Sydney 2013 (3 photos)

Guess who’s back
Back again

Who?
…Who?…

Draco’s back

Really?
…Now? Really?…

Tell a friend

I'll think about it
…Let me think about that…

Guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back…

(Lyrics adapted from Without Me by Eminem)

Well it’s not really a case of who’s back but more so, what’s back?

“Meine Liebe, Meine Rose”*** has finally returned to me after many many many months away. If you’ve been following, you may have noticed there have been no Leica images taken since August 2013. Well, the M9’s back after an overhaul which means I can start shooting my candids again.

I’m a bit out of practice, but hopefully I’ll find my range again soon. All photos above taken with a 50mm manual focus lens.

*** an obscure reference to an episode of The Avengers (in case you were wondering).

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Guess who’s back

Image

75 thoughts on “Guess who’s back

  1. Welcome back to the M9! 🙂 I’m sure you’ve missed it!
    Nothing worse than a favourite camera being out of commission for a while. Looking forward to some new candid images from you!

  2. So happy you are now back in your stride with taking to the streets! Have been about your thoughts on the Sony A7r but this is not the time nor place now that you have been re-united with your loved Leica!

      • Fuji just keeps rolling them out don’t they! Only days ago I played at B&H with the Sony and the Fuji X-E2 but as the man behind the counter intoned about the Sony, in a deep rich voice, “full-frame . . . ” I have a feeling I might be fretting on this one forever!

        • Forever? Let me repeat, “full frame” and compact. 🙂 That’s what got me, and the liaison with Zeiss. If you have a favourite lens, ask to try it out with adaptor on the camera first.

        • Thank you Lignum for your straight talking! 🙂 I suspect I have “fear of commitment” issues when it comes to cameras – for so long I wanted the Fuji x100s but held back because of the fixed lens, then the X-E2 came along followed by the Sony A7r which is everything I wanted i.e. a more affordable compact 5D Mark !!! In the meantime, while I am saving up my pennies, I wander what is going to come along next?

  3. Yeah, I was. I was thinking “GERMAN? – what’s with LD suddenly?” [grin] I remember Steed and his ladies.
    Great to see the candids back – nothing quite like ’em.

  4. Congratulations!!!!
    “Hit the road, Jack//
    You are back on your feet again”…
    Now you are not alone any more!!! I understand you…I need to take my camera everywhere!!! 🙂

  5. I just love your candid shots, so that’s really great news! I agree with the above, cameras really do become great friends of ours and it is pretty hard to be without one for a longer while. What a brilliant post, you are so good at combining things in such a great way to tell a story. That’s really admirable. 🙂 I really enjoyed it, beautiful photos!

    • Thank you Elina. The photos tell a story by themselves. A nice title or song just helps it along. 🙂
      It has been a long time but I’m happy to have it back now. Have a great day. 🙂

  6. Alexandra says:

    I’m happy we’ll be seeing some more of your brilliant street candid shots… I’ll be repeating myself, but you are doing amazing job with a manual focus lens…
    I’m currently street-blind:)) hope will draw some inspiration from you…
    “meine liebe, meine rose”…lol:)))) you seem really happy:)))

  7. LB says:

    Congratulations on getting your camera back!
    I look forward to the day when my camera will seem like an old friend and not a new boyfriend that I’m trying to figure out 🙂

  8. Pingback: The facial rejuvenation clinic | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

