I'll make you famous 1

“With my sunglasses on, I’m Jack Nicholson. Without them, I’m fat and 60.” (Jack Nicholson)

Sydney January 2015 (4 photos)

In the Young Guns movie series, Billy the Kid would taunt his prospective victim with, “Yoo hoo, I’ll make you famous!” The implication being that Billy was so notorious that being shot by him would reward the victim with fame in death.

I wonder if the same could apply for me? What if I called out, “Yoo hoo, I’ll make you famous!” before shooting? Would people feel honoured and rewarded for being shot by me, or would they react as if it were a fate worse than death?

I'll make you famous 2

“Next time I see you, remind me not to talk to you.” (Groucho Marx)

Of course, many people don’t want to be famous, so that phrase might upset them. Perhaps I could say something more generic instead to get a nice response? How would you react if I called out one of the following before taking your photo?

Hasta la vista, baby! (The Terminator)

Yippee Ki Yay! (John McClane)

“You’ve got to ask yourself one question: Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk? (Dirty Harry)

Welcome to Earth! (Captain Hiller)

I am the law! (Judge Dredd)

I am just a figment of your imagination. (K)

You’re the disease and I’m the cure! (Cobra)

Say hello to my little friend! (Tony Montana)

I'll make you famous 3

You talkin’ to me? You talkin’ to me? You talkin’ to me? Then who the hell else are you talkin’ to? You talkin’ to me?
(Travis Bickle)

Ok, perhaps the above aren’t good ideas. Maybe something a little bit less serious would bring out the best in people…

What’s up, doc? (Bugs Bunny)

Throw me a frickin’ bone here! (Dr Evil)

Yeah baby, yeah! (Austin Powers)

I know I might be rewarded with a great shot if I called out before shooting. However, the responses might get predictable after a while…

I'll make you famous 4

“Go away, kid, you bother me!”(WC Fields)

…but not in such friendly language. I think I’ll stick to my current method to get my photographic rewards. πŸ™‚

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

“Yoo hoo, I’ll make you famous!”

Image

69 thoughts on ““Yoo hoo, I’ll make you famous!”

  1. Go with what you know (and are doing) is probably the wise choice, but then again, you could come up with your very own catch phrase like, “do you know who I am?”
    Great shot of the Dali look alike here – a real stand out in this post…

  2. I’m partial to: “Hey sexy, let me see you smile!” In theory. In reality, you’d probably get a picture of me looking puzzled and then looking around to see who you were talking to.

  3. Genial!!!
    I like very much “WhatΒ΄s up doc?”… It has always been in my mind…I do not know why… In fact, in Spanish is “QuΓ© hay de nuevo, viejo?”
    Love it!!!

  4. The Salvador Dali …? – through your lens he looks identical ! I like your idea of the attention-grabbing line, LD … but yes, it would definitely out you to the stage of “FRO and don’t come ’round here again !”.
    πŸ˜€

  5. Sticking with the tried and tested way of shooting. Don’t blame you – if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it It’s working well for you. Those people do not have a clue at all…you’d hope πŸ™‚

  6. Enjoy reading your post and love your photos. IMHO, you don’t need to say a word, just show them your photos, and they will happily let you take their photos. πŸ˜‰

  7. Maybe it’s just me, but I would strongly advise against approaching strangers with the line “Want to meet my little friend?”
    Catch the guy with the mustache again and you’ll have a “Hello, Dali” post. πŸ™‚

    • Wise counsel. Yes, I don’t want to end up in the big house with a little friend. πŸ™‚

      Do you really think I have just ONE photo of the Dali look-alike? πŸ™‚

  8. haha,very funny, woody dragon.
    i would say stay with your current recipe, the rewards are absolutely engaging πŸ˜‰ .
    the first guy could easily pass off as jack nicholson at a glance, the second, salvador dali! πŸ˜‰

  9. You are a one man show with such a fabulous cast of characters. Keep up the good stealth and love the quiet commentary of inner thought. By the way, is that the summer version of Biggus in the first shot? As for the Dali, well, he’s just asking it!

    • Thank you kindly, Patti.
      I didn’t mention it in the post at the time but the photo of Biggus I posted earlier this week was taken in December, so that’s a no in answer to your question. And yes, Dali was asking for it. We all have our eccentrics.

  10. Love the pictures. The last one – I realise he is reading, but when I first saw it I thought he was shielding his face from you and I thought, oh that’s almost apt !

  11. I’d definitely respond to “Hey redhead, I’m here to take your picture” introductory line πŸ˜€
    gosh, the man in the first picture really looks like Jack Nicholson… and that Salvador Dali twin is just as amazing resemblance…

    wonderful shots and such an amusing post, Lignum… πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, “Red”. I’ll remember that first line should I need to use it. πŸ™‚

      I was caught off guard with the resemblance of that first guy to Jack Nicholson. I had to look at it closer, as a result. πŸ™‚

  12. Obviously what you’re doing is working so I always say, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!” Gosh, your mustache guy is a find! πŸ™‚ I usually react to a camera like the guy in the last picture. You might end up with more of that if you give fair warning! πŸ˜†

  13. Nope, none of these lines would do it for me πŸ˜€ Yep, “Go away” would sum it up πŸ˜€ A very interesting series of characters. Do you have something that could work for “tribe”?

    • Inspector Clouseau? I’m not sure anyone wants to be like him, even though he does seem to always get his man, in the end. πŸ™‚
      Peter Sellers was a genius. I particularly like shim in “The Party”. πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Things that make you go hmmm | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

