the hype

Sydney July 2013 (3 images)

As I’ve mentioned before, when shooting the street, it pays to be prepared. My lens cap is always off. My camera is always on. Manual focus preset at 3 metres as standard, but adjustable at a moment’s notice. Widest aperture possible for the lighting conditions so the fastest possible shutter speed may be used.

I was walking along and saw this guy with camera in hand, so as if in an old fashioned duel, I walked at him, and took him on. He wasn’t ready, but I was. I got the shot. πŸ™‚

Both of us were walking and I generally try to time my shot to my stride for minimal blur. I was really happy to get this so sharp. I really think that zone focussing is a great technique. And what photographer doesn’t enjoy shooting another photographer. πŸ™‚

the hype 2

If the strap is correct, his camera was the very capable and worthy Fuji x100. But recently there has been another new camera release with an incredible build-up and hype, the Sony A7/R. The first compact, automatic focussing, mirror less camera with a full frame sensor. The A7 with 24MP is better for high iso, flash and candid photography, with fast autofocus (but not as fast as the Olympus OMD series). And the A7R with no low pass filter and 36MP is better for architectural and landscape photography. I’d been following the rumours and was quite impressed when the rumours were confirmed and the specifications released. Not a perfect camera but certainly a landmark camera. I see this as a great companion camera, particularly for my Leica as I can use my Leica lenses on this camera at full frame. And cheaper than a second Leica body. So I succumbed to the hype and pre-ordered it; sight unseen. I couldn’t help myself. I was second on the store’s preorder list and waited a month. And 3 days ago…

A7R

Apparently this camera has been so popular, it was sold out in less than a day at the store I went to. And the Leica M adaptors had almost completely sold out as well.

Christmas has come early. πŸ™‚ Now I just need to set it up and find some photography time.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Hype …and the new Sony A7R

Image

70 thoughts on “Hype …and the new Sony A7R

    • Thank you. I think this is a landmark camera. Full frame sensor (scoring practically equivalent to the Nikon D800/E sensor on DXO tests) with most of the functions of a dslr camera in a lightweight compact camera. And the native lenses are correspondingly smaller, but with a simple adaptor most full frame (non digital specific) lenses will fit it. The ergonomics is a bit of a failing though for larger hands. Cheers.

  1. I like your concept of it being like an old fashioned cowboy duel. Something tells me that will stick with me when I am out shooting. Great shots. I’m looking forward to hearing how the new camera performs (and seeing the results). Enjoy

    • Thank you. I’m a bit of an “urban cowboy”. πŸ™‚ Occasionally I’ve lost a duel but nothing fatal. πŸ™‚

      I think I need a bit of time to set up the menus as I’ve not owned a sony before and it always requires a bit of brainwork to grasp new menus. The Leica is sooo much simpler that way. Cheers.

  2. You definitely caught him in a world of his own, well caught Lignum! Looking forward to your Sony review. The Fuji x100s has been so popular that some shops in NYC don’t even have a demo model, such was the waiting list etc. but I was reluctant to spend (fantasy) money on something with a fixed lens . . . Enjoy your early Christmas!

  3. Great shot and the Sony looks a little gem – I have recently upgraded to full frame DSLR with fixed primes. Nice to have and use but I now need a smaller camera I can use more easily in the street and carry around without developing back pains – I am sorely tempted by the X100s. Must stop reading camera reviews πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. Weight issues are why I’ve moved to mirror less. And it always felt a bit awkward bringing out a giant camera for a quick shot. Fuji, Sony, Olympus, Panasonic, Ricoh… Take your pick. πŸ™‚

  4. I think you have got yourself a nice piece of equipment. Curious what your experiences will be; especially with the auto-focus. I like the combi of a full frame sensor; a usable live-view and a tilting screen; might go for an A7. Have fun!

    • I chose the A7R over the A7 because I wanted the higher resolution for landscapes. The A7 is a better choice for people and street photography – better AF and low light capability. But either are good cameras. Thank you.

    • I know a few people who made up their mind to get it within a day or two of the specifications being released. πŸ™‚ I may end up mainly using the Sony Zeiss lens but I have the Leica adaptor and am awaiting a Nikon adapter. Should be fun.

      Jingle bells….

  5. I have been sighting a lot of street photographers lately. Sometimes when I see someone with a Lecia, I wonder if he was you. Great specs but the design is a little squarish for me. Looking forward to your shots with it.

  6. Great shot– did you shoot from the hip on this one? Terrific. Congratulations on your new, sweet camera. I walked into Hype and found I wasn’t cool enough either… πŸ™‚

  7. That guy is a damn serious dude, I would hate to bump on him on the sidewalk. Great shots, Lignum, as always. Have a fabulous weekend. We have lots of sunshine today even though temperatures are still -8C.

  8. kuujinbo says:

    Congratulations! πŸ™‚ If you can wait a bit, Voigtlander is supposed to release a helicoid (close-focus) M adapter. Pricey, but IMHO worth it. Had one for the Nex-5N – they’re built to last.

  9. It really is worth to be prepared, you got such a great shot of him! In the streets you often have those few seconds that a great-looking scene lasts. That Sony sounds and looks great!

    • Thanks. I try to everything set up before I start out. That way you don’t really have to think to much and can just react to the situation. It’s a fantastic camera and has focus peaking which I’ve never used before. I’m amazed by the technology these days.

  10. That’s a great shot of another photographer who seemed unlikely to like getting shot at. Have fun with your new toy and looking forward to hearing your review on it, “Fastest Gun in Sydney”! πŸ˜€

  11. Nice shot of photographer not paying attention to what is happening in front of him πŸ˜‰ I got the A7r as well, it’s a pretty different shooting compared to the M9, very nice in low light though. Got only the body, using it with M and R lenses only.

    • Congratulations. I didn’t want to get the M (240) but this seems like a good camera, and the CMOS sensor is pretty close, if not almost identical to that in the Nikon D800E.
      This camera gives me the chance to use my Leica lenses again. My M9 is in the workshop and I’ve been told it needs a new sensor, but there is a shortage. I haven’t had my M9 for almost 5 months now.

    • Always good to hear from you. I hope you’re well too and being creative.
      Life is like that – not enough time. I don’t keep as close an eye on my reader as I used to for a similar reason.

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

