letting the days go by 1

Sydney March – October 2014 (4 photos)

Letting the days go by
Let the water hold me down
Letting the days go by
Water flowing underground
Into the blue again
After the money’s gone
Once in a lifetime
Water flowing underground

letting thedays go by 2

Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was…

the rocks 1

Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was…

letting the days go by 3

Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was…

“Once in a Lifetime” is a song by the band, Talking Heads. The song was written by David Byrne, Brian Eno, Chris Frantz, Jerry Harrison, and Tina Weymouth, and produced by Eno. It received critical acclaim, and was named one of the 100 most important American musical works of the 20th century by National Public Radio. The song is included in The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll. The music video is exhibited in the New York Museum of Modern Art.

I don’t often photograph with a project in mind but whenever I pass this wall mural, I will stop and take a photo if I see an interesting scene. The mural is like a talking head, but what it has to say, only the viewer knows. Generally I prefer to capture someone sitting on one of the benches, rather than walking “through” his head. People sitting here often look like they’re just “letting the day go by”, chatting with a talking head. From here it’s only a short walk to the patisserie where I enjoy an almond croissant with my coffee – it gives me that “letting the day go by” feeling. It’s a reassuring routine.

Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was… Same as it ever was…

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Letting the days go by

Image

73 thoughts on “Letting the days go by

  1. I thought the first shot was (is) excellent and then the flow began from one shot into the other. Might Jack indeed be asking himself how did he get here? Fabulous post Lignum!

    • You didn’t notice the benches? That says a lot about the power of the mural.
      You were soooo close. Maybe you went there and got so awestruck by their other pastries, that you forgot about the almond croissants?

  2. I have lived in Sydney for 40 years, and yet I have never seen that wonderful Mundey mural ! Where is it, LD ? And will you ever speak to me again after such an appalling confession …?

  3. I like how you’ve got the people in the shot. And how it changes the feeling of the image with them doing various things. Without them, it would be a very ordinary picture of a wall … even though it is an interesting wall.

  4. Pingback: Bookmarked! | Chasing the Stars

    • We all associate certain songs with certain events. It’s part of our psyche.

      Rummaging through the iTunes store is sadly nothing like flicking through the record covers at a record store, then watching the guy bring out the record, and check it for scratches, before selling it to you. Sigh.

  5. Was this your entry for “wall” challenge? I think I saw the mural before. A fascinating work and your pairing with the song – excellent. I like all of the scenes. It is fun to see how oblivious passers by are to this fascinating piece of art. They all act as if they really belong there.

  6. I like very much the first shot. I have a strange feeling about that wall mural. “Same as it ever was” – creates a little bit smothery atmosphere. Probably nobody notices this man, but your pictures made us look and think. πŸ™‚

  7. Almost forgot what I came here to say after stopping off to sing (Please excuse me πŸ™‚ ) I love the song by Talking Heads but I’m easily distracted. However, it is a superb piece of wall art and I’ve never seen it before, so thank you. I love the head, bobbing up the stairs, but they’re all super shots. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. It’s a tribute to a man who championed the preservation of this previously sordid area of Sydney. I like how people can look like they’re talking to him, or walking inside his head.

  8. What an interesting mural, it works so well as a background in these photos. The feeling of “letting the day go by” is really great!

  9. it’s a great idea to put these together, Lignum… same background but different people… so it’s never same as it ever was… though we humans love routines and the sense of comfort they bring (while also tasting good, if the routines involve almond croissants :D), we still always look forward to changes… πŸ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

