sculpture by the sea 45

“A horse! A horse! My kingdom for a horse!”

Sydney October 2014 (12 photos)

The 18th annual Sculpture by the sea exhibition at Bondi is now over. This free public event included 109 exhibiting artists from 16 countries around the world, and was held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach.

RESIGNATION, by Michael Purdy.

Statement: The artist’s father, a twice Australian chess champion, died in 2011. This chess piece, slumping in resignation, is in part a memorial to him while exploring the broader theme of mortality.

sculpture by the sea 52

“They’re here”

WANDERERS, by Brad Jackson.

Statement: The wanderers are a passing family group of travelling orbs. Their origin, destination and intentions remain unknown.

sculpture by the sea 51

“Walk like an Egyptian”

CROSSING THE SKY BY BOAT, by Peter Tilley.

Statement: (Part of) A ritual vessel for use in the afterlife to carry the resurrected King with the Sun God across the heavens on an eternal journey.

sculpture by the sea 53

“The portal”

WIND STONE – THE THRESHOLD OF CONSCIOUSNESS, by Koichi Ishino.

Statement: It takes you from one place into another, and when you are about to start something new, you are also on a threshold.

sculpture by the sea 57

“Sculpture inside”

#SELFIESCULPTURE, by Lucy Barker.

Statement: Climb inside and become your own sculpture. An experiment in audience participation and documentation.

Basically, people stood in the box and took selfies or had their photos taken. This particular woman came with her own personal professional film crew.

sculpture by the sea 47

“Mini-me and friends”

ISOLATED MOMENT, by Emily Lynch.

Each year at Sculpture by the sea, there is also a tent for the “Sculpture Inside” component of the exhibition. Smaller and more fragile displays, often by the same artists with outdoor sculptures are displayed in there. I thought I’d offer this artwork as a different take on the minimalist theme over at the WordPress Weekly Photo challenge this week.

..

sculpture by the sea 50

“Morning has broken”

PERMANENT SUNRISE, by Alejandro Propato.

Statement: This installation is dedicated to the sunrise at Bondi. It is ephemeral but we can imagine that its beauty could be forever.

For more of a landscape view of this, please see the last photo in Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1)

sculpture by the sea 60

“Art – I’ve still got you covered”

SISYPHUS, by George Andric.

Artist’s statement: The artist strives to find some sense of order that is independent of the world that presents itself – which at times can be deceptive and illusory.

As we end this series, I thought it might be nice to go back to the sculpture I started part 1 of this series with. A very eye catching piece, particularly for those with camera in hand.

sculpture by the sea 61

Of course, you’ve realised by now particularly from the artist’s statement, that the shape of the sculpture is just an optical illusion…

sculpture by the sea 62

sculpture by the sea 58

“A face only a mother could love”

BABIES THREE PIECES, by David Černý.

Statement: None provided. However, from Wikipedia: ČernΓ½ was born in Prague. He gained notoriety in 1991 by painting a Soviet tank pink, to serve as a war memorial in central Prague. As the Monument to Soviet tank crews was still a national cultural monument at that time, his act of civil disobedience was considered “hooliganism” and he was briefly arrested. Several of his works are considered controversial.

Due to a customs delay, this artwork of 3 baby sculptures didn’t arrive until the second week of the exhibition. I happened to see this one whilst they were unpacking it. If you’re interested to know where the other two were placed, take a very careful look at the last photo in Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (2)

This is the final part of my 5 part series on the Sculpture by the sea exhibition for 2014. In 5 posts I have presented 42 photos of several of the 109 sculptures. I hope you’ve enjoyed the series.

Update: My sincere thanks to the WordPress editorial team for their acknowledgement and support of this series:

frpressed

sculpture by the sea 59

“The End”

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

Other posts in this series:

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (4)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (3)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (2)

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (1)

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (5)

Image

94 thoughts on “Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014 (5)

    • Descending to the beach at Tamarama, these were the first sculptures I saw. 5 of them in total, with 1 hiding in the bushes. I kind of imagined I was in a futuristic sci-fi version of Jurassic Park. I knew it would be a good event after that.

  1. ima now laughing out loud at the last shot … those three guys in front of the sculpture do not know what they are missin… lol πŸ˜€

    the Sunrise is my fav here…

    it was a fantastic series whcih I greatly enjoyed thanks to your amazing photos, Lignum… soooo.. what’s up next? πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much. πŸ™‚ It’s funny, I moved around the back of the baby and started photographing it’s rear. Then other people saw what I was doing and came around and did the same. πŸ™‚

      Next? We’ll see. Festival reporting is over for this year.

    • From Wikipedia, in Greek mythology Sisyphus was a king of Ephyra (now known as Corinth). He was punished for chronic deceitfulness by being compelled to roll an immense boulder up a hill, only to watch it roll back down, and to repeat this action forever. It’s a clever title and interpretation by the artist for his work.

      I took a few candids but mostly in relation to the artworks. This time. πŸ™‚

      • Oh–got the Sisyphus ref all right. It was the actual SHAPE (should have been round)that deceived (is there a theme here?) me: it photographed as a round ball and I had no clue to its true shape until that final shot. That forced a total re-eval for the title…and a head-bob and smile of appreciation for the artist.

