suspicious minds

“Did you ever have that feeling?”

Sydney May-July 2014 (3 photos)

We can’t go on together
With suspicious minds
And we can’t build our dreams
On suspicious minds

“Suspicious Minds” is a song written by Mark James. After James’ recording failed commercially, the song was handed to Elvis Presley, becoming a number one song in 1969, and one of the most notable hits of Presley’s career.

I took the photo above whilst crossing at an intersection. The woman seemed to be concerned that she was being followed. Instead, she should have kept her eyes on the road and watched out for who was in front of her.

suspicious minds 2

“Suspicious mind”

This guy walked directly across my path. Bad move sir. Bad move.

suspicious minds 3

“Hey, that’s Draco! Everybody get him!”

My turn to be suspicious. There was a group of 50 people out of shot to the right, all subjects of my previous photos, waiting in ambush for me. Wishing to avoid a fray, I high-tailed it out of there. Queue the Benny Hill television show theme music. 😉

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Suspicious minds

Image

78 thoughts on “Suspicious minds

  1. Who am I to say if these are good or not, but I know that they are, still I am happy I already “booked” the other photo(s) for my Sunday 😉 You have probably noticed that I am not that fond of people pics or maybe people in general 😀

  2. KG says:

    I do get a feeling that you would have tried to get a shot of the people’s faces while they are trying to ambush you before vanishing out of that place and then make a post out of it 😉

  3. She doesn’t look like a happy camper, and that’s a fact. Nor does he. But you’ll never persuade me those two are reacting to you ! You do such great candid shots that I can’t help feeling that no-one EVER notices you. 🙂

    • In the last photo I am standing on a road . Cars hardly ever go down it. Who knew a delivery van would turn onto it whilst I was standing there. The last guy is actually warning me. I gave him a wave and a thanks later.
      Never let the truth get in the way of a good story. 🙂

  4. Maybe the woman thought the dragon was behind her 🙂 Let’s hope the guy has learned something from his bad move.
    Great captures of the suspicious expressions. Very cool!

  5. robert87004 says:

    Benny Hill theme music? It’s been a while since………and my very first thought was the teacher’s union on a strike day.

  6. 😀 what a story of a street photographer’s day life. I was smiling when reading your narrative. Great photos, I love especially the second one, I am sure he was aware you took his photo 🙂 good thing you left before any frays 😀

  7. That woman may have looked in the wrong direction, but maybe she was sensing someone was watching? 😉 And I shall remember not to walk directly across your path! 😀

  8. “Suspicious minds” has been covered by one of my favorite bands of all time, Texas 😀 I think we oughta have a suspicious mind when walking in the city, i always keep my eyes open for suspicious people! Draco would have a hard time taking a candid photo of me, i’d run out of his frame before he can even focus…hehe 😀 You got some amazing captures, i must say that!

  9. lol 🙂 a good start of my week, with lots of smilin thanks to you 🙂 good story, Lignum 🙂 your sense of humor is unparalleled lol :)))
    the text of that song… we can’t go on together with suspicious minds… this is so true dammit…!!
    have a wonderful week 🙂

  10. I know I have seen this one before and commented. the photo with the girl (the first one) is one of my favourite Draco’s takes on people 😀

The Wood Dragon is listening...

