background 3

dragon hunt 1

Sydney May – August 2014 (a story in 7 photos)

#1: Attention, this is Number 1. We know “the dragon” is in this area. He is armed with his camera and he is very very dangerous. He is a menace and I want him neutralised at all costs. Find him now. NOW!!!


dragon hunt 2

#12: I’m moving into position, Sir. He won’t get past me.

dragon hunt 4

#9: All clear in this area, Sir. Wait!!! I can smell almond croissants. I sense the dragon is very near.

dragon hunt 3

#42: No sign of him here, Boss. He wouldn’t dare appear before me. I dare him to try and shoot me.

#86: Chief – We’ve found him! Send back-up immediately! He looks so fierce, yet so debonaire and handsome.

dragon hunt 5

#1: Excellent! There is an “asset” in your area. He’ll be there in 30 seconds. Don’t let the dragon escape.

dirty deeds done dirt cheap

#1: All other “assets” immediately proceed to number 86’s position. Show the dragon no mercy.

(Asset = assassin, in spytalk. Reference: The Bourne series)

dragon hunt 7

#99: Max! Where’d he go? I only blinked and the dragon has disappeared. Number 1 won’t be happy.

#86: Ummm, Chief. We missed him by that much. Sorry about that.

#1: This organisation does not tolerate failure, 86. “Assets” – you have a new target: Get Smart!

Look out for the next instalment of this saga, “Attack of the Fembots”. Scheduled for 2015.

My modus operandi is to shoot close with a prime lens. I used a 35mm lens for photo 2. All the others were with a 50mm lens. I use a manual zone focussing technique which means I can take my photos from chest or hip level***, from directly in front of people, and not be noticed. Almost all my candid shots are taken whilst walking. I accept a little motion blur if it means capturing the moment undetected. Sharpness helps, but it isn’t everything in candid street photography.

*** Over at the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge, the topic is Angular. To quote the author of the challenge: “Angular also offers a chance to shoot from an entirely new perspective: from above, below, or even from the margins of the fray. Above all, have fun!” I hope this includes shooting from hip level.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The day of “the dragon”

Image

84 thoughts on “The day of “the dragon”

  1. “He looks so fierce, yet so debonaire and handsome.” Yep, I can imagine that from one of his hand image on the bridge from last post πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ My investigation finds that the Dragon is actually mister double O seven in mission…
    Great photos series Draco and thank you for good laugh on Monday πŸ˜€

    • Thank you, Paula. Let’s see what the story director has in mind for the next adventure. πŸ™‚

      I’ve got so many photos of people on their phones, it’s not funny. Most of my posts this year have been linked to WPC. Mostly I just integrate the keyword into the text.

  2. Are you taking over Matt Damon’s role for the Bourne series? πŸ˜• I always love Matt… If Dragon looks so fierce, yet so debonaire and handsome, I guess I’m fine with it. πŸ™‚ This one is really, really cool, Hehehe…

  3. Nelson says:

    I am surprise to see that you use manual focus and get so good results, I always used automatic focus when shooting from the hip and got mixed results. I think I will try manual focus next time and see the results. By the way I love the story you wrote to go with these.

  4. So cool set, and so funny too !!! πŸ˜€
    You’re a king in this art of street photography,and make a story with some of this ones is a great idea. The dragon is crafty and snake between people without being seen.
    Have a nice day my dear πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Sophie. Living in a big city, I have to play to my strength. And so many people are busy talking on their phone, it’s not hard to get a nice close shot. πŸ™‚
      Have a great week ahead.

  5. your tag “humour” is incorrect…!! it should be “Lignum’s trademark sense of humor that can chase any clouds away and make anyone feel happy, Ignis in particular” lol πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ you are one.of.a.kind… truly πŸ™‚

    love the way you tell your stories, the shots stick together so well πŸ™‚ I will never figure out how you can get so close, No. 4 is straight in the face… it’s a 50 mm equal to 50 mm, right? amazing…

    so you like almond croissants? do you take coffee with them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    good morning!!

    • Thank you very much, Alex. πŸ™‚

      It’s easy. In a crowd, no-one likes eye contact and if you don’t look suspicious, people will ignore you. So if you walk past slowly, you’re just one of the crowd. πŸ™‚ I like cappuccinos with my croissants. πŸ™‚

  6. Absolutely delightful !!! πŸ˜€
    Speaking as a blogger who utilises a bit of ‘Get Smart’ dialogue to invite comments, I am particularly amused and impressed by this.
    Love your imagination, LD !!!!!!!

  7. I love that people have no idea that you are taking their picture. I imagine it took a lot practice to hold the camera steady while walking because I seem to have to fumble with mine every time. By time I get my act together, they know. πŸ™‚

  8. I loved this. “The day of the dragon”. Looks like it was certainly your day, you being invisible and all. Shooting from the hip? Sounds a bit haphazard to get it all in frame πŸ™‚

      • So true. You won’t be invisible if you’re fumbling away with your equipment, Dragon. Sounds like you are so good at what you do that no one notices the camera in your hands *wow* πŸ™‚

  9. “Fierce, debonair AND handsome?” Yup…pretty obvious from your selfie on the bridge climb: Total pulsing suave-itude. πŸ™‚

    Fun story…cool to stitch the shots together like that. And, yes, I repeat myself, but I cannot comprehend how you can pull this off with such fine results…and no criminal citations.

    • Thank you. According to the privacy agreement I signed, I may neither confirm nor deny that I turned down the role for James Bond and Jason Bourne a few years ago. But fighting megalomaniacs atop a bridge would not have ruffled a single hair on my head.

      It is important to always be ready for whatever for whatever circumstance may be encountered on the street. I have a team of lawyers on permanent at-call notice.

  10. I like that you caption your images. I do that because, otherwise, photos don’t always say what you see in them. (Well, they do if you take them right, but you know what I mean.)

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

