background 3
Vivid 2014 40

Sydney May-June 2014 (9 photos, 1 video)

This is part 5 of my Vivid 2014 series and we now turn our backs on the Sydney Opera House.

We stay in Circular Quay, but literally, if we turn our backs on the Opera House, we see the Museum of Contemporary Arts. The original facade of the building again hosts its own show, this year entitled, Gamma World. Artist Jess Johnson teamed up with the Spinifex Group to take the audience on an abstract, emotional and playful journey of constant flux, based on her art.

Vivid 2014 41

Vivid 2014 43

Snakes alive!

Vivid 2014 44

Vivid 2014 45

Vivid 2014 46

As I mentioned before, the buildings surrounding the quay are lit up with lights and lasers. There’s colour everywhere you look.

Vivid 2014 47

Not many people know that there’s a dragon in the architecture of the MCA. You just need the right light to see him.

If you’re interested here’s a short 50 second video of part of the Gamma World show: Vivid Gamma World Show

OK, I showed a photo of them before, but as an extra bonus, here are some more of those popular wascally wabbits. πŸ™‚

Vivid 2014 48

Vivid 2014 49

My previous VIVID Festival of Sydney photography:

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (4)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (3)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (2)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (1)

VIVID 2013: Lights. Camera. Action!

VIVID 2013: Random Scenes of VIVIDness

VIVID 2012: Light the Night

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Random VIVIDness 2014 (5)

Image

93 thoughts on “Random VIVIDness 2014 (5)

  1. It’s so good that you are turning only the back to the Opera House and not to us Draco. Continue spoiling us with beautiful pictures from the Vivid 2014 show πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. If I had a separate blog for these photos and posted 2 a day, it would take me over a year to get to the end of this series. But there would be a lot of repetition so I just highlight a few here. πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you’re enjoying it and I hope I’m conveying a sense of the colour and activity, should you plan to come by.

  2. Stunning snake photos. The fifth photo reminds me a bit of the game PacMan. It would have been interesting to see a video-game theme light show for this event, but I don’t think it would have fit in with the theme.

    Ah, Dragon. We see you again. Not striking any pose like the last one. Thought you were massive but you’re a smaller dragon than I thought πŸ˜‰

    • Part of the show on the Opera House this year was from a video game, but I think frogger or space invaders would look good on this building too. πŸ™‚ Yes, depends on the artist.

      At the Opera House the light came from behind me on a slight upwards angle. Here, the light came behind me on a steeper downwards angle. Tricks of the eye – I may not really exist. πŸ™‚

  3. Lignum,

    I am running out of adjectives to describe your work. Wonderful images! It all must be a sensory overload experience! That sneaky dragon manages to avoid the media. Where’s a Paparazzi when you need one!? Love seeing this amazing city through the dragon’s eyes!

    C.

    • Dragons eat paparazzi for dinner, don’t you know. πŸ™‚
      It most definitely is a feast of colour for the eyes, and it’s great to see people just wandering about taking it all in. This year they even had people from Canon wandering around helping people (who needed help) on how to improve their photos.
      Thank you very much. πŸ™‚

    • Each night the show runs from 6pm to midnight. The crowds would have been enormous in the earlier part of the evening. These particular shots were taken after 11pm. πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for taking me on a tour…the snakes alive gave me the jitters, even though they look pretty. And the popular wascally rabbits? Oh boy I love that DVD, we’ve watched it hundreds of time and we don’ tire out. I don’t think cartoons were meant for children, they were meant for big children like me. The shots are great. Have a lovely week!

    • Lucky the snakes and rabbits were kept separate. πŸ™‚ The snakes and accompanying music were a bit dark and might have scared a few kids, but I guess it’s the style of that artist. Those classic looney tunes cartoons were fabulous. It’s how a lot of kids first learnt about classical music. πŸ™‚
      Thank you. Have a wonderful week ahead too.

  5. MARVELLOUS, LD ! That second frame, LD – the pink wavy things … just looking at your 2D shot, I still feel as if I’m seeing it in 3D ! And I loved the video – particularly when the ‘beak’ came down and swallered them two up ! [grin]
    I don’t need to go, because your shots give it all to me. I thank you very sincerely !

