2014-11-23_0931

the facial rejuvenation clinic

“I want my money back”

Sydney June 2013 – November 2014 (2 photos)

One of the most important factors in candid street photography is to always be ready for that once in a moment shot. If you’re not ready, you miss the moment forever. To this end, I have a very simple procedure:

One camera, one lens, no bag.

Preset the manual focus.

Preset the aperture and ISO for the ambient light. I use the aperture priority setting.

Keep the camera always on and in-hand.

In effect, I am ready for the photo well before the opportunity even presents itself. All I have to do when something happens in front of me is press the shutter. Nothing else to think about.

So, I was walking along this street when this woman stepped out in front of me. On instinct, I took her photo. Ok, the focus isn’t spot-on but I’m happy with this shot I took whilst walking. In fact, the most difficult part of taking this shot, was thinking up an appropriate tagline out of the several that came to mind.

What would your tagline for this photo have been?

Feel free to take some thinking time.

I'll think about it

“The thinker 2013”

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The facial rejuvenation clinic

Image

72 thoughts on “The facial rejuvenation clinic

  1. So nice to read your philosophy on street photography πŸ™‚

    Now a days, I really enjoy taking photos of people and almost following the steps you have mentioned here precisely.

    This image,and tag line fits perfectly and enjoyed the sense of humor here πŸ™‚

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  2. Money back… Really? The street photography is pretty serious stuff! It makes bird shots so easy. πŸ™‚ These are two great captures, Dragon. Great weekend!

  3. You are so good at candid photography Draco, love these photos, especially the first one that made me smile. πŸ™‚ “Never again” came to my mind.

  4. Love your photos, as always. The first photo reminds me of a V8 commercial. “I should’ve had a V8!” πŸ˜‰
    Why manual focus? Because it’s faster? Also, what do you set for ISO? Thanks.

    • V8 – vegetable juice before it became trendy. πŸ˜‰

      Why manual focus?
      1. I find automatic focus unreliable as my subject and i are both walking, so even with a small tie lag, the focal point will be wrong at shutter release. With manual focus, I know 3 metres will be in focus if I’ve judged it correctly and the shutter speed is above 1/200th sec.
      2. Automatic focus is not available on the Leica.

      ISO is manually set from 160 to 800, depending on the ambient light.

  5. The old lady looks as if she had stepped from the dentist’s not plastic doctor, but my eye is really drawn to those out of focus buttocks πŸ˜€

  6. I saw the elements in your photo in this order:
    1. Lady’s backside
    2. Old woman’s “oy vey” face
    3. Facial rejuv sign
    That’s how my eyeballs travelled.

    I have said this many times: I do not do not do not understand how you can do what you do, but you’re certainly good at it.

  7. ItΒ΄s Friday afternoon here….And sunny…But they say is going to rain… 😦 😦
    I would say the old lady has just spotted something “terrible” …Too many crazy young people around…
    “Oh my eyes, my eyes!!!”
    Have a great weekend!!! I understand now how you use your camera settings…

  8. “Oh no, this damn sun will get me all wrinkly”…ahahaha! πŸ˜€ Love all your photos, as you already know! You might “stalk” people with your camera, i “stalk” you through your posts! Ha!!! πŸ˜›

  9. Thanks for the advice, I hadn’t thought of presetting the focus. I’m guessing that means you have to roughly judge how far you would prefer to be standing from your subject? And bags – great to have all your extra lenses and so on, but ugh, I used to hate my camera bag back in the 80’s, and it wasn’t even that big either. As it was a new camera at the time I was always worried I’d turn my back on it taking a picture and it would be gone. Probably an over-worry, but it was definitely a distraction! πŸ™‚

  10. I used to follow my mother around Mexicali, Mexico, as a child, as my mother took “hip shots.” Now I can understand and appreciate how difficult this style of photography is. Your work reminds me of hers. I really enjoy it. An eye of intuition, caring, and humor. πŸ™‚

      • Yes! And she actually did it without ever looking through the viewfinder. She gave up photography 15 years later because she didn’t like how beholden professional photographers have to be to others critiques. Now she gardens instead. I’m always trying to convince her to to do another show, with little success. I sent her your blog.

        • I’ve particularly noted that on professional forums, that people are so eager to criticise and point out the slightest fault with a photo or technique, or even suggest that their work is so much better. It’s why I don’t contribute to other photography discussion forums – you try not to take it the wrong way, but it’s not always possible and I guess that’s why they do it. In the end, it’s not worth the hassle.

          I hope she takes to photography again, even if it is simply for her own pleasure. Maybe you could make a photo book out of some of her photos, to show here how good she is.

          Thank you very much.

        • Yes, you’re challenges sound similar to my mom’s even though blogging didn’t exist then. I’m glad you’ve found a compromise for yourself. I hope something will eventually inspire her to get back into it, as you mentioned. My photog aunt often encourages her to do a show or something. I would do it myself, as you suggested, but her body of work is huge and is all on negatives, some large format. I don’t have to education to help me even know where to begin! :-O

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

