Vivid 2014 80

Sydney May-June 2014 (28 photos).

This is Part 9 and the finale of my Vivid Sydney 2014 series.

Vivid Sydney is over for another year. A free 18-night event that drew 1.43 million visitors this year. Over the previous 8 posts, I’ve presented an overview of the light installations that played on light, shadow and contrasts of colours at this year’s festival, many of which were interactive. I haven’t even attempted to cover the music component of the festival.

But for many, Vivid Sydney is typified by one thing only, the showcase spectacle, and so we come to my Vivid finale…

Vivid 2014 81

“Give the people what they want” …PT Barnum

Vivid 2014 82

“Let me entertain you” …Robbie Williams

Vivid 2014 83

“On with the show this is it” …Bugs & Daffy

Vivid 2014 84

Vivid 2014 85

Vivid 2014 86

Best viewed on a large monitor, with a glass of champagne.

Vivid 2014 87

Vivid 2014 88

Vivid 2014 89

Vivid is, as vivid does … “Vivid” Gump

Vivid 2014 945

Vivid 2014 944

Vivid 2014 90

Yes they played computer games on the Opera House

Vivid 2014 91

Vivid 2014 946

Vivid 2014 92

Vivid by name. Vivid by nature.

Vivid 2014 93

Vivid 2014 94

Vivid 2014 941

This has been Random VIVIDness for 2014.

Vivid 2014 942

Vivid 2014 947

Vivid 2014 943

Thank you all for visiting Sydney with me. Lignum Draco is not on the payroll of Vivid Sydney (but should be)

Vivid 2014 finale

I hope you’ve enjoyed this series but as with all things, the show must end.

Vivid 2014 95

The colour must fade.

Vivid 2014 96

Vivid 2014 97

The wabbits had a weally wonderful time and twuly enjoyed the show.

Vivid 2014 98

Would the last one to leave, please turn off the lights?

Vivid 2014 99

I started this series with the opening theme from the Bugs Bunny Show, and so there’s only one way to end this series:

Th-th-th-that’s all folks*

* encore showings not withstanding.

**normal transmission will resume in a couple of weeks. I need a rest.

My previous VIVID Festival of Sydney photography:

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (8)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (7)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (6)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (5)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (4)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (3)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (2)

VIVID 2014: Random VIVIDness 2014 (1)

VIVID 2013: Lights. Camera. Action!

VIVID 2013: Random Scenes of VIVIDness

VIVID 2012: Light the Night

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Random VIVIDness 2014 Finale

Image

130 thoughts on “Random VIVIDness 2014 Finale

  1. KG says:

    It has been a very interesting series LD. Thank you for taking us there virtually through your incredible photographs and an equally entertaining commentary.

  2. The finale. Well worth the wait. What a show Vivid was, and what a show you gave us through the photos – and storyline too. So much colour, so much life. The event didn’t look overly crowded at all, spaced over a couple of weeks. Which probably made for entertaining viewing. Did you plan out the story before you went to Vivid?

    You really should be on the payroll for Vivid. Maybe next year. Rest up ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you. Glad you enjoyed the series. Your guess about the finale was right after all. ๐Ÿ™‚ No planning of the story of this series – it just wrote itself. I had no idea how long the series would go for until I got to part 6.
      Most of my shots were taken after 10pm when the crowds were lighter. At 6pm there’d have been hardly room to move.

  3. A stunning event compiled in marvelous photos!
    “Best viewed on a large monitor, with a glass of champagne” – too bad it’s too early for a champagne now, but will do so later tonight ๐Ÿ˜‰ BTW, did you bring a champagne during the event?

    • Thank you very much Indah. No – no alcohol in the public areas. Drinking champagne, next to the harbour with all my photographs gear might have been a little dangerous. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      Enjoy your champagne later tonight. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Well that was certainly a finale! And yes, you do deserve a rest ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for such a glorious show Dragon – it almost felt like I was there with you.Cheers mate ๐Ÿ˜€
    Jude xx

  5. The opera house is the perfect blank canvas. Thanks for a fantastic series of photos, LD. (I suspect that the wabbits were your favorite.)
    (\__/)
    (=’.’=)
    (“) (“)

    • LOL. Well, I did include more wabbit shots than I planned to – I don’t think I was the only one who liked them or wanted to see them. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ and when i thought i have already seen all the greatness from your previous posts, you post this! Ok, you got me, i’m in love… This is absolutely beautiful and mind-blowing at the same time! It’s so well done, looks very realistic, so many colors and still is tasteful! Big congratulations to the people who made this happen and to you for taking all these amazing photos! ๐Ÿ˜€ Does this happen every year? If so i’m already looking forward to Vivid Sydney 2015 ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. these left me speechless!! outstanding selection of images for the grand finale… have a wonderful time off, Lignum, and please come back soon ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Amazing, amazing, amazing, this is really the finale from the beautiful opening photo to the last man standing. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m asking me only how much the perspective will change while standing on this steps? ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m blown away from all your pictures here and on earlier posts. Thank you Draco for taking so many beautiful photos of this event. Thank you for spending so many nights out in the city. Thank you so much for sharing this unique show of colour with us on your beautiful blog.

