we get you 4

We get you Sydney

Sydney August 2014 (5 photos)

Recently a local insurance company has been running a campaign with the tag, We get you Sydney. Their signs were everywhere. Colloquially, the message means, “We understand you”. It’s an interesting slogan because I doubt that any insurance company or large financial institution really understands me.

However, in a purely literal interpretation, I think this could make for a great slogan for a Sydney based street photographer…

If I were to rename my blog, I could name it: I’ll get you Sydney.

we get you 5

Or maybe: I get you Sydney.

we get you 1

Or perhaps: I got you Sydney.

we get you 2

Or just simply: Gotcha.

we get you 6

Yep, gotcha! πŸ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

We get you Sydney

Image

74 thoughts on “We get you Sydney

  1. Or…

    Get Sydney
    Getting Sydney
    Get Lost Sydney
    Got Sydney?
    Go Sydney!
    Great Sydney!
    You don’t get me Sydney…
    Can’t get me Sydney!
    Are you listening Sydney?
    Go to your room right now Sydney!
    Bring me the dragon Sydney!

    …..I like the last one πŸ˜‰

  2. What a nice idea to play with this ad compaign. What I can notice is that on your pictures no one look at the ad πŸ˜‰ I am agree with you about assurances what it is sure it is that the main goal is money and no their customers….
    Btw I notice that the ad supports are french ones πŸ˜‰ (JC DECAUX)
    Like always I like your pictures and especially the ones with the man playing with his smartphone and stand against the ad support.
    Hugs Draco

    • Thanks Sophie. It was too good an opportunity to pass up, catching people next to that sign. πŸ™‚
      I think JC Decaux is everywhere. It is the largest outdoor advertising corporation in the world.

      Have a wonderful friday and weekend ahead.

  3. I go for Gotcha! simplicity at it’s best and by the way I like well dressed men with moustaches! He seems to be posing for you…but wait a minute is that a cigarette? Spoiler, damn…..

    • Thank you Robin. I suspect he was a store security officer, given his manner of dress. Outdoors security officers often wear bright fluoro yellow shirts here, with SECURITY emblazoned on them. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. That’s a funny ad – they wouldn’t allow that one in Australia. πŸ™‚

      The embedded code doesn’t work – just a message about copyright and you have to view it in youtube, so I changed it to a direct link.

  4. Really great street photography Draco! I wonder what is the guy in the suit looking at. πŸ™‚ The new names for your blog are good also, Gotcha especially!. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Elina. He’s hiding his name tag, but you can see that he’s a security officer. I’m not sure if he was on duty or off duty though. πŸ™‚ Maybe he’s about to “get” someone. πŸ™‚

  5. That’s right, Sydney. Gotcha. A good tagline. “We got you, Sydney?”. Sounds like they have every intention of getting their hands on our money. Love the last shot. He looks a bit pompous, but I’m sure he’s a nice guy.

  6. dopo una lunga assenza posso finalmente tornare a navigare su internet e gioire di splendide foto come quelle che sempre tu proponi…sei veramente un grande innamorato della tua splendida cittΓ 
    grazie e felice giorno!
    Ven

  7. Genial, as always!!!!!!! He looks quite interested.,…may be a woman??? πŸ™‚
    Your photos are always like an open door to many many histories…Like the first page of a book…Open to so many possibilities!!!!! I love them!!!
    Have a great weekend!!!

  8. Lignum… Wonderful captures as always… “We get you Sydney” became a challenge and you mastered it!. Thanks for sharing and all the very best to you, Aquileana πŸ˜€

  9. No doubt that you got Sydney :D. Thank you for the laughs, Draco, and the terrific photos. That last one of the “gotcha” guy is a corker!!! Btw, I really like your etcetera etcetera etcetara slogan πŸ˜€

  10. I think you possibly could, because in more ways than one you really do ‘get’ Sydney – quite attractively! πŸ˜€ These kind of slogans from insurance companies, and banks, in fact anyone who wants to sell us something, they make me groan, because we all know it’s a lie! The one I hate the most in advertising is L’OrΓ©al’s ‘Because you’re worth it’ oooh I hate that!!! 😦

    I found this on Tumblr, it’s my favourite mocking gif of that phrase http://38.media.tumblr.com/7cb8aaebc993389eb0add03957703f54/tumblr_n1tj3cI57w1sy3b1jo1_500.gif Only an Ood from Doctor Who could point out so well how ridiculous that phrase is! πŸ˜€

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

