vivid 2014 01

Sydney May 2014 (4 photos)

Overture, curtains, lights
This is it, the night of nights
No more rehearsing and nursing a part
We know every part by heart

Overture, curtains, lights
This is it, you’ll hit the heights
And oh what heights we’ll hit
On with the show this is it

“This Is It”, the theme for the Bugs Bunny Show, was written by Mack David and Jerry Livingston.

vivid 2014 02

The annual Vivid Festival of Sydney is currently on again. Over 18 nights from May 23 until June 9 2014, 3D light projections and light art sculptures illuminate various portions of the city, mostly around the harbour. This year, the number of installations has increased and now expanded onto the harbour itself to include boats. The crowds definitely seem more numerous this year too, perhaps due in part to the unseasonably warm autumn weather we’re having here.

vivid 2014 05

The light shows are coordinated with music and documenting the constantly changing scene can be difficult given the rapid split-second changes of light, particularly when there is a certain pattern you want to capture. Over the next few weeks and months I hope to sporadically post a few more of my better photos. But for now, it’s on with the show, this is it.

I think the Bugs Bunny opening theme is so iconic that when you hear it, you expect that Bugs is around somewhere. I guess these rabbits were certainly hoping so…

vivid 2014 03

I’ll be trying to fit in some more VIVID photography after work this week. I hope I can find the time to do my usual second post this week.

My previous VIVID Festival of Sydney photography:

VIVID 2012: Light the Night

VIVID 2013: Random Scenes of VIVIDness

VIVID 2013: Lights. Camera. Action!

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Random VIVIDness 2014 (1)

Image

98 thoughts on “Random VIVIDness 2014 (1)

  1. Spectacular shots. Well done, Dragon. And what a clear night it was when you took the photos. Not too sure if the photos would turn out the same had it been pouring. Hope work isn’t too bad for you. Busy work week for me this week, sigh. Have a good week ahead πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. It’s been warm and clear mostly the past week which is partly why crowds are significantly larger than previous years. But a little rain wouldn’t stop me. πŸ™‚

      Hope the week works out well for you. Have a great week too.

  2. Wow Lignum, this are great shots. So beautiful. And what a great idea to use the opera house as screen. I’m looking forward to see more. Keep going your great work, can’t wait to see your next post. Thanks so much for sharing.

      • Yea that’s a good idea for next years birthday. Sydney is always a great visit especially on events like this. Can’t wait to see your pictures of the firework at New Year’s Eve. I hope you are out with camera and tripod as well. Are you shooting with tripod in daylight as well or all handheld? I think often it would make the small difference but I use it only for video.

        • There are crowds, and there are CROWDS. I enjoy the new years eve fireworks but don’t photograph them. Barely room to stand sometimes, let alone have space for a tripod.

  3. Magnificent photos! The photos are perfectly matching to the opening of Bug Bunny :)) Fun and exciting light shows in a remarkable building..have a great week Draco!

    • Unfortunately I can only show you a small portion of the show, which happens on multiple buildings around the harbour, but the Opera House does have pride of place. Thank you for your very kind words. πŸ™‚

  4. the colors and clarity of these shots are outstanding, Draco!!! “vivid” suits your photography style very well too πŸ™‚ did you use a tripod?

    it’s so funny, I had to take my older son to the hairdresser’s today and they had a huge painting of the Sydney opera on their wall, in bright and vivid colors, what a coincidence… I thought of you πŸ™‚

    good morning πŸ™‚ thank you for your sweet Flickr message, which I was so happy to read today πŸ™‚ unfortunately, it’s not a lovely time off, I have to handle some personal issues I’m going through… don’t feel like taking any photos right now… but the storm is almost over and the sky is starting to clear for me… I may dust off my camera soon… πŸ™‚ I miss our conversations very much too, Draco…!! have a nice week ahead..

    • I like an occasional burst of colour. πŸ™‚ Definitely need a tripod for this show. I can only go to about iso 640 on my Leica before noise becomes extreme. A lot of people carry their tripod around for this. People with cameras and no tripod just look at those with tripods and wish they had one too. πŸ™‚

      Good morning. I’m enjoying my coffee again now. Sorry to hear the hassles you’re going through, but I hope it all works out well in the end. Hope the week ahead is better for you.

    • Thank you very much. The festival is getting bigger each year. It really is enjoyable being out doing the photography, although jostling with other photographers for prime tripod positions can be a bother. πŸ™‚

  5. These are wondermous. Wow. Tripod?
    (Sorry…but when you opened with the Bugs Bunny theme, I was primed and when you shared the giant bunnies…ummm…segued right into “Kill da Wabbit.” Mea culpa.)

    • Thanks. A tripod is a necessity. I kind of felt sorry for people with dslrs but no tripod – trying to rest their cameras on ledges or on benches or anything else they could find, trying to get a stable shot. You could see the despair in their eyes. I just kept shooting away. They probably looked at me and thought, “kill the dragon”. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly. Photographers of all shapes and sizes, everywhere you look. At least you don’t have to be nervous about carrying a camera around late at night.

  6. kuujinbo says:

    Another nice series from the annual event. IIRC last year it was a bit cool during the event, so glad it warm this year. πŸ™‚ Would love to attend something like this!

  7. Has a year gone by already? Time flies.

    The photos are wonderful. I can imagine the electrifying atmosphere there. Looking forward to see more from this series. Have a great day! πŸ™‚

    • Bugs is still around somewhere isn’t he? Nothing like the classics. Actually it’s how lots of kids used to first hear classical music – in Bugs Bunny cartoons. πŸ™‚

  8. Your photographs are excellent, especially given the fast paced changes of the show. I can only imagine how exciting your night must have been…everything Disney does is top notch. Did I read that you were taking photographs from a boat?? YOU ARE AMAZING!

  9. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (2) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  10. Wonderful pictures, and great light show! When I first looked at this I thought you’d added some special effects to your pictures. It’s amazing what they can do with these light shows! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, the light beams were quite difficult to photograph and to the naked eye were actually brighter. Sadly the camera doesn’t catch that. Yes, the shows are quite amazing, with a visual tribute to the architect Jorn Utzon this year.

  11. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (3) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  12. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (4) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  13. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (5) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  14. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (6) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  15. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (7) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  16. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (8) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  17. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 Finale | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

