la vida loca 5

Sydney July 2014 (3 photos)

I was walking through the pedestrian mall one lunchtime doing my usual thing. And then I saw him, not that it was hard to miss him, but perhaps I was the only one to truly notice him. Everyone else just passed him by.

He was seated and dressed in a fluoro pink suit, a bottle in a bag by his feet and a full glass in hand.

He looked like the kind of guy to be into superstitions, black cats, and voodoo dolls.

I had no choice and simply walked up to my usual distance in front of him and took his photo. Did he see me? Did he just smile for me? Perhaps. ๐Ÿ™‚

After all I did get this premonition that my usual stealthy cloak would fall.

It was clear he wasn’t drinking water. I wondered if he was drinking french champagne.

la vida loca 6

I walked away but then I decided I needed a second shot.

I kept thinking that the single shot I had was only a small taste of the scene and I needed more or I’d never be the same; maybe even go insane. So I circled around but the painful truth was that it was too late. He’d gotten up and was on the move. Bottle and glass in his plastic bag. I sped up and went for another direct frontal shot to ease the pain, like a bullet to the brain.

la vida loca 7

“La vida loca” is Spanish for “The crazy life” and refers to doing wild and crazy things that make you cool.
While the crowd zigs, some people zag.

I wish I could think up an appropriate song and lyrics to go with these photos, but I’m struggling. Maybe next time.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

livin’ la vida loca

Image

100 thoughts on “livin’ la vida loca

  1. These are great shots. Love the sunshine falling softly over Mr Pink. Don’t worry, Dragon. He had a glazed look in his eyes, your cover is still intact. Sounds like you were the crazy one living the crazy life in that scene ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope the second shot eased the pain. If not, I hoped you bought a coffee to relax yourself.

  2. LB says:

    How could anyone just pass him by? yes, the color of the suit and the champagne glass, but that face!
    The shadows throughout enhance the whole scene.

  3. very flamboyant outfit… he surely is not afraid to attract attention… the second shot is very interesting, Lignum, putting him in a crowd of greys and blacks…

    it’s a very warm and human story this time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sting “Englishman in New York”? ๐Ÿ™‚

    my guess, this was a special day for him, like e.g. for the past 20 years he would spend this day with someone special, who is no longer around… so he drank to memories and good old days…

    I’ve seen a similar scene… on 1 January, after NY celebrations, I saw an old lady in a cafe, she ordered a coffee and a beer, the coffee was for her, the beer was to honor the memory of her late husband, it’s just they used to mark 1 January this way…

  4. Goodness, that fluoro pink suit!! He must be happy with the “french champagne” ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re right, people were not paying attention to him.

  5. Wonderful shots, LD.
    I would lay any money I had on the likelihood of his having lost someone, and moving about the city celebrating moments he and that person shared in various places. Hence the wild gear (purple shirt ?!) …
    And the look on his face as he travels to his next destination.
    You know, your taking his photo was probably important to him, in a way – a sort of marker …

  6. Ricky Martin’s version goes wonderfully here! What a character! I’d love to bring you over to my hometown couple years ago – we used to have a couple of city “curiosities” walking around. Not sure if they are still around, though.

  7. Impossible not to notice him! ๐Ÿ˜€ He really has his own sense of fashion but I do enjoy such elderly individuals that stand out of the crowd.

  8. Hopefully you haven’t missed him ! I like these 2 pics. He looks like an actor (an old actor who would have a problem to see real colors !). It reminds me a good friend that can not see the red color and had such a suit ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Ha – what a character. I think he did not notice you. He seems absorbed in his own world. I am curious about the “right” song ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Well, well, isn’t he just in the pink!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ He’s a wonderful person to find on a busy street, and I get a feeling he could inspire an interesting story! Kind of makes me think of a movie where someone played the devil, not sure which movie though, and he probably wasn’t dressed in pink, but I’m sure if the devil was to make a flying visit to earth in human body, he would dress something like this. That man has a grin that reminds me of Jack Nicholson! Are you sure he hasn’t been following you around for a while dressed in a dark suit, and he just decided that day to change the colour?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Do you mean The Witches of Eastwick, which starred Jack Nicholson? Nicholson was an evil man, although not necessarily the devil in that one. Luckily I refused his wine glass then, or the ending may have been different. ๐Ÿ™‚
      This guy really is open to interpretation. I’ll never know the true story.

  11. I really like the first shot, what it is sure it that the color of his suit is for a lot in that sensation.He make me a little think about the joker in Batman ๐Ÿ˜‰ with his slantwise smile. And there is this contrast between all that people round that looks speed and the men on this funny chair who take the time to think maybe about his past life.
    It is a wonderful street picture because we can imagine a lot of think and stories about it.
    Is he wear flashy color to be seen or just because he doesn’t like the sadness of our uncolored world?
    Btw I have an idea for your song Livin’ la vida loca from Ricky Martin, I know that my references are weird but it is a song that I like when I was young and that make me move during his summer success ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Have a lovely week end my dear Draco
    I apologied for not answer all your comment on my blog, but I have not so much time this past time but I always appreciated them and I decide to take more time to take, publish and edit my pictures (and spend time with my husband ) .

    • Thank you Sophie. It’s fun to imagine what his real story may be. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Of course you are right and la vida loca is the perfect song. Just a silly joke on my part. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I thought you may have been busy. I noticed you post a lot less than you used to as well. For the same reason, I only post twice a week now. Less time on the blog and more time for real life. Have a wonderful weekend too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Great capture and title to it! The contrast between the man and the ordinary people is striking. There’s a lot of melancholy and sadness inside his eyes. The outfit is probably a desperate attempt to return the youth, some glorious time, ะฐ moment or just to celebrate ” la vida loca”. He is out of time, lost in translation- but nothing,not even a a fluoro pink suit can bring back the old time.
    Have a great week ahead!

    • Thank you. I see the pain and sadness of the arthritis in his hands. Out of time and lost in translation – that “suits” so many of us.
      Thank you very much for the interoperation. Have a wonderful week ahead too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. You have the most amazing ability to capture characters others pass by and never see. It reminds me somewhat of how easy it is to walk past the homeless and refuse to feel their pain or the question: will my money be used for drugs, alcohol or food. I once read, ‘to give a gift, means to honestly give the gift and be free of what happens to it once you’ve let it go.’ Perhaps the same can be said for those we attempt to help. It’s not our place to question why. I sincerely hope the man in the pink suit is on his way to a place that will welcome him for indeed, you have captured a man in deep emotional and physical pain.

  14. kuujinbo says:

    Got to give him credit for choosing his own very different style. Is consumption of alcohol in public areas OK in that area?

  15. I love your pictures… almost like he is crying out for attention but getting none. (except maybe yours) But he seems to look so sad, like the drink is to lighten his load, but the darkness still weighs heavily on his shoulders, but then we both know I look at the world differently, but he just looks troubled to me… Just saying (But your photos are spectacular) ๐Ÿ˜€

    • You’re not the only one to see sadness in him and others have commented on this too, as if he is searching for something or someone but not finding it.
      Many thanks doe the visit and comment as always.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