    • Thank you Erwin, I’m glad you enjoyed this event through my blog. Being on the steps changes the perspective a lot. You need a wide lens to capture it all, or else you’re just targeting a smaller area. I prefer to keep the whole Opera House in the photos. ๐Ÿ™‚
      The event truly lives up to its name. Something to look forward to at the end of the working day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Raising my glass to you Lignum, adore the snakeskin reptiles! So many wonderful shots and good fun with you during this fabulous show. Thank you and Cheers!

  10. What a great show, LD. I have enjoyed every post. The light shows are great, but it wouldn’t be nearly as enjoyable without your commentary and the crystal clear work that you are posting. (Okay…that’s just WAY too much nice from me. Makes me feel light-headed. Must sit down now.)

  11. oh but why did you post that snake outfit first?! No need to answer ๐Ÿ™‚ What a display! What diversity! Wild Vividness!! Your pictures are breathtaking – even from a PC screen! Now I know exactly when to be visiting Sydney! Hope to be able to make it to this awesome festival next year! Thank you for all the great photos!

  12. Shock of all shocks… I have never seen this type of imaging on buildings before and now in August they are coming to my little town on Cape Cod and over three evenings will be doing this exact type thing! So glad you opened my eyes to it because I will be sure to go down and watch and take photos in August!

  13. The show would not be complete without giant wabbits ๐Ÿ˜€ That first snake skin display really beats them all.. or is it just me? Thank you for bringing Sydney closer to our homes. This is the closest I will ever get!

  14. I agree absolutely-you should be on the payroll. Thanks for sharing all these spectacular images. My God at one point I thought there was a huge snake curled up on the Opera house, then I thought it was a butterfly then I thought star wars landed there. Ever changing and breathtaking and now you’ve made me pour myself a glass of red wine (no champagne in my cellar) and I am sippingโ€ฆcheers!

  15. kuujinbo says:

    You do make a great case for being on the payroll of Vivid Sydney – this series can only help their marketing team….for free no less. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. This is truly a grande finale… just outstanding! How many cool looks the Opera House got, incredible! Your photos are amazing Draco, and the story also! The whole series has been really cool! My favorites have remained same from the beginning.. Sydney Opera House with different looks and those rabbits. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for sharing and have a nice break and rest Draco! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you very much Elina. I’m glad you could experience the event through my photos. The creators of the event had great imagination to put on this show, and the variety of scenes was amazing. The Opera House was always the main event, but the rabbits were very very popular. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Nature | The World Is a Book...

  18. ‘Like’ just won’t do. This is totally amazing! So many favourites but I like the clouds that make it look like a jester’s hat ๐Ÿ™‚ And the wabbit’s of course. Thanks for a super show!

    • Thank you kindly. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The variety of scenes was quite fantastic, and it was choreographed to some music which was specially composed for the show (I believe). It definitely lived up to its VIVID name.

  19. LB says:

    I have thoroughly loved these posts and yes, you should be on Sydney’s payroll! I almost feel like I’ve been there. Thank you so much!

  20. It’s amazing how one roof can take on so many design’s. It would be quite wonderful if we could all have a roof with a white surface, we could have so much fun with that projection show. Would be like Christmas without the rush – a colourful neighbourhood! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. I thought that I let you a comment on this post and I came back to see if you’re already there (are you in holidays?) and I realize that I didn’t.
    So here we are: Amazing pictures, all these different texture on the opera are amazing . Thank you to share it with them, because Sidney it is a little beat far from here ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I also love the rabbits, and the last one is gorgeous. first the photographer with is stool, what incredible things photographer are able to do for the best picture. And his girlfriend nearby,let me think about all our wife or husband that can win a award for there patient with us ๐Ÿ˜‰ But now they have their smarphone to play to candy crush or angry birds during our big photo sesions;-)
    Have a nice day ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That photographer was there when I arrived, and surrounded by other people, he really had a great view. And he was still there when I left, every few minutes moving his ladder and tripod just a little. His partner was very very patient.

      Thanks Sophie for the comments. It really was a wonderful show and I’m glad I could bring it to you. The show’s creators did a great job.

      I’m back now. I hope you’re well, and I hope you had a wonderful Bastille Day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Wow.
    i enjoyed it tremendously. Although – I’m sure you’re right; the best way to enjoy is with a BIG screen and glas of champagne. Why not a bottle, a friend and put on the music. GREAT JOB! Take a bow.
    Dina xo

  23. Oh my!!!! Glad I went to it!!!!! I do not like it….I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!!! It is something wonderful and your photos are incredible!!!! Yes, you should be on the payroll!!!!
    Thanks a lot for sharing it….I love that building, and I loved its history when you explained it…But I could never imagine it was such a formidable canvas!!!!

    • The building required a lot of foresight and imagination to build, and the light show honours it in a similar way, I think. It was a really impressive display this year compared to other years.
      Thank you very much, and I hope the rest of your week is good to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. The display is quite awesome. I love them all. Well captures as always. The guy with the ladder, I considered that for my photography but I am too embarrassed to do that without accomplice, lol… Thanks for sharing this year’s series. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, his companion seemed completely disinterested. But you’re mainly a macro girl aren’t you? You need to get low down more than high up.

      Thanks for visiting this one from 2014 again, Sam.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

