I still haven't found what I'm looking for

“I still haven’t found what I’m looking for” … U2

Sydney 2013-2014 (4 photos)

“If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away.”

Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862)

walking on sunshine

“Walking on sunshine” … Katrina and the Waves

When I’m out I often just shoot on reflex, because I shoot at a fixed distance and I can often (but not always) guess when someone is in the right range for my shot. I took all of these whilst walking towards these people. People on the move can make for interesting subjects, particularly when they’re stepping to the beat of their own music.

dirty deeds done dirt cheap

“Dirty deeds done dirt cheap” … AC/DC

Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

I'm too sexy
“I’m too sexy” … Right Said Fred

I’m a model you know what I mean
And I do my little turn on the catwalk
Yeah on the catwalk, on the catwalk, yeah
I do my little turn on the catwalk

… And I’m too sexy for this post. 😉

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Step to the music

Image

86 thoughts on “Step to the music

  1. The Road goes ever on and on
    Down from the door where it began.
    Now far ahead the Road has gone,
    And I must follow, if I can,
    Pursuing it with eager feet,
    Until it joins some larger way
    Where many paths and errands meet.
    And whither then? I cannot say.

  2. Perfect captioning for this post, Dragon. This does make you way too sexy for this post. Another great set of photos in BW. I’m guessing you’re a slow walker since you take shots as you walk towards people?

  3. Your candid shots are amazing! Do you use a viewfinder for these? I’d be a little nervous if either of those two blokes noticed me photographing them!

    • Mostly I use a 50mm or 35mm lens. I’m pretty familiar with the field of view of these lenses now, and get most of my shots walking by just holding the camera in front of me, without bringing the camera up to my eye. Thank you.

  4. It is great to walk with you on these streets. The last is very good, incredible expression on that womans face, and I guess you could see the same in her walking.

  5. My favorite are the first one ,because it represent a daily scene that woman not find what she wants in her bag and the last one, because I like the posture of this woman maybe she not so sure of her but she looks like a star walking to take her train or go to the airport with a lot of assurance.
    Have a nice day Draco 🙂

      • I am admirative of street photographer because I always ask me how you can shoot without being seen and to keep the natural expression of this people…. 🙂
        Have a nice week end too my dear 🙂

  6. it’s such a brilliant (and fun) post!!! love how you matched the shots to the songs…
    it’s true, we all follow our own rhythm, which sets us aside from the rest…

    can’t pick a favourite here, these all work together so fine…

    you didn’t find anyone following Pharrell Williams’ “Happy” rhythm? 😀 that’s probably because you are looking in the wrong hemisphere 😀

    have a wonderful day, Draco 🙂

  7. to remain in him says:

    Great series again, Lignum. Excellent taken. My favorite is the last one. She is caching attention indeed. Did she notice you? Looks very close…

  8. This isn’t the first clever thought I’ve heard from Thoreau. I like your honest photos though I am not attracted to all the subjects in them 😀 Seriously, I admire your work, Draco!

  9. kuujinbo says:

    Nice shots. I find it interesting that sometimes the subject in a (people) candid doesn’t recognize the camera, while one or more in the background / outer side(s) of the composition do. Like the person in third photo on the right side.

    • I suppose everyone observes things differently. Sone things you notice, and some things you don’t. 🙂 Several times, I’ve aborted a shot when I thought the subject had seen the camera.

  10. Those two buff men look like identical twins. They look so serious..and almost mean. The lady’s are sure listening to different music. They all have their own unique stature ..thanks for sharing!

  11. I’m tired from work today so I’m just passing by to say: great shots! 🙂 ok..the last one is my favorite and it is not because of the woman, it is because of the triangle woman – photograph – a watchful man in the background. There is a plenty of stories here and I like this 🙂

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