    • Thanks, Indah. The baby’s bottom seemed like a natural way to end the series. πŸ™‚ Sculpture by the sea is a good idea. Looking forward to next year’s event already. πŸ™‚

  2. I only wish I could visit the exhibition… Resignation was my favorite until I saw the Permanent Sunrise. The Wanderers did not impress much until I read the artist’s statement. Sisyphus caught me by surprise, not surprisingly πŸ™‚ Gosh, Thank you so much for the walk!

    • The cryptic clue was in the title: In Greek mythology Sisyphus was a king of Ephyra (now known as Corinth). He was punished for chronic deceitfulness by being compelled to roll an immense boulder up a hill, only to watch it roll back down, and to repeat this action forever. And yes, I stood and admired it for a while. πŸ™‚

      There were many clever and interesting exhibits this year. I enjoyed it. Thanks for visiting it with me.

  3. These 42 high quality photos enable us to sit back and enjoy these remarkable sculptures. The notes and selected songs are great additions to these art works. What a treat! It must have taken much your effort and time. Can’t thank you enough, Dragon!

  4. Another great photo series, Dragon. The sculptures say so much about life around us. I thought the odd one out was the ‘Sculpture inside’ one…some people really just want to be in the limelight themselves πŸ˜‰ Art can be anything, what we make it to be. Nothing’s too wild, too simple or too silly to be called art πŸ™‚

  5. You’ve outdone yourself this year, I think LD – though there are many who would say it ain’t possible. I was just lunching with HeyJude, and we commented upon our mutual admiration of your work. Two stroppy dames ! – that can’t be too bad … [grin]

  6. The Sculpture by the sea exhibition at Bondi is amazing… So original and creative… “Wanderers is my favourite one”, even when they are all stunning.
    Thanks for sharing, Lignum. All the very best to you.
    Aquileana πŸ˜€

  7. maamej says:

    Another great collection of pics, thank you for sharing your takes on this exhibition, I’ve really enjoyed them. The pic of ‘The Portal’ really captures what the exhibition is all about, for me, that interaction of sculpture and environment – it’s beautiful.

    • I think it helps to know what the artist was thinking and intended, and then comparing it your initial thoughts. Sometimes I get it, sometimes I don’t, but that’s a good thing. Thank you Sheri.

  8. Very beautiful set, I like very much the birds without bodies and the cercle sculpture that reflect the beautiful landscape around.
    The baby is cool also but why is he tie, it is a little weird.
    Again a beautiful set and the pictures are as always high quality.
    Have a nice WE ahead my dear πŸ™‚

  9. Great photos as always Draco! I’m bummed I missed seeing it this year, but your photos mean I don’t have to travel far to get the experience πŸ™‚ Not sure I’d trek out to see those babies…

    Also, congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Well-deserved πŸ™‚

    • That’s a shame. It’s a good excursion out. So many school groups there as well – more for the teachers to get out of the classroom, I think. πŸ™‚ Yes, those baby faces were freaky. too bad there was no explanation as to what that was about.

      And thank you. It was pleasant surprise. πŸ™‚

  10. A face that only the mother could love – agreed, but I love his cheeks. Draco, this is a great grand finale of the show, and I think the WordPress team were right to freshly pressed it. Bravo, buddy!

    • Thank you. Many of the sculptures, small and large, looked purpose made for the particular location they were in. For example, a stylised waterfall that was positioned on the cliff edge and wooden people climbing on actual rocks. Very clever stuff.

  11. The clarity of each photo is absolutely amazing! The colors of each photo are very vibrant which capture my attention πŸ™‚ All of these photos reminds me of my studying memories back in Sydney. I can’t wait to revisit this beautiful place soon. πŸ˜‰

      • You’re welcome. πŸ™‚ Good to know the weather was great that day. You know sometimes it’s hard to expect Sydney’s weather. If I ever come back again, I would love to meet you in person. πŸ˜‰

        • Rain, wind and storms aren’t uncommon that time of year, so I was fortunate to have brilliant sunshine on the days I went.
          If you come by, let me know. We’ll see what we can do.

        • “Rain, wind and storms aren’t uncommon that time of year”…You’re totally right, especially during winter… I always love to see sunshine in Sydney and glad to know the days you went were sunny. Yea, I’ll let you know for sure πŸ˜‰

  12. I enjoyed seeing this series as I have participated in similar shows here in the US. The choices of artwork were really great and your photography was awesome. And, as an artist, thank you for giving the artists credit and saying a bit about each work that you posted…I know there are pictures of my work out there in cyberspace that have no name attached to them which is somewhat annoying.

  13. The baby like one, very humorous, but ugh, the face! 😐 And the orb things on legs – scary thought! The chess piece is very striking, not sure what it’s saying though. Finally resting from playing chess all those years?!! πŸ˜‰

    They are all very striking in their own way, well done for capturing them so beautifully – and for being Freshly Pressed too!!! πŸ˜€

I'm away on holidays. Please leave your comment and I'll get back to you when I can...

