she 1

Sydney April 2013 – August 2014 (5 photos)

She may be the face I can’t forget
A trace of pleasure or regret
May be my treasure or the price
I have to pay

She may be the song that summer sings
May be the chill that autumn brings
May be a hundred different things
Within the measure of a day

she 3

She may be the beauty or the beast
May be the famine or the feast
May turn each day into a heaven
Or a hell

She may be the mirror of my dream
A smile reflected in a stream
She may not be what she may seem
Inside her shell

she 2

She who always seems so happy in a crowd
Whose eyes can be so private and so proud
No-one’s allowed to see them
When they cry

She may be the love that cannot hope to last
May come to me from shadows of the past
That I’ll remember
’til the day I die

she 5

She may be the reason I survive
The why and wherefore I’m alive
The one I’ll care for through the
Rough and rainy years

Me I’ll take her laughter and her tears
And make them all my souvenirs
For where she goes I’ve got to be
The meaning of my life is she

She
She.

Love is all around

“She” is a song written by Charles Aznavour and Herbert Kretzmer. It was released by Aznavour as a single in 1974. The song was written as a theme tune for the British TV series Seven Faces of Woman. The song was recorded by Aznavour in several different languages aside from English, namely French, Italian, Spanish and German. Elvis Costello recorded a cover version of the song in 1999 which was featured over the closing credits of the film Notting Hill.

During my photo walks, I always have my camera on and ready. I preset the manual focus and use zone focussing. I walk right at my subjects and simply shoot unnoticed when in range and if I see an interesting moment. Initially I was disappointed by the flare in the first photo but then I was reminded of similar styled old love song clips and commercials, and I’m OK with it now.

Long term followers may recognise the return of “the maneater” in a new shot.

The last one is recycled from a previous post “Love is all around”, named for a song that coincidentally featured in another Hugh Grant movie, Four weddings and a funeral. At the time, I was too focussed on the couple, and didn’t see the woman in the heart-adorned cardigan walking by. Otherwise, I’d have followed her and gotten more shots of … she.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

She.

Image

96 thoughts on “She.

  1. This bevy of blonde beauties (but for the last) shows me that I need NEVER fear walking by you unknowing and having my photo taken. [grin]
    Listen, (_Β€_) ! – WHEN IS YOUR BIRTHDAY ?

    • I photograph without discrimination. Some photos just don’t suit a blog post very well. Having said that, I do have a series of old men coming up in a future post. As they say, be alert, not alarmed. πŸ™‚

      Strange question to someone who posts under a pseudonym, doesn’t show their face, doesn’t use their name, and doesn’t reveal private details publicly. But if you need a date to mark, celebrate the birthday of my blog, December 31. πŸ™‚

  2. Great photos once again Draco! Actually I like the first photo with the flare – makes it more artistic I think. I had to check youtube for the song info but now I remember I listened to it before..a lovely song!

    • Thank you very much, Indah. The flare is a lot more subdued in B&W as opposed to the colour version.

      Yes, it’s a rather famous love song, and he sings it so well in a couple of different languages too. I’d get confused very quickly if I tried to do that. πŸ™‚

  3. Lignum, you have told this visual story in such a beautiful way that I guess now every woman in Sidney (and possibly other locations too :D) would be dying to get into your next study of female nature…

    the last shot is truly epic… one of those rare photographic chances that happen only to those who seek them πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. As you’d appreciate from the angle of the shots, most are taken from near hip level. For several months, I wore my camera and only used a 50mm lens. I now know what the field of view will be at a manual focus of 3 metres. Bringing the camera to the eye is a giveaway and can ruin the candidness of the moment.. πŸ™‚

  4. The second photo, beside the fact that this lady is almost all in legs, the photo really depict beauty that is about to enter something darker …….. really nice shot

    • Yes, late fading afternoon sun in autumn, and when the light hit the wall, I stood there and waited for a pedestrian to come. Quite luckily, I caught her in full stride. Thank you.

  5. She. I remember listening to this song as a kid, a slow song that made me sleepy. I was always tempted to sing along. Very lucky last shot. Love is certainly in the air. I find it hard that hardly anyone looks your way when you do your photography… πŸ™‚

  6. I melt at the sound of Aznavour voice and tunes :). I LOVE this post even though I am not a people’s photographer – I really like some of these faces and with your permission I would like to link to it this Sunday, and you will be able to see what face among these is my absolute favourite. What do you say?

  7. buonasera mister Etcetera, ( πŸ™‚ )sono sempre incantata dalla gentilezza e freschezza delle tue foto, stavolta lo sono di piΓΉ perchΓ¨ mi hai ricordato Aznavur quel grande francese che molto amo!
    ti sorrido

  8. πŸ˜€ “She” is lovely! All the photos are great and i really don’t mind the sun flare in the first one, i think it only adds a sense of movement and life to the photo… I still cannot understand how you get so good focused photos with manual focus…I guess it took a lot of practice ha?

  9. Those two people in the last photo “ARE IN LOVE” that is the kind of woman he would tell “You may be the reason I survive, the why and wherefore I’m alive” I totally loved the lyrics. Sounds like magic to my ears!

  10. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: Abandoned | Lost in Translation

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

