the angry sea

Sydney August 2014 (5 photos)

“The sea was angry that day my friends, like an old man trying to return soup at a deli.”

…George Costanza in Seinfeld episode 78: The Marine Biologist.

It’s been a cold and wet winter for the last couple of weeks here. And coupled recently with gale force winds, most people would choose to stay indoors. Most.

However, armed with a camera, and fortunate to have a day off, I elected to brave the elements and take on Mother Nature. I found a nice little rock ledge on the edge of the Pacific Ocean and dutifully started shooting. Watching and photographing water can be intoxicating and mesmerising.

the angry sea-2

I thought the waves were sounding progressively heavier and louder.

the angry sea-3

I looked away from my viewfinder and in a moment knew the rock ledge was not quite high enough and last second quick action was called for. Fortunately the camera is water proof. Round 1 to Mother Nature.

So I retreated to higher ground and I started shooting again. Who knew the wind could whip the ocean into such a frenzy so quickly?

the angry sea-4

The sudden realisation that another leap in the air was required. Another moment too late. Round 2 to Mother Nature.

I moved to even higher ground and took a few more photos. By now, my feet were very cold and wet. I called it quits and left the fray. Nature always has a habit of winning.

the angry sea-5

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

The angry sea

Image

123 thoughts on “The angry sea

  1. Bloody cameramen, of both kinds … You guys are removed from reality by the lens. Of COURSE you should’ve been far more careful. IDIOT !
    But never mind: you got some WONDERFUL shots. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Really love these photos. Please be careful. The sea is as treacherous as she is beautiful. Gorgeous shots!
    Was down in Sydney a week ago… Was some windy wet weather!

  3. Magnificent shots Lignum and worth getting your feet wet! The rolling clouds and waves are such a dynamic pair and I love the quiet ripples of anticipation in the rock pool of the first shot!

    • Thanks, but I’m always aware of not becoming another story on the local news reports. No more than an inch or so of water where I was but it comes in so quickly and splashes that it feels like a lot more.

    • Thank you. I have learnt never to change lenses at the seaside. The wind and salt spray goes everywhere. Fortunately the camera is weather sealed and a damp cloth gets rid of all the salt. And a hot shower for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. These are my very top favorite sea shots! So very real that I could almost hear its anger and feel the web and cool. And, the clouds are magnificent.
    Thank you for making such a great effort to take these spectacular shots for us to enjoy.
    Glad and relieved to know that you were careful… You are dedicated, Dragon!

  5. LB says:

    I surely hope that Mother Nature always wins … we humans are certainly straining her patience, I’m sure.
    Incredible photos of the ocean. Such power and beauty1

  6. Karen says:

    Mother nature sure has won her round with me. I’ve been staying indoors lately, having braved the freezing cold, rain and gale force winds for some shots earlier on in the season. Wonderful images, well worth the effort.

  7. Super cool shoots, on the first one there is the calm, the forces of the waves and again the calm of the clouds. I like it.
    Have a nice week my dear Draco ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Yes, nature always wins out. Really great shots of how violent the sea can be even close in to shore. I assume that on calmer days you could walk out to where the waves are seen crashing over the posts. Your feet are now dry and you can reflect on some great shots.

  9. Wow! I am relieved to hear your camera survived this close encounter with angry mother nature ๐Ÿ™‚ I would be hypnotised as well. Draco. What a post!!!! ( shall I dare link to it on Sunday?)

  10. Oh Ligjnum, you always crack me up “like an angry old man returning soup in a deli” I kind of used to have a crash on โ€ฆGeorge Costanzaโ€ฆhe’s silly looking but nice at the same time. What great shots you have here. I can smell the sea, from here and feel the gust of wind tooโ€ฆit must have been extremely intoxicating. I love water of any kindโ€ฆhave a fabulous week.

  11. These are gorgeous photos Draco! How cool to be able to photograph such scenes, even if the cost is cold and wet feet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Water indeed is a wonderful thing to look at and photograph.

  12. Great photos! I have my tea every morning as I watch the ocean and when it’s rough and rugged I often muse to myself that very same quote. The sea was indeed rough that day dear Lignum Draco. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I admire your courage, more than I would do!!! You got some great pictures! ๐Ÿ˜€ It does seem danger creates some of the best images photographers have taken. Good to hear you had the sense not to stay though, could have got a bit nasty! So – would you chase a storm for the pictures? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Suzy. Danger does create a lot of drama in a photograph. I got a bit too close this time, but generally I stay out of harm’s way. I wouldn’t go chasing storms unless I knew I had a safety point to retreat to.

  14. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: One of a kind | Lost in Translation

The Wood Dragon is listening...

