superman 1

“Extra! Extra! Read all about it! Superman where are you now?”

Sydney 2013-2014 (3 images)

Superman where are you now?
When everything’s gone wrong somehow
The men of steel, the men of power
Are losing control by the hour

This is the time
This is the place
So we look for the future
But there’s not much love to go round
Tell me why, this is a land of confusion

“Land of Confusion” is a song by Genesis from their 1986 album Invisible Touch. The song’s video featured puppets from the 1980s UK sketch show Spitting Image.

superman 2

“Where’s my private jet? Superman! Where are you now???”

superman 3

“Sometimes even superheroes need to be rescued”

I’m more than a bird
I’m more than a plane
I’m more than some pretty face beside a train
It’s not easy to be me

“Superman (It’s Not Easy)” is a song by Five for Fighting (stage name of American singer-songwriter John Ondrasik). It was released in April 2001 as the second single from his album America Town.

Footnotes:

Photo 1 – Sydney June 2013 – Selective colorisation is not a technique I use often but in this case I thought it added emphasis to the point of focus. I shot this one very close at about f2. I was happy to achieve the selective focus on the magazine cover. Sometimes it pays off to just have a go.

Photo 2 – Sydney February 2014 – I always have the camera ready. Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Photo 3 – Sydney February 2014 – This shot was taken inside a shopping centre with bright light on one side and little light and contrast on the subject to distinguish him from the background. Very unfavourable lighting conditions. I shot this at iso 800. I think the selective colorisation helps to highlight the subject who might otherwise have been lost in the dark part of the photo. Over at the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge, the topic is letters . Does Superman’s red S count? Or am I in a land of confusion?

Judging from a few of the emails I received during my break, maybe I should have entitled this post, lignumdraco where are you now? Just call me Clark Kent. It’s not easy to be me. πŸ˜‰

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Superman where are you now?

Image

76 thoughts on “Superman where are you now?

  1. As per usual, Clark Kent, I enjoyed this post. I love that Five For Fighting Song, so tempted to warble it out now in the middle of the night. That was a very lucky first shot. You went for it, so you deserved it, Superman. Hope you’re doing well πŸ™‚

  2. Dear Clark….I am happy you came back…I only hope you will be able to find a phone box to change yourself quickly enough!!!
    PD: please…Tell LD I love his pics…Specially the second one….I have lost my private jet as well….
    Glad you are back!!!! πŸ™‚

    • Ah yes, no more phone booths. They’re making it hard for us superheroes these days. Fortunately I can do it on the run. πŸ™‚
      Thank you very much. πŸ™‚ Have a great day ahead.

  3. Emails,eh ? So you give out your email address to a select (large) number … I am deeply offended. Not. But I am happy to have you back, LD.

  4. These are some very nice captures. Image #1 is my favorite, although I wish there wasn’t the partial headshot of the man in the background. Next, the last image is good as well, although I would like to see it cropped closer to show the main emphasis on the mother and her child.

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to more of your weekly challenge images.

    • I agree about the first one. But I don’t use photoshop, so he stays in. πŸ™‚ Actually it was taken at a busy intersection at lunchtime. Because I shot up from the hip at close quarters, most of the crowd is missing. To have shot straight and include the crowd would have made me miss the magazine.

      Indeed I cropped the last one in a bit from the original already, but the detail to noise didn’t support a tighter crop. I was walking right towards them when I took this and would have liked to have shot closer, but being inside, she may well have heard the shutter. I was using a 50mm prime lens.

      Thanks for the comments. I appreciate it.

  5. I really like the selective coloring you have done here. I am thinking of applying a similar effect to a photo of robin eggs that I have. I think in this case, because the colors you have used are such strong ones, the images just really stand out.

  6. What a great post for your return Draco/Clark Kent! πŸ™‚ Fantastic captures, and what a great and fun story! There is a time and place for selective color and it sure is perfect here. I really like all three photos, hard to choose a favorite. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much Elina. It’s only natural for superman to make a grand appearance. πŸ™‚
      I was happy with the way for selective colour worked here. Have a wonderful day ahead.

  7. Great pics… but it’s no1 that stands out to me… it’s a cruel and bitter-sweet image. Great impact – amazing pic. I hope the Big Issue seller finds his superman… or even better, becomes his own superman.

  8. These pictures put a smile on my face πŸ™‚ Yeah, Superman! Where are you now???” Great candid photos as a trilogy and perfect match with the Weekly Photo Challenge and the text.

    • That does work well. Actually, photo 2 is what made me choose the song, as it was originally going to be a stand alone photo post. Then from the song, I remembered I had photo 1 and then photo 3 topped it off.

  9. extra, extra, you are back πŸ™‚ I really missed you……….

    honestly, I’m not a huge fan of selective coloring… but it works great here… LOVE the second shot!! inch perfect composition… and very dynamic too… !!! were you also walking against them? it’s unbelievable you can take this perfect shot while moving too…

    • Thank you very much, it’s mutual. πŸ™‚

      All 3 were taken whilst I was walking, and from the hip. Photo 3 was taken twice. I realised the first attempt was blurry, so I walked around in a circle and came by for a second shot at a different angle. πŸ™‚

      • gosh, sometimes, when I try to pick up good focus, I even stop breathing and I still can’t focus properly… and you are telling me you are walking around and just shooting from the hip… I’m totally in awe of your skill and talent!!!

        • Thank you but it’s just the way zone focussing works. And a little bit of blur or movement doesn’t detract from street photography, so it’s less noticed.

  10. tara cooney says:

    These are great! Think you’ve done a great job in photo 1 just getting the magazine in focus. I’m always amazed at how unfazed people seem by your photography! Favourite is photo 3, touch of colour for superman works well πŸ™‚

  11. So telling, the last image is my favorite: even Superman once sat on a mother’s lap… and Shakespeare once sat in a school bench… πŸ™‚ Cool sound track accompaniment πŸ™‚

  12. I love the Superman collection! Having the magazine in focus and the man’s face slightly unfocused works very well. And creating the picture with a tiny bit of colour on the Superman logo really makes it very striking! πŸ™‚

    Where’s my private jet? Strange wording on a t-shirt! At least it sounds unique – or is it some really famous quote I’ve not heard of?

    • Thank you very much Suzy. I was lucky to get that first shot as I did. πŸ™‚
      I see so many strange things on t-shirts these days. You can even print your own. I’ll leave the answer at that, because I have no idea what it means. πŸ™‚

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

