sculpture by the sea 1

“Art – I got you covered”

Sydney October 2014 (5 images)

The 18th annual Sculpture by the sea exhibition at Bondi started last week. This free public event, running from 23 October to 9 November, includes 109 exhibiting artists from 16 countries around the world. It is held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach. I went on the opening day last Thursday, in the brilliant sunshine and took a few photos. A nice way to enjoy the sun, beach and get some exercise. I hope to get back there another day before it ends to get some more photos.

This year’s catalogue features a photo on the front cover of “the stairway to heaven” which I had photographed but differently in my previous post, Sculpture by the sea 2013. I think my photo above would make good cover art for next year’s catalogue.

Above: SISYPHUS, by George Andric.

Artist’s statement: The artist strives to find some sense of order that is independent of the world that presents itself – which at times can be deceptive and illusory.

sculpture by the sea 4

“Alone”

HILJE, by Clara Hall.

Artist’s statement: Hilje means ‘small hill’ as well as ‘hill of refuge’ in Dutch. It is also the name of the artist’s sister.

sculpture by the sea 3

“4 pillars”

BONDI POINTS, by Chris Bailey.

Artist’s statement: Inspired by aboriginal stone blades found on Bondi Beach in 1899, the work references both past and future in promoting contemporary discussion as Australia looks forward to its future.

sculpture by the sea 5

“Angular momentum”

CYCLE90 “A PREMONITION OF WIND” XI, by Kaoru Matsumoto.

Artist’s statement: A simple form. A simple movement. It receives the wind, it fends off the wind. It is a way to represent wind as art.

sculpture by the sea 2

“Out of the frying pan, into the fire”

“WE’RE FRYIN’ OUT HERE, by Andrew Hankin.

Artist’s statement: The work asks us to stop and think about the damaging effects of the sun, and the need to ‘cook’ ourselves at the beach.

Many of the sculptures have signs saying, do not climb. Apparently, this doesn’t apply to local news reporters.

This is part 1 of a 5 part series.

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (5)

Sculpture by the sea, bondi 2014 (4)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (3)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (2)

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1)

Image

84 thoughts on “Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1)

  1. Great images – even though I expect you had a lot of work to get just the right amount of viewers into each shot. I’m a big fan of Claes Oldenberg’s works, so I’m naturally drawn to Hankin’s “We’re Fryin'”

    • Thank you. Working with a prime lens in public, means a lot of moving around to get that shot. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t. 🙂
      Giant everyday objects do have a strange appeal. Relativity is an important factor.

  2. LB says:

    I remember your photos from this last year, and look forward to more from this year’s exhibition. That first one is a beautiful sculpture, while the last one sure makes you think

  3. the 4 pillars is my favorite lol 🙂 I presume two of the “four pillars” had no clue they were part of a photographic masterpiece? 😀

    I remember clearly your photos from last years sculpture events (the one with the flags in particular :)… and am very happy you are planning on more posts to cover it 🙂

  4. Great photos of Sculpture by the Sea. The piece with string looks like the same artist that has a piece at the Crystal Bridges museum right now.

  5. Oh… wait…. I hope you didn’t take my comment to mean that your work is not artwork… what I meant was that your images of the artwork are also works of art…. that work…when you are looking at the artwork through your works……of………art.

    There!

    Nailed it!

  6. I like them! I almost think the 3rd one should be B&W because my eye is drawn to the woman’s colourful dress … but then you wouldn’t have the blues of the sea & sky. I like how the two people mimic the two sculpture objects.

    • Thanks. I know what you mean. But the photo is a lot better in colour than B&W. The woman in red almost looks like she was carved out of the pillar – her shoulder is almost a perfect fit.

    • Thank you Sophie. It’s a very beautiful area with walking paths along the cliffs between the beaches. Very popular, and a great spot to display this art. Have a good week ahead. 🙂

  7. Lovely set of photos, Dragon. Great story to go along with them too. Ah, the things media people will get up to…I wondered if they asked permission, they must have had. It did look like a bit of a sunny day there, I hope you didn’t cook under the sun 🙂 By the way, I like your new blue background.

  8. Excellent photos LD we are traveling there on the last weekend. Suzy is an art teacher and I aim to take a few photos 😊 no rain I hope. Blue sky looks great in your images.

  9. Thank you for taking me to sculpture by the sea without my having to leave home! Your photos are magnificent, aided by that Sydney sky. I like the way you’ve made people part of the sculptures, instead of trying to avoid hoardes. I agree about the use of your first shot as a cover photo for 2015, with hefty payment attached. It’s brilliant.

    • Thank you. It can get so crowded, you could be waiting a while to get a shot without people. Having said that, if people see you taking a photo, they will wait for you before crossing your line. Secretly though, I’m waiting for them to walk into my line to get that candid shot. 🙂

  10. I think your photo would make a perfect cover for a catalogue or magazine, it’s awesome, such a good subject to capture! 🙂

    The frying pan art is interesting – and amusing! I would never have thought to present the dangers of frying ourselves in that way. It’s a good point, that is essentially what people are doing to their skin, even flip themselves over to get it all even cooked – weird habit!! 😀

  11. Pingback: Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (3) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  12. maamej says:

    I think the first pic would be perfect cover art; especially as so many people are out there with their cameras & phones. I really like the way people are a feature in your compositions, it’s very effective.

  13. I came back for a look at the rest. Not too much time the other day. I’ve seen this event covered before but never with the life and vibrancy you manage to inject. In the thick of the action! Love it 🙂

    • Thank you. I know what you mean about time, or lack thereof. Unless you get there very early (and my body won’t let me do that), you’ve got to photograph the exhibits as best you can with people in frame. So I’ve tried to do that.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

