art & about 1

“We wish we’d known you Grandpa”

Sydney September-October 2014 (6 photos)

Before continuing with my Sculpture by the Sea series (see previous post) let’s visit another, yep you guessed it – another recent festival. This time it’s Art & About which was on again in September/October for 4 weeks.

Basically, Art & About is an annual Spring program of public art displays and performances which celebrates the city’s creativity and imagination. One of the major exhibits was a large scale open air display of photographs on the theme of “How would you capture Australian Life in a single image?”. 22 finalists were displayed. A couple of them caught my eye…

Above: Anzac Day tribute by Berylouise Mitchell.

A small bouquet with note left on the steps of a cenotaph.

art & about 2

Farewelling Martin Sharp by Jon Lewis.

The photographer was delivering a eulogy at his friend’s funeral. Before starting, he took 2 photos of the assembly. Martin Sharp was an Australian artist, underground cartoonist, songwriter and film-maker who passed away last year.

art & about 4

Rush Hour by Warwick Kent.

art & about 3

Tin City by Andre Martin.

I think any of the original photos would make great cover art.

art & about 5

One of the performances I saw was “Trolleys” by Shaun Parker & Company, a dance/ballet/spectacle set to music, utilising shopping trolleys. Quite a dynamic and energetic 20 minute performance. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed this. I’ve never seen so many properly working shopping trolleys in one spot. ๐Ÿ™‚

art & about 6

In the background is the Archibald Fountain which has featured in my previous post, Theseus defeats the minotaur.

I posted about last year’s Art & About Festival here: Art & About

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Art & About 2014

Image

80 thoughts on “Art & About 2014

  1. Wow, great images here, they are all beautiful and meaningful! I love most the Tin City – great color composition picture although that’s not how I imagine about Australia ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. such an interesting post, Lignum!!!
    that dance performance looks fabulous… you’ve changed point of view for the photos, both are so interesting… first one focusing on the dance act, second one giving additional context with the audience in the foreground and the foundtain in the background…

    the photography exhibition looks fantastic too… googled Martin Sharp… what does it mean that he was an “underground cartoonist”?

    have you ever had some of your photos displayed in an exhibition? I think it’s high time ๐Ÿ™‚

    have a great weekend!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you very Alex. No, I haven’t displayed in an exhibit, although I was approached by one gallery but declined because I didn’t have the time. Would I have to use my real name, or would my persona be acceptable? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Underground comics are generally small press or self-published comic books which are often socially relevant or satirical in nature. They differ from mainstream comics in depicting content forbidden to mainstream publications by standard codes.

      Have a wonderful friday and weekend ahead too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • it is so great you were approached for an exhibition.. and it is no surprise for me at all … ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s indeed interesting if you will have to use your real name… I guess everyone would be dying to see who’s behind this brilliant photography… ๐Ÿ™‚

        oh, I now understand what an underground cartoonist means… thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

        ps. Lol, I will remember to come back, I promise you ๐Ÿ™‚ I just need a short break… no missing persons this time ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Love love love “Farewelling…” All those people, all that joy…what better tribute to a life well-led?
    I’ve recently told my family I want bagpipes. How this will blend into a Buddhist ceremony remains to be seen. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Bet none of ’em was one of those buggers with one wonky wheel … Grrrrrrrr …
    Lovely shots, LD. The Cenotaph one easily the best – oh, and the mourners for Martin. He would’ve be tickled pink !

  5. The lady in rush hour is very beautiful. What in the world is an โ€œunderground cartoonist?โ€ Are those real people on real trolleys? This is an interesting world, I must say. Thank you for opening my eyes to many things in your end of the world.

  6. I really enjoyed this year’s selection. Tin City was one of my favourites. The other I loved – couldn’t tear my eyes away from – was Lisa Maree Williams’ Rio Station – the family with dog, and emu. Thanks for posting these. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You’re welcome. I think I saw more people taking photos of Tin City than any of the others. An emu, or a kangaroo – unmistakable for Australia.

      Did you also see the Little Sydney Lives display, of children’s photography? It was near the corner near the Museum. Some great shots there too.

  7. Interesting idea to take a picture of the assembly at a funeral – can’t imagine doing that!! Not sure the faces would always look so cheerful? ๐Ÿ˜

    The tin hut in the desert is fascinating! Is that more than one image created as photo art, or does it just look like that? And the one called Rush Hour is good too, I like the way you can only see the one woman, she definitely has that rush hour face! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I think it reflects on the kind of guy he probably was. Funerals can be an act of mourning, or a celebration of life, or both. I’m pretty sure the tin city photo was just one photo, produced to enhance it’s qualities – it was popular. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. LB says:

    You find the most incredible art installations and events. The photos that you chose to highlight are so thought provoking! and Fun, too!

  9. I really, really love the funeral pic, not just because I have never seen so many smiling faces at an even and much less at a funeral, but it is really a great photo. My absolute favourite is the rush-hour girl! I wonder how would you show the Australian life in a single image?

    • Tes, I was impressed that he took his camera there to take a photo, and everyone cooperated. Amazing!

      Not sure what I would enter, maybe a candid shot of people on the streets. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I should enter next year? ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. The first photo really packed a powerful punch (the emotion and thought), and then the church shot brings great closure… Great series, with the Tin City pretty amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

