Oh, what big balloons you have

Oh, what big balloons you have!

Sydney March 2014 (3 images)

I was in the pedestrian mall when I noticed them. Then I saw the balloons. I had to get the shot and did so from a distance, which is different from my usual style of candid photography. This made the shot difficult due to the heavy passing and surrounding lunchtime pedestrian traffic. The writing on the balloons says “Icon” and “Forever in Style” and this is part of the current advertising slogan for a high end shopping centre. The signs are everywhere inside the centre as well.

Forever in style

Forever in style

Apparently in fashion terms, AW14 refers to Autumn/Winter 2014, so it seems that new seasonal collections are being advertised and sold now. Don’t you love it when abbreviations are so intuitive that you need to use google to work out what they mean? Or maybe I’m just not hip to the beat. Perhaps I’m doomed to be forever out of style.

Advert Model: Nicole Trunfio
Advert Photography: Nicole Bentley

A study in concentration

A study in concentration

Actually, the title of this post is not my preferred choice. To be honest, my original title was rather more obvious and succinct, but a quick check beforehand on google showed this would not have been a good idea and a rewrite was necessary. I suspect my traffic flow might have tripled with the originally planned title, but not in the way I would have wanted it to. Not to mention what those spam filters might have done to me.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Oh, what big balloons you have!

Image

67 thoughts on “Oh, what big balloons you have!

  1. Great shot of the b-b-balloons there πŸ˜‰ I’m quite surprised the two girls managed to hold them upright, high and straight. I thought those big balloons would be heavy and bend over. It’s funny how there aren’t many people in your shots. Not what I was expecting of a shopping mall that is in the midst of selling its latest fashion trends. Maybe it was a weekday.

    • It wasn’t a windy day and this would have helped.
      The inside shots were taken around midday on a weekday, just before the lunch crowds started. Once the crowds start, clear shots like these are harder to do. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I suppose all areas of life have their own jargon, but if it’s part of an ad, it should be understandable by those who see it.

      Apart from the traffic flow that may have resulted, the potential “searched for terms” in my stats box is not something I want to see. πŸ™‚

  2. to remain in him says:

    Nice photos. I like the third most. The consonance of photo poster on background and concentration of the girl on the first plan.

  3. Liz says:

    Frankly speaking I had no clue what AW14 meant until you said it, Ouch! It does sound cool and I must say Westfield is good at colour combo…the balloons match the building but I love the architecture most…the high windows and all those arches and the stairs…what a beautiful building. You really captured the architecture. Thanks for sharing!

    • Westfield centres are everywhere here. The first photo was taken outside Westfields in a pedestrian mall. Cheekily, the girls are advertising a shopping centre 1 block away in a restored heritage building. πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t care one jot about the balloons, or the pretty girls holding them, but I do adore those windows and the inside of the Queen Victoria Building. That third image makes me drool! What a floor! (I also like the juxtaposition of the girl with a camera and the advert behind her)
    Jude xx

  5. Oh, balls, LD ! [grin]
    You are not kind to that woman window-shopping inside the QVB, are you?! – but the juxtaposition is excellent in terms of today’s fashion industry. πŸ˜€

  6. I’m going to be a grown-up and comment on your art. (Actually, I see that your commentators have exercised remarkable restraint!) “Study in Concentration” is my fave here–nice connection between real woman and idealized one.

  7. great photos, Draco πŸ™‚ and great colors too πŸ™‚ the yellow building on the first one is gorgeous… love the juxtapositions going on in the second and third photos too… great slices of real life…
    um, my knowledge of English won’t let me quite understand the paragraph about the title… tried to figure it out from the other comments, but still no clue… will you rephrase it for me, pleeeze? πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much. I thought you might like the splash of red on the walls in the 3rd photo. I had to work for the 2nd photo. I stood there for 2 minutes waiting for the “right” person to come along. πŸ™‚

      I think your knowledge of English is exceptional, considering you use big words like juxtaposition. πŸ™‚ If not, I’ll tell you when we do our street photography walk one day.

      • of course I love the red in the third photo… thank you for posting the pix in color πŸ™‚

        I’ve a master’s degree in English and American studies, we have studied “big words” for 5 years… and no or little everyday language and slang, I have been working on those all by myself πŸ™‚ but I get the feeling the key here is in the balloons… lol πŸ™‚ silly me…:)

        if not, our to-do list for our photo walk someday is growing bigger πŸ˜€

        • You’re welcome. πŸ™‚
          And that’s very interesting. There can be a wide rift between academic language and everyday language and slang. In that case I will tell you, but allow me to say my original title in french, filles avec de grands ballons. The direct english translation can yield very unsavoury results in google. πŸ™‚
          Have a wonderful weekend.

    • Built in 1898. The building steadily deteriorated and in 1959 was threatened with demolition. In typical local government style, this was debated until the decision was made in 1971 to restore the building.
      And the weather, just another boring autumn day. πŸ™‚

  8. LB says:

    You’ve made me laugh this morning, and curious too, about that original title πŸ™‚
    The photos are great, too … that mall is so much more upscale that any I’ve been too. I’m afraid I am forever out of style, myself

    • LOL, you and I can be out of style together. πŸ™‚
      The term big balloons is innocent enough. But add a few words to it and google really goes R-rated with some of its image search results.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

