daydream 1

Sydney April 2013 (2 photos)

I was trying to daydream, but my mind kept wandering.

…Steven Wright (comedian, actor, writer)

Just out one afternoon enjoying the sun, and playing around with some very selective focus. Why does the wind blow whenever I shoot nature? I like the wistful daydream quality of this photo. Kind of appropriate for a lazy day on the beach.

Recently, I received the Topaz Labs suite of software for winning The Digital Lightroom competition. This photo marks the first that I have entirely processed using Topaz software plug-ins on Lightroom. Their newest product is Topaz Impressions, and I found this photo particularly suited to that application. Here, I’ve used the Cezanne impressionist painting preset.

daydream 2 cezanne

Oh, I could hide ‘neath the wings
of the bluebird as she sings…

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Daydream believer

Image

62 thoughts on “Daydream believer

  1. I like the selective DOF on this one – the colors make this selection work. I’ll be interested in how you like the Topaz suite. I too have found that Nature + Macro = strong wind blowing

  2. I once thought of you as a white knight on a steed …
    But very similar fx can be extracted from using my Corel Photo Paint 10 !!!!!!!!!!
    [grin]

  3. Brilliant use of Cezanne. Now you can call yourself a painter. A digital painter. If you didn’t mention it, I would have thought you painted it. There’s another career path for you 🙂 A very chilled painting. A bit summer-dreamy too 🙂

  4. Colour! I like your picture, particularly because of where you chose to focus … and the Cezanne setting, although I’m not always into playing with apps like those, but I can see that it could idle a few hours with interesting results.

  5. LB says:

    The Monkeys!!
    Great song (and if someone did it before the Monkeys, my apologies for not knowing that). I know nothing about Topaz, other than seeing the name around WordPress. What I do know is that the Cezanne impressionist effect is beautiful!

    • From Wikipedia:
      John Stewart of the Kingston Trio wrote the song. It was initially declined by a couple of groups. Producer Chip Douglas was friends with John Stewart and ran into him at a party in Hollywood. Douglas told Stewart that he was now producing the Monkees and asked if he had any songs that might work for the group. Stewart offered “Daydream Believer” and the rest is history.

  6. That beach picture has a beautiful daydreaming quality to it, and the art effects are really amazing, looks very realistic! Could be quite useful for showing how to paint your own photographs too. 🙂

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

