the look of love

Sydney January 2014 (2 images)

The look of love
Is in your eyes
A look your smile can’t disguise

“The Look of Love” (1967) is a song composed by Burt Bacharach and Hal David and sung originally by Dusty Springfield. In 2008, the song was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

The Royal Botanic Gardens in Sydney displays many OBJECTs of art amongst its various gardens. One of these is a replica of the Venus Italica, a sculpture by Antonio Canova (1757-1822), commissioned as a replacement for the famous Medici Venus which had been seized by Napoleon in 1802 and removed to the Louvre (It was eventually returned). It depicts Venus, the Roman Goddess of Love, looking longfully to her left into the distance. It’s the quintessential “look of love”.

I quite like the way this statue has been positioned in the gardens, looking out to Sydney Harbour. Being a classical work, I also had to process this into black and white. Do you have a particular preference?

the look of love-2

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

The look of love

Image

84 thoughts on “The look of love

  1. In this instance I feel that the color version works best – because the statue and to some extent the shrub behind her are monochromatic – while off in the distance (and out of focus) is color – perhaps suggesting the illusion that the love she is looking for will add color to her life.

  2. Both beautiful shots Lignum! Venus’ detail in the color version appears to me to be so much softer than in the b&w but both with that “look of love” which appears to be tip-toeing through the park!

  3. to remain in him says:

    One painter once said that woman is greatest subject for art. But this Venus is used as a beautiful way to tell a story of heart. Love is so fragile and uncertain, but yet has a most powerful power of life.

  4. Really lovely photos! I really like both but if I had to choose I would opt for the color one… The sculpture is such a strong element that it stands out and catches your eye first in both… and in the color one you then move on to the grass and the bay. In the b&w it is hard to understand what’s there. So, I think color one is more interesting.

  5. It’s difficult to pick between the two, but I do like the atmosphere of the B&W shot. Alsoโ€ฆthanks for taking me down memory lane with “The Look of Love,” I haven’t heard that song in AGES!!

  6. Liz says:

    I know the grass looks green and lush so I’m tempted to say coloured, but I love the way the black and white blends the background. I prefer the black and white. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I’ve been back and for on the two images trying to decide! I like them both but prefer the colour one as Venus seems to carry more wistfulness and vulnerability against the green.

  8. JL Kenney says:

    Color for me! ๐Ÿ™‚
    This reminds me of a shot I have of my daughter. She is eating a sandwich and looking back like that at the person behind her (a coworker)…a look of defensive eating, haha. Growing up with 3 brothers will do that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Another beautiful and stunning post from you, Draco! The details in B&W is so much more vivid but I like the mood and emotions stirred from the colour. The statue seemed out of place in a modern background at first but the more I looked at it, the more I appreciate that love and the story of love escapes no time (if you get what I mean). I can feel her longing. And now I cannot get the song out of my mind. ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Alexandra says:

    as much as I love color, I’d prefer the bw version here…thus the image can be consigned to any period in time, the subject you’ve captured has this eternity feel about it… very peaceful mood too… it’s beautiful piece of art, which I see for the first time thanks to you… thank you!! will be checking out the song now… :))

  11. I like the color version better since its a bit more softer than the monochrome one. Since its a soft subject (look of love), to my eye, the colored one feels a bit more appealing

    Regards
    Vijay

  12. It would be the black and white one for me. Probably that stereotypical thinking again. She looks aged, not in what she’s made of or deterioration, but association with the past and Roman gods. She looks like she’s grasping all the wrong bits of material there – very innocently of course! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

