a young man's fancy 1

“Two’s company”

Sydney 2013 (2 photos)

In the Spring a fuller crimson comes upon the robin’s breast;
In the Spring the wanton lapwing gets himself another crest;

In the Spring a livelier iris changes on the burnish’d dove;
In the Spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love.

from “Locksley Hall”, a poem written by Lord Alfred Tennyson in 1835 and published in his 1842 volume of Poems. According to Tennyson, the poem represents “young life, its good side, its deficiencies, and its yearnings”. Tennyson’s son Hallam recalled that his father said the poem was inspired by Sir William Jones’ prose translation of the Arabic Mu’allaqat.

a young man's fancy 2

“Three’s a crowd”

In street photography, I find that people who are oblivious to the world around them (for whatever reason) make excellent subjects. Both because they will be completely spontaneous and because you can get close and not be noticed. For anyone with good eyesight, there may be a rare sighting of “the dragon” in this girl’s sunglasses. I need to watch out for that. πŸ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

In the Spring, a young man’s fancy…

Image

72 thoughts on “In the Spring, a young man’s fancy…

  1. Ah, another close-up shot of people, Dragon. I always, always wonder how you get away with people not noticing you. Maybe as you suggested, they are that absorbed in their own little world, a happy or a sad one. Or maybe…it’s you. Yes, you – every time you hold up that magical camera of yours, it makes you disappear *poof* πŸ™‚

  2. I forever marvel that you can do your street work without SOMEONE raising an objection…or a baseball bat. As always, your capture feels fresh and unplanned…though I know it takes much work and patience to achieve that result.

  3. Beautiful capture accompany the eloquent poem! Excellent, Dragon.
    Some of us definitely need to watch out for Dragon πŸ™‚

  4. Beautiful pictures and the cropped one tell an other story that the not one πŸ˜‰
    And you are very beautiful on this picture πŸ˜‰
    Have a nice day Draco

  5. Your spring doesn’t look very warm looking at the clothes they are wearing! And I love some of the comments you get – most amusing πŸ™‚

  6. couples freshly in love always stand so close to one another πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ lovely intimate mood here… and what a classic lovers location – by a fountain πŸ™‚ your talent for these candid shots is indeed exceptional, Draco…

    what has intrigued me most about this shot, however, is the reflection in her sanglasses πŸ˜€ tomorrow I’m getting a magnifying glass to check it out… you are a mysterious man…

    the poem is very beautiful too, an elegant match to the shot πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much Alex. They look so natural and engrossed in one another, and yet it could almost have been staged – yes, it’s a very classic scene. Thankfully I know a few poetic lines that come in handy at times. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I like to stay out of the limelight. I get better shots that way. Hoping you have a wonderful friday and weekend ahead with plenty of good coffee. πŸ™‚

      • have you seen the latest movie about Vivien Maier “Finding Vivien Maier”… I haven’t yet, but it’s on my top 3 list of movies to watch right now… she was such a brilliant street photographer and very, very mysterious… πŸ™‚ just sayin’… πŸ™‚

        I hope you save the best verse for our photo walk one day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Saturday is going to be a working day for me, so I’ll definitely need good coffee πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful and relaxing weekend, Draco… πŸ™‚

        • No I haven’t seen it but I’ve heard about it. Mysterious? In a good way I hope. πŸ™‚
          Definitely I have the best verses in reserve for our walk one day. Thank you very much Alex. πŸ™‚

  7. These are wonderful, Lignum!
    I too find it so much better when your subjects are oblivious to your camera. For me, the images seem so much more “real.”

  8. And yet, you know, LD … she appears to me to be not as young as you think. In fact, my guess would be her mid-30s. But what would I know …?!

  9. I didn’t know that the line about fancy turning to love was from a poem. Far be it for me to diss Tennyson, but I stumbled over this line: “In the Spring a livelier iris changes on the burnish’d dove”. Pity there wasn’t a burnish’d pigeon or two frolicking at the lovers’ feet. πŸ˜‰

  10. JL Kenney says:

    And I am drawn to the fountain (and water spray) behind them – I always enjoy the “rest of the story”. πŸ™‚
    (And alas, my eyes aren’t that good anymore!)

  11. kuujinbo says:

    Nice shot and timing of the third person leaving. We need a larger image to see the accidental selfie. πŸ˜‰

  12. There’s no season for love, but right – the springs makes your blood run faster. πŸ™‚ I prefer the cropped picture, great choice of a poem and of course a great shot. πŸ™‚

  13. LB says:

    I so enjoy your method of showing part of the picture so we view one emotion or thought and then you add the rest of the photo, and we see something different.
    Very nice!

  14. Absorbed in a world of their own – very nice shot! πŸ™‚ You obviously find a lot of people who just don’t notice you standing there with that camera, I find that amazing that people just don’t see you. Do you have some sort of special clothing that allows to blend into the background?! πŸ™‚

    I had a photographer with a ‘very long’ lens try to photograph me in a restaurant a few years ago. I have to say, he got a bit of a confrontational mouthful from me when I caught up with him later, (I’m not always nice and sweet!) my father had just died, and my ex boyfriend had been trying to hint at us getting back together – so I was in a very bad mood already, and also suspicious I was being followed by this man trying to collect evidence for my ex! I would have been less bothered if it was straightforward in the street, but I was inside in the middle of a restaurant eating a meal and he was outside in the street, quite a way off as well – I don’t miss much! πŸ˜‰ I just found it a little creepy, the manner in which he went about trying to take a photograph. But, like I said I was in a very bad mood, that had a lot more to do with my irritation – good job I’m not a celebrity! πŸ˜€ I was just wondering if you ever do get people notice you, and if they ever react really badly?

    • No, I just look like a part of the crowd. I don’t hide. There’s a demarcation between reportage style photography, and spying/voyeurism which I won’t cross. Several times I have aborted a shot when I thought they might have seen me coming. No-one has reacted badly to date.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

