Vivid 2014 56

Sydney May-June 2014 (9 images, 1 video)

This is part 6 of my Vivid 2014 series. We leave the museum and we move away from the harbour.

For the first time, this year the Vivid Festival of Sydney expanded to 2 extra (or should that be extra extra) sites away from the harbour. One being the University of Sydney, which I didn’t photograph. The other location being the Martin Place pedestrian mall in the middle of the city. Several light installations and 3D mapped projections were used to create a gallery of light. Here’s a sample:

Vivid 2014 55

The Urban Tree Project transformed the Harry Seidler designed CTA building into “a day in the life” of a forest tree, as you can see in this series of 3 images. Note how the MLC building in the background also has its own laser show.

Vivid 2014 54

For anyone interested, this 90 second video gives you a short glimpse of the action: The Urban Tree Project

Vivid 2014 58

e|MERGEnce used 3D projection to map a person’s face onto a giant head through live video capture. From what I could see most people had trouble getting their face in the right spot for this. And before everyone asks, no I was not interested in queuing to achieve 10 seconds of fame.

Vivid 2014 57

Sky Flower, a chrysanthemum of light illuminated the sky with petals of light.

Vivid 2014 53

The Digital Forest of 120 LED 3D colour changing glowing tubes fronted the Intel technology display.

Vivid 2014 52

Geo Glow, a blend of architecture and art, was in homage to philosopher-architect Buckminster Fuller.

Vivid 2014 51

Vivid 2014 59

Beneath the Beams, a mass of green and gold lasers at each end of the mall created a unique light ceiling. Smoke units were fitted to light poles to enhance the laser effects.

My previous VIVID Festival of Sydney photography:

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (5)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (4)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (3)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (2)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (1)

VIVID 2013: Lights. Camera. Action!

VIVID 2013: Random Scenes of VIVIDness

VIVID 2012: Light the Night

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Random VIVIDness 2014 (6)

Image

72 thoughts on “Random VIVIDness 2014 (6)

  1. Aaaah…this is so cool! I so love light and lighting effects, i’m kinda jealous that we don’t have anything like that here! Must have been really fun to take all these great photos πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, there is a fair bit of a party feeling to the night with people out walking and just taking in the sights. You’d definitely enjoy photographing something like this.

  2. I like the little bugs and birds in the first picture. So cute! I guess 4K video of this show would be also great. Quality of your pictures with some movement. Who knows maybe next year I’m ready for it. πŸ™‚ Then we can meet and share. πŸ™‚ I have seen some videos, but the quality is far away from your photos,

    • Thank you very much. I’m not much of a videographer. That video was handheld with the video function in my camera. I prefer to stick with what I’m more comfortable with. πŸ™‚ It would be a pleasure to meet you if you come over for this.

      • I really try to make it next year. I will let you know. The pleasure to meet you is on my side too. You are right sticking to that what you are more comfortable with is the way to go. I’m switching all the time between photo and video and stay on a basic level. 😦 Video is hard, you are competing against a crew of people who make all this productions you see on TV. However there is very good stuff around if I watch some productions from Michael Fletcher, the twin brother from Christian Fletcher a well known landscape photographer in Australia. And then again, seeing the moving picture against a slide show gives more live into it and makes telling a story from a travel trip more interesting than slides. Maybe 4k is the answer. Excellent picture quality on video and if you like to keep the moment you can always export a frame as a photo in a reasonable good Quality. What you think should we all have a twin brother? πŸ™‚

        • I don’t have a firm grasp on video, so I’ll never be anything but amateurish at it. But i’m OK with that. Yes a twin would be good. πŸ™‚

  3. The giant head thing, that’s something new. I would have thought not many people would be queuing for that one. Were there? Sounds like it. Sydney sounds like a very bold bunch.

  4. Have you even taken any bad photo like I often do? πŸ˜‰ I like all of your photos. I love all of your header images. VIVID Festival of Sydney seems fun. Thanks for sharing.

  5. What an Incredible Vivid Festival! The urban tree images are extraordinary. I thoroughly enjoyed the video. Thank you so much, Dragon!!

  6. I like the concept of e|MERGEnce. I loved how the tree grew and the birds and caterpillars (bugs!) came on. The whole event had such festive mood I’m sure everyone had a great time. The vivid colours really made my day πŸ˜€

    • Thank you. Macro shots not possible here though. πŸ™‚ Yes, it was like a party with a lot of food carts there too. πŸ™‚ You’d have enjoyed being there. Have a great day ahead.

    • Thanks. I’ve tried to show there’s more to the event than just the opera house, but we will end up back there. πŸ™‚
      Glad you could experience the festival through my eyes and photos.

  7. Terrific stuff, LD ! Having never been a fan of Harry Seidler’s, I was pleased to see it looking at least interesting, the MLC Centre. Loved the little birds flying around !

  8. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (7) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  9. This light show just seems to get better and better!! I love that tree art projection, and to see it slowly grow on that building in your video is wonderful. I would have been transfixed by something like that as a child – would have wanted to take it home with me!! πŸ˜€

  10. Innovative and awesome! what more can I say after seeing such unimaginable illusions from lighting. It leaves me feeling very satisfied. Thanks, Lignum!

  11. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 (8) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  12. Pingback: Random VIVIDness 2014 Finale | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

    • Thanks. It really is a feel good event, with people just wandering around and enjoying it all. You just need to be careful about all those tripods around the place. πŸ™‚

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

