chinese whispers-2

“Draco will be back in a few weeks”

Sydney March 2014 (2 images)

Chinese whispers is a game in which one person whispers a message to another, which is passed through a line of people until the last player announces the message to the entire group. Twists and errors typically accumulate in the retellings, so the dialogue often differs significantly from the first person to the last.

Chinese whispers may also be known as broken telephone, operator, grapevine, whisper down the lane, gossip, secret message, the messenger game and pass the message.

In 2012, Philip Minchin, a volunteer working on International Games Day @ your library, ran a global game of Gossip that was played within multiple libraries around the world, with the current version of the phrase being passed from library to library across timezones as each venue completed its round of the game. Over 26 hours, the inaugural game travelled through seven languages and all six inhabited continents, starting in St Kilda Library, Melbourne, Australia as “Life must be lived as play”, and ending in Homer, Alaska, USA as “He bites snails.” … source: wikipedia.

chinese whispers

“Huh!!! Draco is who I seek? Is that what she said? How did she know?”

So you don’t get the wrong message, I’ll return to posting in a few weeks.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Chinese whispers

Image

90 thoughts on “Chinese whispers

  1. Its sad to see you taking a break just as I was getting to enjoy your posts again. Chinese whispers.. Its a game we used to play as kids… Will be waiting for your return!

  2. That global game is hilarious. The message was completely turned on it’s head by the end of it. I’m sure everyone got a laugh out of it. Great first photo, Dragon. Love the shape of the woman’s mouth. It’s as if she’s trying to get out a certain syllable so hard. See you in a few, enjoy life πŸ™‚

  3. Nice picture. I’ll be waiting for your next post then ! (In France we call this game “Arabian telephone” but I do not know why… (It does not sound very nice to Arabian people anyway)

  4. I didn’t know about the Chinese whispers and the global game πŸ˜• Yea, what happened to her face (the first one)?
    A few weeks!? MR did not approve, Hehehe… Don’t forget to come back, your entire blog village will be waiting for your return, Dragon. Enjoy the break! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • She looks like she sucked on a lemon, but I’m sure it’s just one of the many facial expressions we make as we speak. πŸ™‚

      I didn’t want to say 2 weeks, in case that proved to be wrong. On my breaks, I sometimes forget I have a blog. πŸ™‚ Thank you Amy. See you again soon. πŸ™‚

  5. Bernieshoot says:

    It seems here that it’s a good chocolates box.
    Chinese whispers has are also playing that game,
    Wish you a nice break,
    Cheers

  6. We call it “broken telephone” in Croatia πŸ™‚ Take care and stay dry. Ah, before you go.. is it ok to put your “big dick” in my B&W Sunday’s links?

  7. to remain in him says:

    I enjoy your writings as much as your photos:) They are funny and interesting to read. Hope you’ll have a wonderful time there! Will wait you back:)

  8. I remember playing the “broken telephone” in childhood… so much fun. πŸ™‚
    Wonderful photos Draco, people are so fascinating! You’ve captured great facial expressions! But I also love the tiled floor!
    Enjoy your break from WordPress! πŸ™‚

  9. LB says:

    The images are great (as always) but I have to tell you that I really loved the reminders of what we sometimes called operator and other times gossip. The International Games Day story was terrific!!

  10. oh, gosh, you will be gone again?
    a few is too many…
    I can only hope the spring has arrived and you will be having a nice time πŸ™‚

    wonderful images, Lingum… !!!

  11. I remember playing Chinese whispers in the school playground, it was often quite hilarious what the end result turned out to be! I guess gossip is exactly the same, you never know where it’s going to end up!

    The woman in the first picture looks like she’s talking about something very interesting. Oh to be a fly on that table!! πŸ˜‰

  12. Broken telephone, that’s what I know. We loved playing the game as kids, but sometimes some people would deliberately twist the sentence…where has Lignum gone? I was gone too, but now, I’m back! Enjoy whatever you are doing wherever you are!

  13. I hope you had a nice break, Draco. It felt longer than two weeks. Any photos for my B&W Sunday tomorrow? (look at our timing – you’ve just come back and I am off to another holiday on Wednesday :D)

The Wood Dragon is listening...

