sculpture by the sea 41

“Because I’m happy…”

Sydney October 2014 (9 photos)

The 18th annual Sculpture by the sea exhibition at Bondi is now over. This free public event included 109 exhibiting artists from 16 countries around the world, and was held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach.

THE ASCETIC, by Naidee Changmoh.

Statement: Inspired by the purity and happiness of children. The work relates to Buddhist philosophy which keeps the mind close to peace.

sculpture by the sea 56

“Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth”

sculpture by the sea 42

“Thar she blows”

BREACHING, by Michael Greve.

Statement: All about boundaries, crossing from one to another, if only for a short time. The action of launching out of your natural environment, if only for a few moments, is something that resonates with us.

sculpture by the sea 44

“The mother and child reunion is only a motion away”

THE MOMENT, by R.M. Gomboc.

Statement: The work represents the moment of the first glance that bonds mother and child.

sculpture by the sea 49

“Wild horses could not drag me away from you””

WHICH WAY FORWARDS, by Harrie Fasher.

Statement: A double headed rocking horse is a humorous look at our different approaches to life. Pulling in opposing directions, one end gallops into the future whilst the other proceeds with control and power.

sculpture by the sea 55

“Convoluted”

TRANSFIGURATION “RAISE” III, by Mitsuo Takeuchi.

Statement: An experiment, in which the artist is expressing the concept of position and topologies as one (minimalistic) substance.

sculpture by the sea 48

“On the rocks”

THE BOOT POOL, by Ian Swift.

Statement: From the South coast to Newcastle, ocean pools were largely made by families wanting a safe place to swim. Could it happen now?

sculpture by the sea 40

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one”

THAT TRANQUIL MOMENT, by Stephen Marr.

Statement: A figurative work that endeavours to metaphorically personify aspects of humanity using the sculpture as a canvas to extend the concept(s).

sculpture by the sea 46

“I hope someday you will join us, and the world will be as one”

MAN PLAYING WITH BIRDS (2012), by Wang Shugang.

Statement: The work explores the relationship between man and nature. It combines the traditional material of bronze with the traditional arts language of realistic representation.

This is part 4 of a 5 part series. The final part will appear later this week.

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (5)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (3)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (2)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1)

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (4)

Image

92 thoughts on “Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (4)

  1. Lots of material for contemplation. I bet it was a long, but interesting day for you. I love the first and last ones in the series, and I just realized that they’re both Asian in style.

    • It is a full day event for me, especially since I park about 3 beaches away and get about 10km of walking in, but it’s worth the time and effort. 🙂 There’s a certain serenity about the first and last ones.

      • I absolutely agree….Buty to walk so many kms… Thanks to God the weather looks great… I bet you spend the whole day each time…
        Thanks a lot for sharing them L:D:!!! I love the whole series!

        • It’s good exercise and a good photography outing. Then I break for lunch at Bondi, and walk back the same way to get different light.

          Glad you’re enjoying these. Thanks very much. 🙂

  2. another incredible post from you 🙂 so full of sunlight and color in your world too, Lignum… 🙂 it’s great that you include the names of the sculptures and the statements of their authors… thus I can compere my first thoughts and associations with those intended by the sculptors… art is such a great source of inspiration!!

    and so are your song references… I luuuuuve the first one…!!! what a great start of my week 🙂 🙂

    • I’m glad you’re happy. 🙂 Art is very open to interpretation but I think it helps to know what the artist is thinking or wanting to achieve, so I’m happy include that information.

      Somehow, I knew you’d like that song reference. 🙂 Have a great week ahead.

  3. The little guy does show the purity and happiness, made me smile 🙂 The ” …only a motion away” is quite moving. “I hope someday you will join us,…” goes perfectly with the statue. I so enjoy the exhibition tour. Thank you, Dragon!

    • Thanks, Indah. It was a adverse exhibition, and I was able to group a few “happy ones” together this time. Just another eclectic mix for the last one. 🙂 Have a good week ahead.

  4. to remain in him says:

    Wow, amazing shots, all of them. I like the way you compose the frame, some minimalism gives the poster impression. Well done.

  5. First about the header before I forget – I like that smart looking old lady with fingers almost touching her chin.. Now, let me see what else you got 😀

  6. I looked at all of them carefully – i like the last one best, followed by little Buddhist, statue painted as canvas, horse – the heck I love them all. Marvelous captures, Draco. Thank you 🙂

  7. I’m really glad that the Greve work won the people’s prize – I absolutely LOVE it. And it’s not just nice to look at, but incredibly clever, as well !!!
    Much as with these shots, LD …

  8. I truly love the Man Playing with Birds…I want it in my own garden, but the whale was certainly most thought-provoking.

    I’m glad you’ve included the artists’ statements with each piece–I would have blown by some of them without that extra bit of insight.

    • Sadly the statue of the man with birds was on a rock ledge below footpath level which made getting a good shot quite difficult. I agree it would be a good addition to a home garden, and he’s part of a series of 5.

      And same with me – sometimes I need a little guidance to understand the artwork. I thought “the moment” was perhaps a whale tail. 🙂

  9. pausesandclicks says:

    Thank you for sharing all your photos of this event. Makes me want to add this to my bucket list. Your images of it have been wonderful and it would be an amazing thing to experience in person!

  10. I’m back to take another tour 🙂 Every single one is taken from a perfect angle and lighting, and you chose a perfect song for each. Dragon is truly awesome! Looking forward to seeing your Thursday post 🙂

  11. They are all so great that in this case I find really hard to choose…
    Regardless, the one with the horses truly caught my attention.
    Great photographs, dear Lignum. Best wishes. Aquileana 😀

  12. This exposition is very very beautiful one. i love a lot of these works. Thanks to share them with us. So many original things and with differents material. Beautiful !
    Hugs 🙂

  13. Pingback: Photography 101 Day 11: A Pop of Color | The World Is a Book...

    • Thanks for taking a look at these. The sculptures are great and the coastal setting makes it a great day out. They estimate that at least half a million people visited the 2 week exhibition last year.

  14. Pingback: Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (2) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

