the big issue 2

So, what’s the big issue on the streets these days?

Sydney 2013 (4 images)

The Big Issue is a street newspaper/magazine published in several continents. It is written by professional journalists and was founded by John Bird and Gordon Roddick in September 1991 in the UK. It started in Australia in 1996 where it is produced fortnightly. It is sold on the streets by homeless, marginalised and disadvantaged people, who keep the profits from the magazines they sell. The vendors thus have employment and earn an income to give them a helping hand, and perhaps give them a chance to leave a life on the streets.

the big issue 1

The big issue? Why don’t we talk about it?

the big issue 4

I don’t think there are any easy answers

the big issue 6

The answer my friend, is blowing in the wind, the answer is blowing in the wind…

I must admit candid photography can be a bit hit and miss sometimes, but when you get a good shot… πŸ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The Big Issue on the streets

Image

89 thoughts on “The Big Issue on the streets

  1. It’s always a treat to visit your blog, Dragon! All are cool shots πŸ™‚ Like the expressions you captured. Happy Thursday πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Amy. There’s a lot of luck involved. I have shots that don’t work on their own, but put together they form a nice story. Have a great day ahead. πŸ™‚

  2. LD, I have no idea how many of your shots we never get to see; but those we do indicate something more than merely hit & miss ! You have to be the best street photog. in the blogosphere … or am I saying that only because you work in my much-loved city ? [grin]

  3. kuujinbo says:

    Nice story, and of course shots – especially like #2. Seattle has something similar called “Real Change”.

  4. you have an amazing eye and skill for composition for these street shots.. and I know how hard it is to compose right in the streets, where everything changes so fast… Quite a story there, the give and take in the first shot, the smile in the second one, the quiet discussion in the third shot and the argument (maybe?) in the fourth one… these are all your trademark captures of fleeting moments…

    and that’s such a great song you are referring to in the end πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    good morning πŸ™‚

    • Mostly when I’m out I just walk right at people and shoot. As you say, moments are so fleeting and what I think I’m shooting may not be what I get. But I file the shots away and one day, hope to be able to string them together in a meaningful way. That song reference may not have happened if I’d posted the shot in a different series. I remember taking that last one, but I think they were just talking. πŸ™‚

      Good morning to you, and have a great day ahead. White with one please… πŸ™‚

      • very interesting process of building stories…this shows great consistency and devotion… thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

        good morning πŸ™‚ white, no sugar is right next to my computer now… have a great day, Draco..

        ps. it’s funny with these time differences, this way I could tell you “good night” and “good morning” in under an hour last night… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. I always appreciate your music references, since my head is full of them, but moreso, I appreciate a BIG, HIGH-RES shot. I hate it when I go to a blog and see a little 200 x 300 pic that I can’t enlarge. Drives me nuts! I assume these pics were taken last year when it was cold?

    • Thanks. Yes, they’re from various dates last year, mostly winter. They’ve just been sitting on the hard drive waiting for a reason to be posted.

      That last song reference just seemed like a natural fit to the story. And I like big pictures with detail too. I’ve even printed a few and the detail on paper usually far exceeds what you’re seeing on screen.

  6. I haven’t seen an issue of the big issue in my country, but if I do, I will definitely support the cause. What a marvelous idea! Your photos and comments have made me smile. Terrific work as usual Draco. I hope your week is going on smoothly…

  7. I’m not a great fan of the Big Issue Magazine, I don’t mind people trying to sell it in the street, or that they are trying to get a better quality of life, but I’d rather give my money for free than read the magazine. I found it extremely dull reading. :/ Although having said that, I haven’t bought one for several years, so maybe it’s improved. Have you read it?

    • I bought some a few years ago, but I’m not sure if the style/form has changed recently. I understand your point, but it can be difficult deciding who to help out. Sadly, some of the people you see on the street may not be legitimate.

  8. It’s good. I like it. I usually don’t get results when I shoot candidly. As you say, very hit and miss … but there’s the odd one that’ll make you light up when you discover it.

    • Thank you Lisa. I’m always on the lookout for something to shoot. And sometimes I can string individual shots together like I’ve done here and it makes it worthwhile. πŸ™‚

  9. It seems to me that you have more hits than misses! I’ve always liked the Big Issue, it’s a great concept and vendors that I’ve spoken to are generally really positive and always ready for a chat.

    • Thanks, but you haven’t seen my trash bin. πŸ™‚

      Yes, I find they generally are keen to talk and are quite positive. I think they do get advice from the background organisation which helps them.

  10. Like others have already commented, I love these candid shots, and how your could capture the moments. We have Big Issue sellers in Japan too, and I personally feel it’s very important for their story to be told. You’ve motivated me to try candid photography πŸ™‚

    • Yes, it’s a problem in all countries. I wish you luck with the candid. You’ll have your share of misses, but the hits will be very rewarding. Have a great weekend.

  11. What great shots, great contrast for black and white. Loved how you capture the strands of the lady’s hair flying in the wind – it comes across as very sharp. And it’s very bold of you to photography people. I shy away from it as they people I’m taking photos of might catch me in the photography act :/

    I’ve never had a problem with those selling the Big Issue. Not too sure if it’s something I would want to read and hence buy, but some of the sellers can be quire entertaining πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, I was lucky to get hair in the focal zone, but practice makes perfect. πŸ™‚ If you get caught photographing it’s not the end of the world – just have a pre planned spiel.
      The magazine isn’t for everyone, but they have gainful employment and that’s always worthwhile.

  12. I love your posts because they are thought provoking and inspiring! I know I don’t often comment and for that I apologize. The reason is because I don’t always feel well enough to comment or I just don’t what to say. Anyway, thank you for another thought provoking post. I hope you have a great weekend. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks very much. It’s good to hear from you but I understand completely. For me, time or lack thereof is a major factor in my participation here. Have a great weekend too.

  13. Hi LD!!! I love all of them!!! If I had to choose one I would take the third one…It is absolutely great, specially when confronted with your imaginated dialogue…
    I believe you when you say you have a lot of shots that are not perfect….But you ALSO get the pecfect ones!!! And practice is everything!!! Wonderful job!!!! My congrats!!!!

  14. JL Kenney says:

    I envy you your ability to shoot like this. I just cannot…but the yellow coat and pink boots may have something to do with that πŸ˜‰

  15. I loved the 3rd photo “I don’t think there are any easy answers”. It really conveyed the message about the difficulties one feels (in whatever situation). Such emotions invoked by your sharp photos and captions. Love this post! Have a great Sunday Draco πŸ˜€

  16. LB says:

    I’m impressed with how well the shots of people actively talking turned out. Mine usually look awful (or at least I’ve caught the subjects at an awful time!)

  17. Pingback: Monochrome Madness Week 6 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

