background 3

thunderball 1

Sydney 2013 – 2015 (007 photos)

He always runs while others walk
He acts while other men just talk

thunderball 7

He looks at this world and wants it all
So he strikes like Thunderball

resistance is futile

He knows the meaning of success
His needs are more so he gives less

topman

They call him the winner who takes all
And he strikes like Thunderball

Still Clueless

Any woman he wants he’ll get
He will break any heart without regret

thunderball 5

His days of asking are all gone
His fight goes on and on and on
But he thinks that the fight is worth it all

thunderball 9

So I strike like thunderball !!!

The original main title theme to Thunderball was titled “Mr. Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang”, written by John Barry and Leslie Bricusse. Barry had thought he could not write a song about a vague “Thunderball” term or the film’s story, so his song was a description of the character James Bond. The song was removed from the title credits a few weeks before the film’s release after United Artists requested that the theme song contain the film’s title in its lyrics. Barry teamed up with lyricist Don Black and wrote “Thunderball” in a rush. Tom Jones, who sang the new theme song, fainted in the recording booth after singing the song’s final high note. Jones said of the final note, “I closed my eyes and I held the note for so long when I opened my eyes the room was spinning.”

Over at the wordpress weekly challenge, the topic is The Rule of Thirds. As you can see from the last photo, I do obey the photographic rules sometimes.

M: Where the hell have you been?

007: Enjoying “death”.

The name’s Draco. Lignum Draco.

Licensed to thrill.

Bursting back onto your screens for 2015.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Thunderball

Image

92 thoughts on “Thunderball

  1. Yes you do, and very nicely so. The last photo is also my favourite in this series.The most candid portrait I dare say. When I think of my favourite photos on your site I think of cemetery, buildings, a couple in the distance…. then sculptures, and then in the end funny people running, talking, walking. I know you didn’t ask πŸ˜€

  2. Marvelous set of B&W photos, Dragon. All lined up so well with the lyrics. The third photo, the guy with a bit of raised eyebrows. He certainly looks cunning…defensive too, since his arms are folded. Great capture that one.

    Welcome back. What an entrance πŸ™‚

  3. It’s so good to see you double-oh-Lignum! Apparently the rumors of your demise were quite premature… yes… quite indeed. Looking forward to all that you capture with your goldeneye.

  4. I remember the time I went to the movies and saw on the screen, Dr. No, it blew me away. It was something new, and it was really good. A man who lived in the world of the spy. For a second people in the audience left their dreary lives and entered that world. Then the movie was over and people went back to being accountants and bank tellers and in the case of one, spy.

  5. I am so glad you explained that basis for your commentary. At points it did not seem to entirely match the subject (the woman holding the sign for a ‘close-out sale’ for example) but, within in the context of a non-sequitur song written around the nonsense word ‘Thunderball’, it becomes a whimsical artistic license to accompany the photos. I loved the last picture best of all. Do you ever stop your subjects to ask them for their story? Or do you just love the mystery of it all?

  6. Hey there! Great background info. on Thunderball, the perfect vehicle for your fabulous street shots. I do love the way you capture the light. And everything else for that matter. I would imagine if the producers left the title of the song, Mr. Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang, they might have been concerned that the title was referring to the rakish Mr. Jones!

  7. SO great to see you back 007. πŸ˜€
    Must admit I wondered about the daft lyrics to that title song, so thanks for the explanation. I look forward to being back in Sydney with you… what will you inspire me with this year I wonder?
    Jude xx

  8. Welcome back 007 Lignum Draco! πŸ˜€

    I always feel a bit sorry for those who have to stand on the pavement holding ad boards and handing out leaflets – it must be so boring. You’ve captured that tedium well – in shows in her face. I hope she finds a better job someday soon. πŸ™‚

    • A lot of the ad holders I see actually have a book to read, or just keep themselves amused with their phone. I suspect a lot of them are backpackers after some extra cash. So there is some benefit to them.

  9. “it’s raining men… hallelujah!” πŸ˜€ is the song that came to my mind while reading your post πŸ˜€

    gosh, it’s good to see you back, Lignum πŸ™‚

I'm away on holidays. Please leave your comment and I'll get back to you when I can...

