Sydney 2013-2014 (5 photos)

The Leopard of Sydney 2

I am … right in front of you.
But you don’t see me.

.

A momentary crossing of paths

I am … looking right at you.
But you look straight past me.

.

Incognito

I am … walking towards you.
But I am just a figment of your imagination.

.

patience is a virtue

I am … searching for the essential moment.
But you pray it is not of you.

.

I hide in the light

I am … hiding in the light.
I am … revealed in the shadows.
I am … the “Ghost who Walks”.
They call me Lignum Draco.

Over at the wordpress weekly photo challenge, the topic is the Selfie . Not what I would normally participate in and I did have a different post lined up, but whilst out shooting on Sunday evening, I couldn’t help but see my reflection in this memorial. And so my plans changed. I thought up this post during my lunch break. Please forgive my momentary photographic and writing indulgence.

Photo 1: New photo of The Leopard of Sydney, Part 2. Perhaps you remember her from an earlier post, Maneater. Look out for Part 3 later.

Photo 2: Taken from A previous post

Photo 3: New photo Sydney June 2013

Photo 4: Taken from A previous post

Photo 5: New photo Sydney January 2014. I think I found my mojo again. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

I am …

Image

89 thoughts on “I am …

  1. Liz says:

    I love the photo of the old man, he’s deep in thought, perhaps reflecting about how great his life has been? perhaps reminiscing about his good old days in school or a loved one? Who knows? he does look content, for sure! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Alexandra says:

    I love the first four images!!! you are absolutely right, I think the photos we take are really a reflection of who we are… in this sense, I think, these are really a great selfie…:)) I’m still trying to interpret the last one though:))

  3. Hmph. *I* can’t see you in the memorial! – which is as you’d want it, being an anonymous kind of bloke, LD. The old girl with the poisonous mouth looks like she teaches piano to suffering children. Is the monorail still up in the city? Oh, June .. sorry … I think you might’ve found it, too, that mojo … But then, I didn’t know you’d lost it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Just enough form but not too much detail in that reflection. Exactly how a ghost should be. ๐Ÿ™‚

      She does look like she should be a piano teacher, doesn’t she? Thank you kindly M. R., as always.

      • Seriously!!!! They are SO good…!!!! I wonder how it is posible they do not realize you are just there in front of them!!!
        Love the old lady…Piano teacher o may be ballet teacher…A tough teacher anyway!!!
        The old man is great…I remember him…
        I see your shadow on the last one! .) ๐Ÿ™‚
        BTW: the words are great…:) ๐Ÿ™‚ I bet everytime you get a great cath you grin!!!

        • Thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚
          People are often too busy these days, or in their own world. I think that’s why they don’t notice me. And if someone is looking at me, I probably won’t take their picture. ๐Ÿ™‚
          I take my pictures whilst walking and never review the images until I get home. I usually just hope I got a good picture when I see something interesting. If I can, I will walk past a second time to give it a second try, just to be safe.
          Have a great day.

  4. That’s a great and original selfie. ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoyed other photos too. I especially like the one with the older man, I remember it from your post some time ago. It’s cool how in your photos it’s like time freezes for a moment.

  5. It is funny how the same pictures can be completely different when assigned with variant tone and mood. Your captions did it! Nice to see you got your range back with the new photos, too. You Are Lignum Draco! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Every time I go out at lunch, I wonder if the Ghost who Walks is lurking in the shadows, camera poised to capture more unsuspecting victims. I saw a man a few days ago outside Haigh’s, waving a camera, but unless you have adopted a cunning tourist disguise I don’t think it was you. Waiting for the light to change at George & King outside Coles a few minutes ago, I scanned the crowds; then I see this post while eating my lunch. Definitely gotta get that big hat and dark sunnies … Interesting pic of Waverley Cemetery, btw. You make it seem quite barren and almost sinister.

  7. You have definitely found your mojo :D. The graveyard reflection shot is not what any of us would have expected (I think) and that makes it priceless. I LOVE IT. It shows your eccentricity and your sense of humour. How could I resist it ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. kuujinbo says:

    Still marvel at how you capture these types of shots without being noticed. Understand the technique, just not how/why people are so in their own world. The camera isn’t *that* small. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. I like the one with the woman sitting on the seat listening to her music. That looks so real, I feel like I’m on the seat with her! ๐Ÿ™‚ And the cemetery – I noticed your selfie, very good – probably the best kind of selfie! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The aged sepia would go well with that, and perhaps you could pass your selfie off as a ghost! ๐Ÿ˜€

    By the way, new name – blue face – but same Suzy!

  10. I think this is beautiful. Sometimes I feel like people don’t notice me, or ignore me, or don’t listen or look at me. It’s like I’m invisible, or a “ghost” per se. And your pictures are absolutely beautiful.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

