Sculpture by the sea 21

“The invaders”

Sydney October 2014 (9 photos)

The 18th annual Sculpture by the sea exhibition at Bondi is now in its final week. This free public event, running from 23 October to 9 November, includes 109 exhibiting artists from 16 countries around the world. It is held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach.

LOOK WHO’S HERE…, by Janaki Lele.

Statement: The work explores animal forms, nature and architecture through paper. The technique and subject matter kindles curiosity and amusement.

Sculpture by the sea 22

Sculpture by the sea  28

“We know what you did last summer”

THE GUARDIANS, by Carla Gottgens.

Statement: They are here to oversee and protect. Often unnoticed, hidden and shunned. Friend or foe? They are the guardians.

Sculpture by the sea 29

During my descent via these steps, I wondered why people were stopping to take photos of the steps. It wasn’t until I got to the bottom that I turned around and looked back at the steps. Some of the exhibits are easily missed if you don’t know where to look.

Sculpture by the sea 27

Sculpture by the sea 25

“Ground control to Major Tom”

NOTHIN’ BUT SKY, by Braddon Snape.

Statement: The work beckons one to immerse themselves, to funnel and focus their view of the expansive Australian sky, in a moment of isolation.

If you’re wondering, yes I did stick my head through the hole in the sculpture and looked up. I also checked my catalogue over and over again, to see if the flying car was part of the exhibit. Later that night, I learnt that the flying car was a publicity stunt to promote Movember, which in turn is a month long promotion for men’s health issues.

Sorry, couldn’t help myself with a little creative editing…

Sculpture by the sea 26

Sculpture by the sea 23

“Your time will come”

REQUIEM PIECE, by Stephen Harrison.

Statement: The work is inspired by symbolism, mythology and the graveyards of Paris and Prague.

Sculpture by the sea 24

“Joining the queue”

CHAIN REACTION, by Michael Van Dam.

Statement: Everything we do effects (sic) others, whether it’s acts of kindness or of violence. It’s all linked. For every action there is a chain reaction.

I thought you might like a view of part of the coastal walkway, standing at the Bondi start point and looking south. Fortunately, this wasn’t a busy time of the day. The exhibits are dotted around the path.

This is part 2 of a 5 part series.

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (5)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (4)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (3)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1)

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (2)

Image

69 thoughts on “Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (2)

  1. Last caption: everything we do affects others.
    I prefer to think of the Third Law as being “for every action that is an equal and opposite reaction”. Dunno about a chain reaction …
    Photos sublime. Of course.

  2. KG says:

    It would have been a real shocker if I had seen that edited photograph without the original one or even the comment of yours. That was well done πŸ™‚
    I just loved the ant. Too cute.

    • Thanks. That kind of photoshopping is not what I’m about, so I wanted to provide context. It was actually kind of weird standing there and seeing this helicopter towing a car come right along the headland, several times. πŸ™‚

  3. Omg my 14-year old son would totally love walking up those stairs. It’s so cool…and the Requiem piece is very spooky. Thanks for sharing great photos.

    • The Requiem piece was life size and hidden amongst the trees at the apex of a blind curve. If the path were any narrower, I may well have fallen off the cliff in initial surprise. πŸ™‚

  4. I love those spiders, they look so much fun, kind of removes the scariness away from the crawling spider! πŸ˜€

    I wouldn’t want to stumble across that Requiem sculpture in the dark….creepy would be an understatement!!!

    It’s not often you see cars swinging in mid air like that I guess, and I love your editing! I can now see how some of those UFO pictures might have been done. That’s assuming of course, they haven’t just been creatively stuck on – which some look like they have! πŸ˜‰

    Looking forward to seeing more of your amazing pictures in January! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Sophie. I thought the street art would appeal to you. πŸ™‚
      I would need all of November and December to grow any significant moustache. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful week ahead too. πŸ™‚

  5. Great set of pics as usual. A lot of them are bait creep. Especially the mood you create with the first one in silhouette, and the eyes that you can just see. I’m gutted that I’m never home at the right time to see Sculpture by the Sea.

    • Thanks, I’ll group a set of happy ones together later. πŸ™‚
      It’s getting more and more popular each year. I usually make a day of it, getting a little sun, a lot of walking exercise and a nice lunch at Bondi. So it’s something I try to go to regularly now. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  7. This is a bit of an exhibition, art from all over the world and free too. It’s all open-aired? It would be a bit of a struggle to see it if the weather was a bit damp. Great editing, Dragon. Flying car in the sky. I’m sure you wanted to sit in it up there πŸ™‚

  8. Great photos! And such an amazing looking day to be out and seeing all the sculptures. The little invaders are my favourite so far. Too cute πŸ™‚

  9. Lignum!.
    Such a great post over here… I love the photographs you have taken and particularly smiled at the steps’ count… Moral of the story: sometimes you need to turn around just to take a peek and check out if you haven’t missed anything!.:star:
    All the best to you, Aquileana πŸ˜€

  10. very creative… I think I the last one, the chainreaction, best, in terms of concept and representation… the car is crazy, no doubt… I bet you were tempted to get in that flying car and take a shot of the exhibition from a higher angle PoV?! … I would have been lol πŸ™‚

    lookin forward to the other parts in the series, Lignum πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Alex. I like the juxtaposition of the chain reaction sculpture and the chain of people along the path. πŸ™‚ The flying car was a bit surreal. I thought it was going to land and people were going to jump out of the car. πŸ™‚

  11. And you thought well πŸ™‚ I love everything on this page except for that (though moving) Asian girl in the header with poor skin and a bit of an attitude. I am sorry to have to bring her up again, but it is one of those faces I could just slap πŸ˜€ (will you forgive me my outbursts?). I am overwhelmed to be here, honestly, with all the stashed beauties you have waiting….

    • Thanks, Paula. There’s the natural beauty of the landscape and the beauty of the sculptures. Take your pick. πŸ™‚

      And no problem, during my shutdown for Christmas, I’ll review all my headers, and remove/change some. Your opinion is noted. πŸ™‚ Until then, just hit the refresh button if she shows up.

  12. P.S. I like your music selection for this tour… especially Major Tom πŸ™‚ That’s the first I hear of Movember – it should be as important and publicized as the pink ribbon month.

  13. maamej says:

    There were so many people when I went I missed the artwork on the stairs completely! I guess that’s partly the point. Love the flying car.

  14. Wow Lignum, I am simply overwhelmed at so many stimulating moments and particularly enjoy the solitude and view of the Chain Reaction with all those little hatted heads bobbing down below.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

