high road 3

Olympus trip 35 + Ilford HP5 plus + adjustments in lightroom.

Sydney 2013 (2 images)

O ye’ll tak’ the high road
and Ah’ll tak’ the low road
And Ah’ll be in Scotlan’ afore ye
Fir me an’ my true love will ne’er meet again
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomon’.

“The Bonnie Banks o’ Loch Lomond”, is a well-known traditional Scottish song first published in 1841 in Vocal Melodies of Scotland. The original composer is unknown, as is definitive information on any traditional lyrics. This well known chorus, while not original, is included here as it is most familiar …according to Wikipedia. ***

These people are on the move. For once, I was standing still to take the shot. πŸ™‚

When I go out photographing the street, mostly I use my Leica but other cameras share in the limelight. I came across this location a while ago on a day when I was only carrying a film camera, my Olympus trip 35. I just took a casual shot, and when reviewing the image, I resolved to come back another day with my Sony A7R and try a different composition. That result is below. More definition with the digital Sony, but more character with film.

high road 1

Sydney March 2014

***Personally I have no idea what language that verse is in, so here’s an English translation πŸ™‚

Oh you’ll take the high road
and I’ll take the low road
And I’ll be in Scotland before ye
For me and my true love will never meet again
On the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond.

Film Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

You’ll take the high road and …

Image

56 thoughts on “You’ll take the high road and …

  1. to remain in him says:

    Nice to compare work with different cameras. I Always like your description to the photos it makes watching more interesting πŸ™‚

  2. YorkshireRascal says:

    I’ve never really had the confidence for street or candid shots so It’s always a pleasure to view those can pull off this photography

  3. Two very different shots aren’t they! The clarity of the second shot has everyone fixed at a point whereas the first one has a fine sense of hovering motion to it. You take beautiful shots Lignum, whatever the camera!

  4. I’m not sure what makes me look forward to your posts more: your photography or the accompanying texts… or both photos and text πŸ™‚

    it’s an interesting comparison between film and digital shots taken at the same location… the photos only come to show that it’s not the camera, but the man behind it πŸ™‚

    you develop the films yourself? πŸ™‚

  5. Great shot! The clarity of the second one is incredible. Love this song, very sad, yet so beautiful … Thank you so much, Dragon!

  6. I prefer the second image, much sharper and defined. And I am sure you are kiddin’ about the language – take your tongue out of your cheek now πŸ˜‰

  7. I’d take the high road, as it leads to a nice cafΓ©. Why is this circular building called ‘Australia Square’, LD ? πŸ˜‰

  8. I don’t know how you do it, the song comes to mind first or the shot first… but it’s so awesome! Your photo and the song fit perfectly and beautifully…

  9. Lovely street photos Draco, that looks like a great spot for photographing. Nice comparison of film and digital version. It is interesting how big difference there is. And you are right the film version has more character and digital again gives more detail. Hard to even say which I like more, maybe digital (might be my eye is just more used to it). I hadn’t heard the song… had to look it up in Youtube, it’s cool! πŸ™‚

    • I was able to stand where I was and not be seen. It was just a matter of waiting for the right combination of people to come along. πŸ™‚
      I still enjoy film photography, but the convenience and immediacy of digital is undeniable. Thank you very much Elina. πŸ™‚

  10. Quite a marked difference in those two images. It really shows how much technology has moved on in the sharpness of photography! I like the Olympus trip 35 too, even though not as crisp, it has a soft focus charm about it that is quite appealing! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, I see the difference between film and digital, kind of like the difference between a keyboard and a pen. Both get the job done, but in a different way/manner.

  11. That’s the Scottish English? that poor man in a black suit looks lonely in contrast to the couple that seem to be enjoying their walk. How interesting!

I'm away on holidays. Please leave your comment and I'll get back to you when I can...

