™‚

  7. tara cooney says:

    Ha ha.. she’s really not impressed is she! I admire how you get these shots, I need to get over being so self-conscious about photographing people.

  8. her lips were pursed but her eyes aren’t malicious. perhaps she was thinking of a dog she had… wonderful expressions captured. wonder if the little girl was capturing the dog on her ipad? is there a camera feature in ipad? i’m a hillbilly! πŸ˜€

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

