eye in the sky 3
“I am the eye in the sky”

Sydney August 2013 (3 images)

I am the eye in the sky
Looking at you
I can read your mind
I am the maker of rules
Dealing with fools
I can cheat you blind
And I don’t need to see any more
To know that
I can read your mind, I can read your mind

… “Eye in the Sky” is a 1982 song by The Alan Parsons Project from the album Eye in the Sky.

eye in the sky 2
“Far above the maddening crowd”

These three photos were taken on and near the South Pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Actually, the middle photo is a crop of the last photo, and just shows that on occasions, I do miss not having a zoom lens as my main lens. But with modern day camera megapixels, maybe I can do without one.

In this set, the main subject is the bridge climbers. If you look closely enough at any modern photos of the Sydney Harbour Bridge you will usually see them somewhere on the bridge. Bridge Climb is now the number 1 attraction/adventure that tourists want to experience when in Sydney. Apparently, there have been over 4000 marriage proposals made at the summit of the bridge so far. There is even a dedicated wedding climb if you want to get married or renew your vows up there. Unfortunately for photographers, you can’t take a camera up there, or anything else that could plummet out of your hands like a missile onto the deck below, which is why I haven’t done it yet ๐Ÿ™‚ .

The view from the top of the South Pylon is nearly as impressive and a lot “safer” for those who might baulk at climbing the bridge. Looking at these photos, I didn’t realise there was so much rust on the bridge. Hmmm.
And in case you’re wondering, the climb involves 1002 steps.

eye in the sky 1
“Traffic”

This is Part 3 of my South Pylon trilogy of posts. If you missed them, the other 2 parts are:

Part 1: The Bridge ***Finalist in the Digital Lightroom competition.

Part 2: All along the watch tower

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

I am the eye in the sky

Image

95 thoughts on “I am the eye in the sky

  1. hi woody dragon,
    nice photos and song.
    have not had the opportunity to visit sydney yet, when i do this bridge will definitely be on my to visit list although i don’t think i will make the climb as i am afraid of heights!
    what a massive and piece of bridge engineering.
    regards,
    kap

    • I wonder why they don’t treat the larger areas of rust as soon as they notice it, given that it is such a major tourist attraction. Not a good look for the city if the bridge were to fall down for lack of maintenance. There’s also, a tunnel under the harbour. I get drops of water on my windscreen whenever I go through it. I’m hoping its condensation from pipes above, but there’s always that small niggling thought in the back of the mind. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 1002 steps one way or two? My legs would give way going down the steps. I would never climb so this is definitely awesome seeing through your lens! Thanks for sharing these spectacular photos ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Ah, LD, you make me so proud of my city โ€“ and yet it isn’t really mine, as I’ve told you … Still, I reckon that when you’ve lived somewhere for longer than you lived in your home town, you’re allowed to claim it. And I claim Sydney, with all my heart.
    Thank you for the super, SUPER images you post of it!

  4. That looks so scary… I guess I am scared of heights. Reminds me of going to the top of Eiffel Tower and feeling the metal structure moving a bit in the wind… so spooky. You’ve captured great photos Draco and I really enjoyed hearing about this. ๐Ÿ™‚ Did I understand correctly you’ve not climbed it yet?

    • Thank you. I’m thinking about it, but baulking. Maybe one day.

      From wikipedia: BridgeClimbโ€™s most frequent climber is 85-year-old Lloyd Poulton, who had done the climb 50 times as at August 2012.

  5. That camera really does take astonishing photos. I get ‘camera envy’ with most of your pics. My photo of the Angel Place bird cages is nothing like as crisp as yours — and I know that if I do venture to the South Pylon the results won’t match these. But I may have to go, regardless. These are stunning.

  6. Love the photos. Can definitely spot the climbers up there! I’ve always wanted to climb the Harbour Bridge. Been to Sydney a few times but never attempted it…too expensive ๐Ÿ™‚ Someday.

      • Oh yes, I forgot about booking ahead of time. I hear 2-3 months in advance is advised. I’m just a $200 return flight away. Then there’s $300+ for the climb and maybe $5 for food. Oh dear, it all adds up for me…at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. JL Kenney says:

    I’ll be honest…I wouldn’t do it because it’s so fricken high. I’m a scaredy cat ๐Ÿ˜‰

    But what a great structure!

  8. That is one of my all time favourite songs. I have it playing in one of my posts ๐Ÿ˜€ These photos are beyond cool. I wonder where you were standing to be able to take them. Far too many steps for me to go the top plus a vertigo …. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. it’s a stunning location for photography!!! great images, I love the sense of scale, the climbers look tiny ๐Ÿ™‚ do people really propose up there? the climb must be as tiresome as a marriage… lol ๐Ÿ™‚

        • I see. You’re a teaser. And if he did manage to say yes, at least you could run down and he would be too tired to chase after you. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Thanks for the link. I’m surprised the prize from a Dubai company is only $1000, considering that if you are in the top 3, you are responsible for printing and safely sending the winning print to them. That would eat up almost half the prize money!

  10. I wonder why they didn’t just build 1000 steps why did they have to make it “and two steps?” very interesting indeed. I would love to climb a thousand and two steps going at 50 steps every minute (I need to take a breath) that would take me twenty minutes. Does it take twenty minutes? what is the shortest time possible??? or what is the climbing record? Thanks for sharing. Have a great week!

    • The standard climb takes 3 1/2 hours, which probably includes the time to come down. I believe there are regular stops to rest and admire the view, after all it is quite costly so you want your money’s worth. Climbs occur at dawn, during the day, sunset and night.
      There is an express climb which takes 2 1/4 hours. There’s never been a race to the top and you can’t climb it independently, so I don’t know if anyone has done it faster.
      Thanks for the questions. Have a great day.

  11. Pingback: B&W Sunday: The Big O Party | Lost in Translation

  12. Whoa! Looks like a walking roller coaster….kind of scary. I would stand below and be content to just look up and watch. For the most part, I like to keep my feet on relatively solid ground!

  13. At 85 years of age like me natural the bridge would be a bit rusty.
    1932 was a hell yeay, although my birth in Belmore did not get a mention in the book.
    The thing is the bridge is still doing a great job and what a sight for pirotecnic displays.
    I rave on a bit but I have been on a pleasure cruse arround your blog and wanted to let you know that like old Swartsniger โ€œIโ€™ll be back.โ€

The Wood Dragon is listening...

