good news week 1

“Breaking News: Draco featured on Freshly Pressed”

Sydney May – November 2014 (4 photos)

It’s good news week.
Someone’s dropped a bomb somewhere
Contaminating atmosphere
And blackening the sky

It’s good news week.
Someone’s found a way to give
The rotting dead a will to live
Go on and never die

Have you heard the news?
What did it say?
Who’s won that race?
What’s the weather like today?

Hedgehoppers Anonymous were a one-hit-wonder UK quintet who had a hit in 1965 with their satirical protest song, It’s good news week. Most of the band were in the air force and the band were named after RAF slang for the Vulcan bomber, which flew low to avoid radar.

good news week 2

“I’m reading it but I can’t believe it”

Some of you may have noticed that over the weekend, I was featured on Freshly Pressed for one of my series of posts on Sculpture by the sea, Bondi 2014. If you’re not on WordPress, the address is: http://discover.wordpress.com/ .

It was a very pleasant surprise to learn that I was being Freshly Pressed. It has been quite an experience. I must admit that I wasn’t quite ready for the avalanche of email notifications that came, but it was a nice first world problem to have. My sincere thanks to the WordPress editorial team for this honour and recognition.

frpressed

Over at the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge, the topic is Achievement.

good news week 4

“Tell me more, tell me more”

I was looking through my drop down menus and noticed that after all this time, my post on Sculpture by the Sea 2013 remains one of my top liked posts. In view of that, I’ve decided to add my Sculpture by the sea posts to my permanent menu at the top of the page under the header. I guess I’m obliged now to go to Sculpture by the sea in 2015.

the Australian

“Some guys have all the luck”

Do you remember Mr Biggus? If you don’t and you want to know why he is called Biggus, you can find him in a previous post here: Always look on the bright side of life. He’ll be back to astound you in new photos soon.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

It’s good news week

Image

111 thoughts on “It’s good news week

  1. Well deserved for consistently high standard. I remember that song, bit of an age giveaway. I also had cause to remember “not not – not responsible” today, which dates me into an even earlier decade.

  2. Congratulations Draco! You have wonderful posts and great photography 😉 it won’t be surprise if you will be on the WP feature in the future 😉 Best wishes and again, amazing monochrome photos in this post!!

  3. Congratulations, Dragon! Great news, indeed 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing it with us! Why took WP this long to discover the jewel… Have a wonderful week 🙂

  4. ima sooo happy that you are happy to be freshly pressed, Lignum 🙂 🙂 the whole series was fantastic so I’m glad it got the attention it deserved…

    and this series of newspaper readers is just as awesome… first one is fabulous for the attentive and concentrated look you’ve captured… you are so good at doing what you are doing!! 🙂

    Sometime ago I tried to shoot something similar, people reading books in the street… but I only got 3 book readers in some several months lol 🙂 so I quit… if I start a series on smokers in the streets though, I’d have it ready in no time.. sadly…

    glad you had such a great weekend… hope your week will be just as wonderful!!

    • Thank you so very much, Alex. I mostly do B&W but I get recognised for my colour photography. Is that saying something to me? 🙂 Seriously, it was a fun experience with Freshly Pressed.

      Photos of smokers and mobile phone users could fill a second and third blog, easily. I like newspaper readers. The newspaper takes their attention and acts as a barrier to the outside world. It lets me get close in for the shot. 🙂

      Have a wonderful week ahead too, Alex.

  5. How the **** did I miss THAT ? Probably because in my opinion you should’ve had about 500 Freshly Pressed awards long since. But honestly, LD, I am sorry not to have been among the throng congratulating you, my dear – I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.
    CONGRATTERS OLD BEAN !!!! – and a big fat hug from your Sydney cohort …

    • The aftershocks of being Freshly Pressed are still being experienced, M-R. It was good to see a familiar face or two on that Saturday, amongst the others. You’ve been there- it’s a wild ride. 🙂

      Thank you very much for the support. Right back at you. 🙂

  6. Well done Lignum and so well deserved although I do feel as though we have been enjoying our own little personal FP world each time you post! How wonderful to know even more people will now have the thrill of meeting the fabulous Mr Biggus amongst others!

  7. Great song, great observations and great news! Though I am surprised you weren’t freshly pressed for the Light Festival posts you did. As Sarah says
    “Congratulations
    And jubilations
    I want the world to know I’m happy as can be…”
    Jude xx

  8. Congrats, Dragon. Well deserved for getting Freshly Pressed. Lovely set of images this time round too. I particularly like the one of the guy reading his paper by the set of stairs…seemed like you got him cornered 😀

  9. Congratulations Lignum. Your posts on “sculpture by the sea” were spectacular so I’m glad one made it to “Freshly pressed”.
    Did you notice the trend? only older people read newspapers. Where are the young readers? have a wonderful week!

  10. I enjoyed the photographs and the added text. Coming from a country where there are radio news every hour and updates every half an hour in some stations I feel very related to it. There are almost never good news here – only not so bad ones.

    Go, go next year too. I wish I could go by myself.

  11. maamej says:

    I did indeed notice you on freshly pressed, congratulations, richly deserved, as well as a cool coincidence in the week of the ‘achievement’ photo challenge. I like all your newspaper pics in this post, very striking in black & white.

  12. What a great thing to be featured on Freshly Pressed, congratulations Draco! Your photos and stories are so great it’s wonderful that more people get to know about it! A great set of photos again, a good news weed it is indeed! Can’t wait for Mr. Biggus’s next appearance. 🙂

  13. Lignum Draco! This is such great news! Congratulations! I’ve always thought there are both an artist and a genius in you and I am so happy that this has been noticed! It’s well-deserved! You are a wonderful photographer and a very engaging storyteller! Thank you for sharing your work with us!

  14. At first, congrats my dear Draco, you deserve it !!!! 🙂
    I like so much these set, especially the one with the the sculpture and the little girl.
    You ‘are a great street photographer and a great photographer only of course.
    Hugs my dear and take care 🙂

The Wood Dragon is listening...