  6. Again some beautiful night pictures! I saw a show like that last week in a french town names Nancy, and I loved it (pictures will come … I don’t know when ;-))
    I like the rabbits with all the photographs .
    Have a nice evening Draco

    • The rabbits were popular. I might have some more. πŸ™‚

      It really is a nice way to add life to the night. These shows can be fascinating.

      Thanks Sophie. Hope you’re having a good day.

  7. Your pictures in this set are terrific, but I do like the sets from the Opera House best. (The actual light show images–the Opera House seemed more complex.)
    You are so brave, Wood Dragon…all that fire. (Risking it all for your art, right?:) )

      • I’ve so missed your exquisite talent and am still working on getting your blog to fall into my reader. I’m still working on it. I’ve been able to force several others into my reader and I’m not giving up. It’s easier for me to stay up with everyone when I can pick up messages in the reader. Now that I have you in ‘Delicious’ perhaps things will go better. You know how much I love your work. Sheri

        • Thank you Sheri, and I have had that reader problem too. There are several blogs I follow that no longer appear in my wordpress reader. I have a simple solution. On the reader page there is a column on the right and at the top is a link for “blogs I follow”. Click edit and find the appropriate blog. Add email notification to your options. You will get an email notification at your desired frequency, but the blog will now also reappear in your reader. I hope that helps.

  8. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (6) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  9. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (7) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  10. Stunning pictures!!β™₯ And what a brilliant and inventive way to display art! The video is excellent, and really brings that show to life, although having said that, your pictures do a very good job of that anyway! And was that you hiding in the silhouette? πŸ˜‰

  11. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (8) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  12. the silhouettes of the photograhers against the wabbits are just awesome…
    all these photos are mesmerizing, you know… so unique!! and I love the vid, the Sony again?

    I guess your silhouette against the purple wall will be all we will be seeing from you… still my favourite πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much. Those photographers just stopped and set up in front of me, so I took the photo – actually it was more interesting than the photo without them. πŸ™‚ Yes, I had the Sony for the video. The in camera video function does come in handy at times.

      I thought about buying one of the souvenir glowing rabbit ears that they were selling at the site before taking that photo. But the silhouette that would have created might have been a bit too weird. πŸ™‚

      So good to hear from you again, but your blog is still closed. Morning coffee hasn’t been the same for a while. I keep waiting to see your gravatar again. I hope you’re well Ignis.

      • a dragon with rabbit years… you must be the master of disguise lol πŸ˜€ the glowing ears sound like so much fun though, maybe next year?! πŸ™‚

        thank you for the thoughts, Lignum… I am well now and probably will be back soon…

        plus, I love it when you call me Ignis… noone else does… πŸ™‚

        have a wonderful weekend…

        • Good to hear Ignis. Did you enjoy Berlin?

          PS After my finale post next week, i’ll be taking a break, but I’ll keep my eye on your blog – I wouldn’t want to miss seeing it. πŸ™‚

        • oh, I loved Berlin, what an amazing town, so much history there, yet so young at the same time… it’s very different from where I live, I was totally Berlin-smitten πŸ™‚ you would love it too, it’s perfect for street photography, Berliners seem so cool and very dynamic!! I guess there are more bikers only in Amsterdam or in China πŸ™‚

          oh, btw, didn’t come across a China town, but was impressed with the number of Vietnamese restaurants with just as delicious and spicy food…

          no pictures from me this time though… but I should definitely go back with a camera, after all it’s 2 hours from Sofia by plane πŸ™‚ and there are so many things yet to discover there πŸ™‚

          PS oh, have a nice time off, Lignum, but I think I already miss you… I’m being selfish, but I hope your break is not as long as mine πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        • I’d love to go there one day, and I think I would need at least a month to really enjoy it. πŸ™‚ One day perhaps.

          You always know how to put a smile on my face with your replies. A late good morning to you. Enjoy your coffee. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        • good morning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

          you definitely need more time there… if you ever go there for a month, just let me know, I’ll come visit you πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 Finale | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

