Someone to watch over me 1

Sydney January 2014 (2 images)

I’m a little lamb who’s lost in the wood
I know I could, always be good
To one who’ll watch over me

… George and Ira Gershwin (1926)

Before you is a small section of a public street art display, known as “In Between Two Worlds”, by artist Jason Wing, completed in 2011. It forms the centrepiece of the City of Sydney’s upgrade to Little Hay Street, Factory Street and Kimber Lane in the Chinatown district. By day this small service lane is brightened by blue clouds and silver figures. By night the ‘spirit’ figures illuminate the lane with an otherworldly blue glow.

Incorporating wind, water, fire and earth, the artwork references both Chinese and Aboriginal motifs. In Chinese and Aboriginal culture the elements are said to have their own spirits. In the Chinese Zodiac humans are also created with characteristics of the elements. The half human, half spirit figures in Kimber Lane represent past, present and future ancestors. The themes of heaven and earth, the elements and respect for ancestors past and present are universal.

The artist juxtaposes heaven and earth in this artwork. I’ve attempted a similar visual JUXTAPOSITION in these 2 candid shots.

Someone to watch over me 2

More images from this area later…

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Someone to watch over me

Image

73 thoughts on “Someone to watch over me

  1. to remain in him says:

    The art for young and old. Doesn’t matter what your cultural background is. Cute contrast for high walls. You are back 🙂

  2. I adore the fact that i can enjoy the sights of far away cities because of your photos. Brings a smile to my face to be a witness of that. And what great pictures those are….

  3. See how much you’ve been missed? 🙂 I’ve been there roughly a thousand times, and I’ve never looked up. Chic always told me to look up to find my surroundings as if in a different place; and this photo tells me how right he was. (Always.) WELCOME BACK, LD!!!

  4. Liz says:

    Welcome back.
    I love the photo with the ladies and full colour…ha ha I tend to gravitate towards women and bright colours. Black and white is also cool!

  5. I love the little otherworldly cherubs hovering watchfully over the unobservant passers by…..great shots, especially the b&w as many have already said!
    I didn’t know Sydney had old brick buildings like this.

  6. I totally prefer the b&w picture. The juxtaposition heaven and earth, old and young (the boy in the bckground ) and the sign – “One Way”. Is it so simple, just to follow the signs or maybe will should rebel a little bit? 🙂

  7. kuujinbo says:

    Nice to have you back. 🙂 And of course, nice shot with the new camera – how do you like the Zeiss 35mm?

    Looking forward to seeing some rangefinder shots too after such a long absence.

    • Thank you. Very happy. It performs very well. I suspect native Sony Zeiss will be the best fit for this camera, as Leica glass is a bit variable at the moment, from the sources I check. Of course, Zeiss are now developing the Otus range which will be drool worthy, but heavy in hand and etra heavy on the wallet. 🙂

      • kuujinbo says:

        I’ve read/heard that the Zeiss 55/f1.8 is even better than the 35/f2.8. I think that one of those lens benchmark web sites even ranked it near your 50 lux resolution-wise, although I don’t care about those kind of tests. In fact, even though M lenses aren’t as good as native lenses (corners) on either Sony, I’m sticking with them for a while. If I do buy any native lenses it will be down the road after their lineup, as well as Zeiss and others, have something more complete.

  8. Good to see you back.

    I know that area well – after a trip to the Powerhouse, we always take our son for yum cha nearby.

    A friend told me that the reason the cherubs light up at night was to stop people shooting up in the alleyway!

  9. I like seeing your shots in colour, but the b&w here is still my preferred choice. I would like to be a good little lamb too 🙂 Is 2014 a good year for the Wood Dragon? I am the Fire Horse.

  10. Pingback: Spirits in the sky | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  11. Pingback: Oh, blue angel don’t you cry | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

