PromenadeSchool’s out

Sydney July 2013 (5 photos)

prom·e·nade (noun)
1. a stroll or walk, especially in a public place, as for pleasure or display.
2. an area used for such walking.
3. a formal dance.

Doctors recommend regular exercise, including walking, for a healthy lifestyle. So I often like to take the camera along as well, just in case. On this particular day, I was walking along the promenade (esplanade) of a beach on a winter’s mid-late afternoon. There seemed to be quite a variety of people around, which was good for me.

I saw this man walking his dog, and decided I would try to catch up to him. You can see the dog on the extreme left of the above photo. Along the way I came across a group of kids after school. You can see 2 women in the background. 6 seconds later…

Promenade-2Promenade

Almost out of reflex, I took a photo of the 2 women out for a walk. See the dog on the left again? There’s now a man in a suit behind the 2 women. 9 seconds later…

Promenade-3Overdressed

I guess there must have been a function at the clubhouse. After all, a suit is not typical attire for the beach. 41 seconds later…

Promenade-4Walking the dog

Finally I caught up to this man and his dog from the earlier photos. Strangely, he hardly ever moved his right arm the entire time I saw him walking his dog. In the background, there’s a family on the beach to the right of the man. 29 seconds later…

Promenade-5Afternoon at the beach

Finally, I stopped, changed my focus point and took this one. A walk and some photography; a fruitful afternoon. I was listening to a song on my iPod, I seem to recall it might have been Meatloaf:

prom·e·nade (noun)
1. a stroll or walk, especially in a public place, as for pleasure or display.
2. an area used for such walking.
3. a formal dance.

… 2 out 3 ain’t bad. 🙂

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Promenade

Image

63 thoughts on “Promenade

  1. A cool photographer has to have a keen observation like you do. I especially like the first one, you have captured their expressions. Thank you for sharing your enjoyable walk, Dragon 🙂

  2. Lovely photos as usual. I call it smartly dressed. I love smartly dressed men…I always turn to look. Did you mean winter (the weather?) what a beautiful winter. Girl in hot pants…?? Thanks for sharing.

  3. This was lovely 🙂 You really know your b&w stuff. I have a slight doubt about these takes .. I can’t decide if it is cold or warm there; I can see people dressed in winter clothes and kids in shorts. What are the temperatures in July?

    • I just checked historical data for that day. Maximum 20C. Minimum 8C. So around that time, probably around 14C
      When do teenagers ever dress appropriately? At least the girl is wearing a (thin) jumper. 🙂
      Thanks Paula.

  4. I thought you were in L.A. at first, but then read Sydney, a city I look forward to visiting someday…..soon! Until then I’ll have to enjoy the promenades on the west coast. Beautiful shots.

  5. brilliant idea to build a story around your walk, the shots are set only some minutes apart from each other, right? soooo clever 🙂 love taking walks with you… 🙂

  6. LB says:

    The photo of the kids … I can not help but wonder what they are looking at. Someone performing a stunt of some sort maybe? and before you even mentioned the right arm on the dog walking man, I noticed it … some sort of injury possibly?
    Your images do make me ponder what is happening outside the image. Excellent!

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

