some guys have all the luck 1

“Hey Bob, do you see what I see down there?”

Sydney August – November 2014 (8 photos + 1 bonus photo of the wood dragon)

some guys have all the luck 2

“Oh yeah, I see him. And I’m taking photos!”

some guys have all the luck 3

Is that who I think it is? No, it can’t be. Yes, it is!”

someguys have all the luck 7

“Biggus is back in town! And this time …”

some guys have all the luck 4

“… He did it with Kylie”

Not many people are famous enough worldwide to be able to be instantly known by their first name only, particularly when it is a very common first name. However, Kylie Minogue is one of those people.

And not many people will go into the middle of the city in the same outfit except for a change of oversize slogan on his sweatshirt. However, Biggus is one of those people.

Over at the wordpress Weekly Photo Challenge, this week’s topic is: Achievement.

…..

Do you remember Biggus?

the Australian-4

He featured in a previous post, Always look on the bright side of life

…..

some guys have all the luck 5.

“Some guys have all the luck”

some guys have all the luck 6

“I should be so lucky, lucky, lucky, lucky …”

…..

Speaking of achievements, on a personal note, I had 2 this past week:

frpressed

… and …

bridgeclimb

Yes, that’s me, posing for a photograph halfway up the arch of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, yesterday. I may post about this latter achievement in another post. But that can wait until next year.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Some guys have all the luck

Image

101 thoughts on “Some guys have all the luck

  1. lol… when I read there was going to be a bonus photo of you in the post, my first reaction was to scroll down fast to see you… but then, I decided to scroll veeeery slowly, to delay the moment 😀 wow, your sleeve looks fantastic on a photo LOL 🙂 better than nothing I guess …

    fantastic photos (and text to go with them), as usual… you have never climbed that bridge? I remember it from your previous photos… 🙂

    • Thank you, Alex. That guy makes for a good storyline. 🙂

      My sleeve? Thank you. I like to tease. 🙂

      That was the first time I climbed it and I enjoyed it immensely. I’m considering doing one of the night time climbs now. 🙂

      • I can see you are very happy about having conqured that bridge, Lignum 🙂 I guess the night time climb will be even more exciting, with the lights of the city on… am already looking forward to that too… maybe then we are getting a picture of the entire jacket, not only the sleeve? you are such a tease… 🙂 🙂

        • I was a little hesitant at first, but I’m happy I did it without any problems. 🙂

          If I do the night time climb, I wonder if they’ll listen to my request to take my photo at the top with the flash OFF. 🙂

  2. Ah the return of Mister Dick hihi !!!! What a cool and funny man 😉 A cool story this set 🙂
    I love the last one in B&W with the man that make a nap.
    And of course great portrait of you, I am very happy to meet you 🙂

    • Thank you, Sophie. I saw him from upstairs and couldn’t believe it. I went straight down to shoot him. It made my day. 🙂

      I left out the big smile on my face, walking up that bridge. The view was incredible. My left arm says hello. 🙂

    • It’s a beautiful restored building, now mostly high end retail. It’s a great spot for people watching. All the B&W shots except for the last one were taken inside there. Thank you.

  3. I can’t stop laughing. What a character, and your shots of him are priceless. The one next to the fire extinguisher and hose reel sign is my fave. Maybe he’s afraid he’s too hot?

    Congrats on climbing the bridge! You’ve really been movin’ on up this week.

    • His back was obscured and did not make for a good shot, but there was a slogan on it too: ” But I can’t remember it at all”. I’m wondering if there are more in his wardrobe. In fact, I’m wondering if he has any plain clothes at all.

      Thank you. Time to be a tourist in my own city again. 🙂

  4. OK, so you’re a FIT photog. ! {grin}
    Goodonyer: Stringer did it, too. I’d post the photo but for the fact that there’s someone else in it whom I detest. That’s what you get for being intolerant – or what *I* get.
    You’re a good bloke, LD !

  5. The sweatshirts look exactly the same, I wonder how many he has with logos? You will have to stalk him – maybe he visits the QVB on the same day every week?

    And congrats on your achievement – what’s that saying? A fool and his money are soon parted? No, seriously, I’m happy you enjoyed the climb. Me, I was happy to photograph people climbing the bridge 🙂

    • I shudder to think what other slogans he has. And perhaps he does, or maybe I’m just lucky. 🙂

      If not for the gift certificate I was presented with, I may never have done it. However, standing atop the bridge and waving my arms like a madman along with 8 others, was quite a liberating experience. 🙂

  6. Oooohhh…this was the “old guy” post you had hinted at, right? I’d been hoping for something a little..er…um…oh dear…hotter than our old buddy, Biggus.
    The bridge climb is a pretty big deal and I am impressed. I know I could not do it

    • Yes, what’s wrong with Biggus? A sense of humour and a style icon. What else do you need? 🙂

      Thank you. We all wore safety harnesses. The mesh steel catwalk was surprisingly solid, even though you could see through it down from a height of 3 storeys. I’ve walked on softer footpaths. And if the 75 y.o. guy in my group could do it, so could I. 🙂

  7. Love the sequence of shots and the captions. That first photo is very amusing, I wonder why he is covering his eyes. The others aren’t. Haha, Mr Biggus again. Are you sure he’s not stalking you? 🙂

    • In the first photo, you mean, ears? As I recall, he was making a phone call. Mobile phone in one hand, and using the other hand to block the noise from the other ear. I do that too in noisy areas. 🙂

      • Yeah, the first photo. Mobile phone in hand. That would explain why he looked that way. He was probably looking for a friend who was downstairs or something. Rarely do I answer phones in noisy areas, especially on public transport 🙂

  8. I love Biggus – the Story. Are these sweaters available anywhere? He must get them printed up – then the bloody track suit pants. Crikey! Well done on the bridge walk. Ar and brilliant photos.

  9. That was hilarious! Well we should ask Kylie about the “goods”, she should know better…hehe 😛 I loved how you put all the images together and created this story..very entertaining the least! Congratulations for the achievements! I’m sure there will be a lot more to come! 😀 People enjoy your blog and for a good reason! My love from the beautiful and cold Vienna!

  10. LB says:

    Biggus! I don’t remember him but I’ll not forget him now!
    This post is so much fun. You told the story with great photos and good humor.
    Next time: don;t cut off your head 🙂

    • I can’t believe how many people I saw walking around with these at Sculpture by the Sea. Honestly, if I take a photo of something, that’s all the proof I need that I was there. 🙂

  11. Wow, that Biggus sure has an eye-catching style that he’s not letting go of in a hurry! And well done for doing the bridge climb, settling the butterflies just thinking about it!

  12. Pingback: Membership has its Rewards | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening...

